Car Stereo Static..Mystery - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-28-2012, 07:25 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Car Stereo Static..Mystery

A problem popped up with my Jeep aftermarket Kenwood stereo making a lot of static noise. I have gone through a lot to trouble shoot this, so listen up. No static at low volume, only when volume increases the static get progressively worse. Not speakers, have tested each one, and wire radio to random extra speaker I had, same static noise. Not receiver, purchased new receiver and same issue. Not the ground, grounded to different ground and same issue. Tried everything I could and have come down to it has to be either the ignition or the battery line (red and yellow) feeding in some dirty signal? Anyone have any ideas? Im tired of having static sounding stereo, and tired of tearing the dash apart to fix.

__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 07:34 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassett99TJ View Post
A problem popped up with my Jeep aftermarket Kenwood stereo making a lot of static noise. I have gone through a lot to trouble shoot this, so listen up. No static at low volume, only when volume increases the static get progressively worse. Not speakers, have tested each one, and wire radio to random extra speaker I had, same static noise. Not receiver, purchased new receiver and same issue. Not the ground, grounded to different ground and same issue. Tried everything I could and have come down to it has to be either the ignition or the battery line (red and yellow) feeding in some dirty signal? Anyone have any ideas? Im tired of having static sounding stereo, and tired of tearing the dash apart to fix.
They make filters / chokes to take out noise coming into radio systems from the 12 volt supply. Before you invest in one (they can get pricey, you get what you pay for) run a new 12 volt + & - directly from the battery to the radio and see if the issue disappears. I'm thinking you have a lose connection that is effecting your radio, like maybe a plug going through the firewall, etc., more often these lose connections effect the ground, not the +. Pull all your connections apart, clean well with a good quality electronic spray cleaner, once clean apply / use dielectric grease on the terminals and plug the connections back together. That should solve your issue. Good Luck

kwn306 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 07:55 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
The Korean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwn306 View Post
I'm thinking you have a lose connection that is effecting your radio
This...

I have the same issue more or less, but it only happens when my Pandora app is playing music (wired to my phone... not bluetooth enabled). However, the single din dash unit recently just started turning completely off (as in losing power) and restarting. I'm going to pull it Friday and make sure all the connections are snug and in there proper place.
__________________
Jonny Walker
The Korean is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Tiaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sioux Center,IA
Posts: 60
Images: 5
do you have your headunit hooked up to an amp?
Tiaan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 08:35 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
jefferyfghezzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SANDUSKY OHIO
Posts: 554
Is it only on radio(AM FM)? Is the CD OK? You may have a bad antenna or antenna connection.
jefferyfghezzi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:17 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
DevilDogDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Yucca Valley CA 20 miles from JV
Posts: 2,362
Ground strap from the rear of the hood connected where it's supposed to be?
__________________
Violence may not be the answer but it sure cuts down on the stupid questions
DevilDogDoc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:24 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:24 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiaan View Post
do you have your headunit hooked up to an amp?
Yes, but I had all amp, sub, etc. disconnected while testing, so that is out of the equation.
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:27 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefferyfghezzi View Post
Is it only on radio(AM FM)? Is the CD OK? You may have a bad antenna or antenna connection.
It does the static on everything, FM, AM, CD, MP3, etc.
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:27 AM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,210
Images: 2
Is there static only when the engine is running?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:29 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwn306 View Post
They make filters / chokes to take out noise coming into radio systems from the 12 volt supply. Before you invest in one (they can get pricey, you get what you pay for) run a new 12 volt + & - directly from the battery to the radio and see if the issue disappears. I'm thinking you have a lose connection that is effecting your radio, like maybe a plug going through the firewall, etc., more often these lose connections effect the ground, not the +. Pull all your connections apart, clean well with a good quality electronic spray cleaner, once clean apply / use dielectric grease on the terminals and plug the connections back together. That should solve your issue. Good Luck
I had thought about running fresh lines as you suggest, but I am not how that will work. It is currently set up with red/yellow/black wires. If i run fresh lines + and- from the battery I would just have red/black. Wouldnt the unit be powered all the time by this?
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:30 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Is there static only when the engine is running?
Static at all times, engine on or off.
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:34 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassett99TJ View Post
I had thought about running fresh lines as you suggest, but I am not how that will work. It is currently set up with red/yellow/black wires. If i run fresh lines + and- from the battery I would just have red/black. Wouldnt the unit be powered all the time by this?
This is for testing purposes only, not the fix, it would prove or dis-prove my theory.

There was another good suggestion about if the radio makes noise with the engine off, if it doesn't then run a ground strap from the engine to the frame to the battery to isolate the ignition noise.

Also make sure the antenna is grounded as well.
kwn306 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:37 AM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,210
Images: 2
Does the static occur only when the igntion switch is in the On position or does it also happen in the Acc (accessory) position?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:44 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
ajorosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N.J.
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassett99TJ
A problem popped up with my Jeep aftermarket Kenwood stereo making a lot of static noise. I have gone through a lot to trouble shoot this, so listen up. No static at low volume, only when volume increases the static get progressively worse. Not speakers, have tested each one, and wire radio to random extra speaker I had, same static noise. Not receiver, purchased new receiver and same issue. Not the ground, grounded to different ground and same issue. Tried everything I could and have come down to it has to be either the ignition or the battery line (red and yellow) feeding in some dirty signal? Anyone have any ideas? Im tired of having static sounding stereo, and tired of tearing the dash apart to fix.
Are you using a power amp? Did you ground the case of the head unit with the flat ground strap from the factory head unit?
__________________
"You got to cry without weeping
Talk without speaking
Scream without raising your voice"

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, a lone amateur built the Ark. A team of engineers built Titanic.
ajorosa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:48 AM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,210
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajorosa View Post
Are you using a power amp?
He already said above that for testing purposes he had disconnected his aux power amp... no change.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 11:00 AM   #17
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassett99TJ View Post
I had thought about running fresh lines as you suggest, but I am not how that will work. It is currently set up with red/yellow/black wires. If i run fresh lines + and- from the battery I would just have red/black. Wouldnt the unit be powered all the time by this?
The way it should be, is the red theoretically provideds the actuall power to the radio, there should be another wire that basically acts as a trip for a relay that turns the power to the radio on and off. The yellow wire should always be hot as that provides the power to keep the memory settings of the radio. Thats why your stations save when you turn the car off and reset when you disconnect the battery. The black should the the ground.

By directly connecting the red (+) and the black (ground/-) you would be eliminating any interference that might be coming from other accessories. also, don't forget to put a fuse in your direct wire to the battery terminal.

If you still have static after that I would start looking into replacing the wires to the speakers and possibly considering new speakers.
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 11:08 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Broadripple, Indianapolis
Posts: 41
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Does the static occur only when the igntion switch is in the On position or does it also happen in the Acc (accessory) position?
Same static noise in both position im 99% sure. I will verify.
__________________
Jeep it Up..

BASSETT
Bassett99TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 11:16 AM   #19
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,210
Images: 2
To eliminate a power issue which I am suspecting, connect the radio directly to the battery as a test via some fairly heavy zip-cord (like an old extension cord). See what happens. It really sounds like it is connected to a bad source of power incapable of providing sufficient current as the volume is turned up louder.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
electrical issue , jeep 1999 , speakers , stereo , wrangler tj

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muscle Car Pics! 1997jeeptj Pictures Forum 290 06-12-2013 10:45 PM
Car wash jazzy jeff General Jeep Discussion 7 03-27-2012 10:50 PM
Car stereo for my jeep flymaule TJ General Discussion Forum 1 03-25-2012 08:37 PM
2 car seats in TJ ? Beaker541 TJ General Discussion Forum 12 03-25-2012 07:23 PM
Questions: After-Market Car Alarm with Doors Off bradleyb JK General Discussion Forum 3 03-25-2012 07:26 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC