CB install done! - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-31-2012, 04:34 PM   #1
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
lilbluebuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Amarillo
Posts: 205
CB install done!

Just finished up my cb install. I wired it to the battery, with a toggle switch to turn it on and off. When I did my SWR check it pegged my meter. I checked my connections and the PO had wired the antenna mount backwards, swapped it around and all is good.

Attachment 109787



Attachment 109786



Attachment 109788



Attachment 109789



Attachment 109790



Attachment 109791

__________________
Jeeps don't get stuck, they just take breaks every once in a while... in deep holes.
lilbluebuggy is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Sasquatch 4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 380
looks good. did you buy it pretuned? also what do you mean they wired the antenna mount backwards?

__________________
Check out my build thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/95-y...ld-148979.html

"if you buy something that says it's gonna bolt right on.. LOL yeah right."
Sasquatch 4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:52 PM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
lilbluebuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Amarillo
Posts: 205
Shield to the antenna, center to ground is how they had it.

Attachment 109793

The pic is the way I've got it now.
__________________
Jeeps don't get stuck, they just take breaks every once in a while... in deep holes.
lilbluebuggy is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
lilbluebuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Amarillo
Posts: 205
Not sure what you mean by tuned, but it's a stock Cobra 29 LX.
__________________
Jeeps don't get stuck, they just take breaks every once in a while... in deep holes.
lilbluebuggy is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:59 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Sasquatch 4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 380
ok thanks, having trouble with mine, mostly cause its an old one with an old antenna i think but i'm not sure how i'm supposed to ground my antenna, or at least i think i'm supposed to, my dads antenna came with a build in ground wire and mine did not.
__________________
Check out my build thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/95-y...ld-148979.html

"if you buy something that says it's gonna bolt right on.. LOL yeah right."
Sasquatch 4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:04 PM   #6
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
lilbluebuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Amarillo
Posts: 205
Yup. Also I'm running a 102" whip from Radio Shack with a 6" spring. Gotta love that 1/4 wave.
__________________
Jeeps don't get stuck, they just take breaks every once in a while... in deep holes.
lilbluebuggy is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 06:57 PM   #7
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,253
The antenna itself is not grounded, only its mount is grounded.

Pre-tuned antennas are a joke to anyone that knows anything about antennas, there is no such thing as a truly pre-tuned antenna. An antenna can come from the factory set to the right length for the CB band but how and where it is installed on the Jeep affects its electrical length. To get the most out of an antenna, it must be tuned which means its length must be adjusted to achieve the least amount of SWR (which is reflected power) possible.

One thing to know too about CBs... you don't need to worry about leaving them on and draining the battery. They draw so little power that you could accidentally leave the CB on for months and not drain the battery in the Jeep.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:51 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Pontiackid87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: downingtown pa
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquatch 4x4 View Post
ok thanks, having trouble with mine, mostly cause its an old one with an old antenna i think but i'm not sure how i'm supposed to ground my antenna, or at least i think i'm supposed to, my dads antenna came with a build in ground wire and mine did not.
Go with a firestick... used them on my old rig and use one on my jeep.. they get out really nice with stock radios..
__________________
2000 wrangler
06 Pontiac solstice
84 IMSA fiero
2002 300M special
Pontiackid87 is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:54 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Patrick H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern NM
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
there is no such thing as a truly pre-tuned antenna.
This is true, although I did put a "pre-tuned" Francis Hot Rod on my ZR2 Blazer and it came in @ 1.5 on ch.19. Luck, I reckon.
Patrick H is offline   Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 09:06 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 548
I can't tell from your photo but I hope you put a Fuse in the Battery + lead right at the battery.
gmiller0737 is offline   Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 01:08 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Sasquatch 4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 380
I have an old general electric that i got from my Grandpa for free, the antenna isnt broken but its a fiberglass one we found on the road, i have everything hooked up and it works, ch40 shows 2 on the SWR and ch1 i was able to get to lik 3.5 ish but closer to 4. not really sure what to do in this case, i'm not too fond of buying new stuff. Any ideas?
__________________
Check out my build thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/95-y...ld-148979.html

"if you buy something that says it's gonna bolt right on.. LOL yeah right."
Sasquatch 4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:37 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Kevbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquatch 4x4 View Post
I have an old general electric that i got from my Grandpa for free, the antenna isnt broken but its a fiberglass one we found on the road, i have everything hooked up and it works, ch40 shows 2 on the SWR and ch1 i was able to get to lik 3.5 ish but closer to 4. not really sure what to do in this case, i'm not too fond of buying new stuff. Any ideas?
that swr reading indicates a short antenna. you can add a quick disconnect, or a spring to help tune it closer. or try a new firestik or wilson 3 or 4' tunable antenna. at about 17 dollars for a new antenna that you can tune would save you time and money vs. lengthing your roadside find.

If your hell bent on not spending money then move the mount up, add a stud or disconnect, or a spring to it and then tune again
__________________
Semper Fidelis

Molon Labe

And all those other Latin and Greek phrases that mean don't mess with me, I am a bad ass that knows Latin and greek phrases!
Kevbz is offline   Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:41 AM   #13
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,253
From those SWR numbers, your antenna is just a little too short. If it is adjustable, lengthen it a tiny amount at a time it until the SWR numbers come down to where they are acceptable. If its length is not adjustable, new antennas that are adjustable like Firestick's FS series are <$20.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Controlled(RF) Jeep Accessory Install cmgrant JK General Discussion Forum 13 01-05-2013 12:43 AM
TnDz TJ's build of my 2004 X---'NOT DONE' TnDz TJ TJ Build Forum 73 08-07-2012 06:11 AM
Help me install my extra 4x6's? brainfreeze Communications and Electronics 4 03-31-2012 06:25 PM
OME install time??? LFD firemedic TJ General Discussion Forum 6 03-31-2012 04:49 PM
sway bar bushing install Zjones1994 TJ General Discussion Forum 0 03-30-2012 08:21 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC