Cheapo Off-Road lights from Northern Tool - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-28-2010, 12:53 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Hendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fort Eustis, Virginia
Posts: 372
Cheapo Off-Road lights from Northern Tool

So I picked up a pair to mount to my windshield hinge brackets a few weeks ago. I put them on today and ran the wiring under the cowl and in through the drivers side firewall. I have a switch to mount on the dash and the instructions say to take the blue power wire with an inline 10amp fuse either directly to the battery or to a 12V source in the fuse box.

Questions:

1. Should I run a relay from the battery and connect to that?

2. How would I wire up a relay and switch in "lay mans" terms please. I did look at the write-up on Stu Olsons site but I must not be smart enough to figure out the diagram he provided...

3. If I can just run the blue wire off the switch to a 12V power source in the fuse box then any recommendations as to where to connect it? The instructions don't mention using a relay at all...

__________________
Chris

2002 TJ, 3" RCD coil springs, 1" body lift, 32" BFG AT KO's, 15X10 Cragar Soft 8's, Rocky Mount Discos, Skyjacker Nitro 8000's, new Rugged Ridge soft top (VERY LOUD!!!!). PowerAid throttle body spacer, AIRAID CAI, DYNOMAX Super Turbo CATBACK.

Rocking the country music through a Sony Xplod head unit (iPod/iPhone compatible) 300W Dual amp, 10" Pioneer sub in the back.


http://img1.jurko.net/10183.gif
Hendy is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 01:19 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,287
Driving lights need a relay for two reasons... 1) To prevent the full amperage a driving light requires from needing to pass into the passenger compartment and through the on-off switch. Typical automotive size on-off switches can't handle that much current without eventually burning the switch contacts up. 2) So the driving light will be as bright as it is designed to be. The length of wire needed to connect everything up would have to be extremely heavy gauge for there to be no voltage loss that would dim it.

Here's a good wiring diagram to use which uses the required relay. You can use lighter gauge wiring between the switch and relay like 16 gauge, use heavier gauge like 12 gauge between the relay, battery, and lights.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Driving lights.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	23890  

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 01:48 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Hendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fort Eustis, Virginia
Posts: 372
Thanks Jerry, I am heading off to Autozone for a relay right now
__________________
Chris

2002 TJ, 3" RCD coil springs, 1" body lift, 32" BFG AT KO's, 15X10 Cragar Soft 8's, Rocky Mount Discos, Skyjacker Nitro 8000's, new Rugged Ridge soft top (VERY LOUD!!!!). PowerAid throttle body spacer, AIRAID CAI, DYNOMAX Super Turbo CATBACK.

Rocking the country music through a Sony Xplod head unit (iPod/iPhone compatible) 300W Dual amp, 10" Pioneer sub in the back.


http://img1.jurko.net/10183.gif
Hendy is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 08:53 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Driving lights need a relay for two reasons... 1) To prevent the full amperage a driving light requires from needing to pass into the passenger compartment and through the on-off switch. Typical automotive size on-off switches can't handle that much current without eventually burning the switch contacts up. 2) So the driving light will be as bright as it is designed to be. The length of wire needed to connect everything up would have to be extremely heavy gauge for there to be no voltage loss that would dim it.

Here's a good wiring diagram to use which uses the required relay. You can use lighter gauge wiring between the switch and relay like 16 gauge, use heavier gauge like 12 gauge between the relay, battery, and lights.
Jerry,

I like the diagram. You beat me to it. Lol
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is online now   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:21 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
rbloodhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crowville Louisiana
Posts: 451
That is a simple diagram. Easiest one that i have seen in a while.

I learned the hard way about running a relay. I almost burnt down a truck.
__________________
Robert
05 TJ unlimited, Slightly Modified
http://s183.photobucket.com/home/aaoffroad/index
rbloodhound is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:32 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,033
I learned about relays in wiring 20 years ago while I was learning about bus wiring
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is online now   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:38 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
jryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower Michigan
Posts: 87
post a pick when you're finished...
jryan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:13 AM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbloodhound View Post
That is a simple diagram. Easiest one that i have seen in a while.
Yeah that's a good drawing that I can't take credit for. Whoever drew it did a good job on it, anyone can understand it.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:20 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Hendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fort Eustis, Virginia
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Yeah that's a good drawing that I can't take credit for. Whoever drew it did a good job on it, anyone can understand it.
I am proof of that

Thanks again Jerry.

__________________
Chris

2002 TJ, 3" RCD coil springs, 1" body lift, 32" BFG AT KO's, 15X10 Cragar Soft 8's, Rocky Mount Discos, Skyjacker Nitro 8000's, new Rugged Ridge soft top (VERY LOUD!!!!). PowerAid throttle body spacer, AIRAID CAI, DYNOMAX Super Turbo CATBACK.

Rocking the country music through a Sony Xplod head unit (iPod/iPhone compatible) 300W Dual amp, 10" Pioneer sub in the back.


http://img1.jurko.net/10183.gif
Hendy is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Off road lights on the road. amerijeep Off-Topic 6 10-18-2010 08:29 PM
oh where oh where did my brake lights go? 97REDTJ YJ Tech Forum 5 05-29-2010 07:37 PM
if you have 4 Hella 500 lights. 2 are the driving lights and 2 are the fogs lights wh jjock TJ General Discussion Forum 2 12-05-2006 09:15 PM
Off Road Lights iamagolfspaz TJ General Discussion Forum 4 11-21-2006 10:48 AM
lights, lights, dang it.... tiny terror TJ General Discussion Forum 6 11-07-2006 08:38 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC