Connecting CB radio to battery - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-07-2011, 11:03 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,189
Connecting CB radio to battery

Currently in the process of wiring up my CB radio. I'd like to connect it directly to the battery to avoid noise issues, my problem is what connector to use to terminate onto the battery? My battery only has 2 posts which are taken up from the main cables. How do you guys do this? I was thinking of eye connectors but couldn't find any big enough. Can anyone recommend a good junction or fuse box?

__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 11:15 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Vroooom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sin-Tex
Posts: 1,673
Radio Shack:
Wheatsone Bridge will filter electical bussing sound.
Tell 'em what you got...they'll tell you what you need. Should be under $10.
If you wire into an accessory circuit you wont have to worry about accidentally letting your CB drain your battery.

__________________
Threads wander aimlessly....always refer back to post #1
2012 Black Unlimited Sahara (mine)
2011 Black Corvette 3LT (wife's)
2005 Black Suzuki C50T (ours)
"Hope" is NOT a strategy
Vroooom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 11:20 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Ageless Stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26,792
There shold be two extra wires in the loom behind your glovebox. One is key switch controlled and one is hot all the time. (Mine were labeled.)I used the latter to wire my CB so I can have it on when the key is off.
Ageless Stranger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 03:07 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Rubicon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Well your battery cables have bolts that help to close the clamps on the battery, you use eye connectors on the bolts not over the batter terminals. Just take the nut off the bolt or back the bolt out, put the eye connector over the bolt and tighten it back up on the battery.
Rubicon2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 03:21 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
wasurfer86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubicon2 View Post
Well your battery cables have bolts that help to close the clamps on the battery, you use eye connectors on the bolts not over the batter terminals. Just take the nut off the bolt or back the bolt out, put the eye connector over the bolt and tighten it back up on the battery.
previous owner did that on mine and ended up ruining the eyes. just pick up two extra nuts to put on after the eye.
__________________
I bet pulp fiction wasn't the first time Bruce Willis had a ball gag in his mouth.
wasurfer86 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 05:04 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,189
I did some searching and have seen lugs that connect to the battery and have poles for accessories, although expensive. I may go this way because I need to mount my winch this or next week also
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 06:13 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Rubicon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine
I did some searching and have seen lugs that connect to the battery and have poles for accessories, although expensive. I may go this way because I need to mount my winch this or next week also
Yeah I have been looking at those as well but I figure that for the price they want me to pay I can make my own for cheaper.
__________________
DO OR DO NOT... THERE IS NO TRY.
Rubicon2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 06:47 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
WVRUBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 170
If you pop the top on your fuse box (under the hood) you will find that the hot wire from the battery jumps straight to a post in the box with a much small stud you can connect to. This will not create any noise issues.
__________________
"that sure is a nasty habit you got there"
WVRUBI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 08:59 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
tjike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine View Post
Currently in the process of wiring up my CB radio. I'd like to connect it directly to the battery to avoid noise issues, my problem is what connector to use to terminate onto the battery? My battery only has 2 posts which are taken up from the main cables. How do you guys do this? I was thinking of eye connectors but couldn't find any big enough. Can anyone recommend a good junction or fuse box?
I am currently doing the same thing but i am using this link for the set up i will let you know how it works in a couple of days when i finish. CB Wiring Basics
tjike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 10:24 PM   #10
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVRUBI View Post
If you pop the top on your fuse box (under the hood) you will find that the hot wire from the battery jumps straight to a post in the box with a much small stud you can connect to. This will not create any noise issues.
This right here is how I wire my smaller accessories up^^^
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2011, 10:31 PM   #11
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,767
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVRUBI View Post
If you pop the top on your fuse box (under the hood) you will find that the hot wire from the battery jumps straight to a post in the box with a much small stud you can connect to. This will not create any noise issues.
That's a very good place to get power from, that particular box is actually called the Power Distribution Center (PDC). It sits right in front of the battery and that stud is on the battery side of the box. That stud is connected directly to the battery only a few inches away so it's a good source for clean noise-free battery power.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 09:33 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,876
I'll add another vote to using that stud in the fuse box.

Best practice is to place the inline fuse within inches of the conection. Definitely before passing through the firewall.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 09:48 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,189
Going to upgrade my lugs and cables to NAPA military spec. Found these part numbers online for pos and neg

728222

728223

Why does the fuse need to be so close to the battery? My Uniden came pre-inline fused about 3 inches from the radio. Realistically aren't we talking nano or microseconds of difference?

Also, does anyone have info on how to set up a relay so the radio can only be turned on when the key is on ac/on? Debating if I want to do this
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 09:54 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Kykid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 172
I'm wired directly to my in cab fusebox and don't have any noise issues, quiet as can be.
Kykid is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 09:55 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
hambubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to hambubba
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine View Post
Why does the fuse need to be so close to the battery? My Uniden came pre-inline fused about 3 inches from the radio. Realistically aren't we talking nano or microseconds of difference?
Where do you want the fire to start? Inside the firewall or inside the Jeep? If, in case the wires get shorted, there is NO protection past the fuse. I don't know why the factory harnesses mount their fuses by the radio other than protection of the radio ONLY. They aren't concerned about wiring safety in the cars, apparently.
hambubba is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 10:27 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by hambubba

Where do you want the fire to start? Inside the firewall or inside the Jeep? If, in case the wires get shorted, there is NO protection past the fuse. I don't know why the factory harnesses mount their fuses by the radio other than protection of the radio ONLY. They aren't concerned about wiring safety in the cars, apparently.
Ooooh very good point! No harm in double fusing if I add an inline by the battery also?
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 12:53 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Rubicon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikalCarbine View Post
Ooooh very good point! No harm in double fusing if I add an inline by the battery also?
That's what I did. I added another inline fuse right next to my battery connection.
Rubicon2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 04:00 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
MikalCarbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 1,189
I picked up some supplies today. My plan is to cut up the existing CB wire right where the Uniden-supplied inline fuse is. Here I will be adding a quick disconnect if I ever need to yank the CB. On the battery side I'll be adding an inline 2A fuse as close as I can. Now I just need to find some information on how to make new battery cables..
__________________
2002 TJ Sport 4.0
33x12.5r15 MTZ
3" AEV/OME lifted

Usually posting on my Samsung Captivate Android
MikalCarbine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2011, 04:20 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,876
Double fusing is fine.

Not all vehicles are like Wranglers with a large rubber covered hole through the firewall, where you can raoute wires neatly. If you put a wire through an unprotected drilled hole there is a chance of rubbing and insulation failure. With the fuse outside all you get is a popped fuse, with the fuse inside you get a burning wire.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 04:03 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Kykid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 172
Finally a picture of my setup and where my power runs to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-192234406.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	37938   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2762241651.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	81.2 KB
ID:	37939  


Kykid is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing aftermarket Radio in TJ write up TheTJRod Communications and Electronics 157 09-05-2014 10:27 PM
Mario's Double DIN radio install emev0l Communications and Electronics 60 01-31-2012 11:35 PM
I passed! amy Communications and Electronics 38 09-19-2011 02:04 PM
FAQ's-jeep wont start! speepdaedeesi TJ Tech Forum 20 05-29-2010 11:28 PM
battery problems wasurfer86 TJ Tech Forum 10 05-07-2010 01:15 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC