Dash illumination - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-03-2011, 10:16 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Dash illumination

Hi I'm new to the forum and it's a pleasure to be here. wonder why I haven't joined before now. I have 2 jeeps , a 1997 4 cyl wrangler that I've had since 2000, and a 2004 Rubicon. living in Az.
I have a small problem with the '97 dash illumiation. several monthes ago I had to remove the whole dash to access and replace te vent levers. since then the dash board does not illuminate when I put on the headlights. the dash indicators light up; seatbelt, brake, etc. checked fuses all ok. removed dash and checked bulbs, seemed to be ok. any ideas on what else I could check? thanks for any help

chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-03-2011, 10:35 PM   #2
Rock-Rubber

WF Supporting Member
 
GoldenSahara00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SCPA
Posts: 16,741
check the wires in at your wire harness behind stereo section. Thats where I messed mine up at haha. I dont know what wire though im sorry.

__________________
Ryan - A good eye, a light foot, and a smart rig.
Bolt-ons are boring
AMERICAN JEEPER
My Build - http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/pr...a00-74622.html
Rausch Creek Trip: 2014 Trip Coming Soon
GoldenSahara00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-04-2011, 12:04 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks I'll take a look. It's funny u mention that I did install a new stereo about 6 months ago.
chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-04-2011, 12:05 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,111
Images: 2
We can't overlook the obvious, is the dashlight dimmer control turned off?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2011, 02:10 AM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Yes I did check that, thanks.
chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-11-2011, 03:34 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Hey i have the same problem! I just installed my new headunit and my chassis ground came loose i haventgotten to my manual to check the fuse yet but my indicators turn on and the gauges just do not light up. I did the dimmer control check and that's not it. I assume its probably a fuse (well ill try not to assume cause that tends to be badsome times lol) after work i will check my fuse if its anything else ill keep you posted.
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 09:11 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Okay so im confused i replaced what i believed to be the blown fuse in spot 12 behind the glove box just put a new 5a fuse and it blew immediatley heard the pop when i went to turn my lights on. So i put a 7.5a in and it popped also. It started when i put my head unit in like i said the chassis grou d came loose. Do i try a 10a in their or am i just gonna blow that one too? I don't have the owners manual which makes it a pain andthe Shayne repair guide is no help with fuse location.
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 09:13 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Well just popped the 10a also is there another fuse user the hood that could be the culprit?
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 09:39 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Also found this guy hanging freely traced it back to the cigarette lighter any idea on where it goes and if this could be causing the issue. The cigarette lighter doesn't work ( lol cause the fuse isn't connected)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110413_093817.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	45209  
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 09:49 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Also im sorry for hijacking your thread its just been driving me crazy!!!
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 10:04 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
fire239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MEMPHIS, TN
Posts: 340
Somebody jumped something from the cig lighter hot wire....where does the other wire go?
fire239 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 11:09 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
It goes right into the factory wiring nothing spliced anywhere that red wire just put on andit leads to the previous pic i posted of the lone wire in my glove box with the fuse on the end
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110413_110812.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	45211  
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 11:30 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Its got me stumped. If that was never connected to anything i don't know how it ever worked? I stopped being able to use my car charger the same time my dash illumination went out. If that helps any? Maybe it got tugged out when i was pitting the head unit back in? I dont know lol
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 05:13 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
I've been tracing wires back for awhile now still got nothing everything seems to be in order exept that cigarette lighter ordeal I've got going on. Looks like when my dad comes down for my graduation in a few weeks ill be putting him to work unless anyone has any other ideas?
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 05:35 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
AJeepTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: jacksonville florida
Posts: 50
I would try eliminating anything that looks added on. Then putting a fuse in.
AJeepTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2011, 07:14 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJeepTJ
I would try eliminating anything that looks added on. Then putting a fuse in.
Well that's all that looks added on in there. The picture i took was the back of the cig lighter. Is that red wire added on or should that be there?
Im also thinking maybe its a weak ground still i just put the chassis ground for my new head unit onto a screw in the back of the head unit itself.
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2011, 01:08 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,332
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
As far as your dash, you may want to be sure you also verify the pin connectors are clean. These pins are the ones on the back of the cluster that go into the part on the dash itself. A bit of isopropyl alcohol and a q-tip will get those cleaned up. Also some dielectric grease to ensure a good connection would help.

Some have given the pins a slight twist so they make good contact.

The amps on that fuse for the cig lighter look too high. I'm wondering if there is a short in the wire and they tried to use a higher amp fuse to keep it working... I adapted my cig wires to power my GPS unit.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2011, 01:39 AM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Dash lts.

Paul, thanks for that info. I'll do it tomorrow. Don
chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2011, 10:53 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,332
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
How did it go?
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2011, 01:40 AM   #20
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
No luck. Cleaned them with alcohol and a swab. looked all over for a poor ground, loose wires, etc. I give up for now. all idiot lights work on the dash. Could it be the headlight switch box? it is a reostat(?) that controls the amount of illumination on the dash, by turning the headlight switch.
chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2011, 12:53 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,332
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
It is always possible the switch is bad, but I hadn't heard of THAT going bad. Shouldn't be too hard to find one at a salvage yard...
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2011, 02:00 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
TJChris27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 469
Same for me man still nothing. Im gonna have my dad take a look at it when he gets down here in a week.
TJChris27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2011, 01:18 AM   #23
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
dash

I'll keep u posted when I find used switch.

chuckinator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC & Heater Won't Blow Through Dash Vents BillD TJ Tech Forum 44 09-25-2013 01:47 PM
do I have to pull my dash? BigHazard TJ Tech Forum 3 10-27-2010 10:06 PM
YJ Dash Pad Removal lageorge YJ Tech Forum 18 10-05-2010 01:04 AM
Dash Removal for Painting Purposes? s3nt3nc3d TJ Tech Forum 10 08-30-2010 03:50 PM
dash help/ideas Jaydogg25 YJ Tech Forum 11 04-29-2010 07:40 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC