Dash mounted winch switch - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-22-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
that guy

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Was in the mountains, now in Texas
Posts: 3,696
Images: 4
Dash mounted winch switch

The search function is a bit lacking in this category. I want to wire my winch switch into a permanent location on the dash. What switch is best and where does everyone mount it?

__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2013, 11:29 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tabernacle, NJ
Posts: 1,714
I made my In Cab winch controls on a plate where the ashtray was.

I did a half ass write up on here if you look back through posts Ive started.

If you Google "In cab winch controls" you can get some good ideas. Ive seen some down in the center console. Some just to the right of the steering wheel (Id have liked there too but my CB mic is mounted there).

__________________
The Budget Brawler. AKA Berta
97 sport 4.0 5 spd
6" Long arm 35" MTRs
HP30-Eaton E locker D44-Detroit locker-4.88 Ten Factory Chromo shafts.
KC/Hella, Engo 12k, LED rock lights, "train" horns, Home made-Hand Throttle, OBA, Etc etc.
srad600 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2013, 11:49 PM   #3
that guy

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Was in the mountains, now in Texas
Posts: 3,696
Images: 4
Didn't even think of Stu. He has a nice write up on this. Thanks for the input.
__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 12:17 AM   #4
Motorized Toy Collector

WF Supporting Member
 
TJDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eastern WA State
Posts: 3,000
I put mine to the left of the steering wheel so I can reach it while standing outside the Jeep if needed.
A friend made mine. It is similar to some switches sold on the 12 volt guy site.Winch Control Panels

Mine
__________________
~PNW4WDA~
TJDave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 12:44 AM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 92 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 787
It is on the expensive side but check out The 12Volt Guy. At least it may give you some ideas on how you might want to do yours.
__________________
Scott
Sccafire is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 07:55 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tabernacle, NJ
Posts: 1,714
When I made mine I set out to do it for a fraction of the cost of his kits. I had intended on making them and selling them on here. I came in at around 16 bucks cost with most of that being the red "arming" switch since I didnt take time sourcing a cheap one. The problem is then I realized Im lazy. lol
__________________
The Budget Brawler. AKA Berta
97 sport 4.0 5 spd
6" Long arm 35" MTRs
HP30-Eaton E locker D44-Detroit locker-4.88 Ten Factory Chromo shafts.
KC/Hella, Engo 12k, LED rock lights, "train" horns, Home made-Hand Throttle, OBA, Etc etc.
srad600 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 10:30 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJDave View Post
I put mine to the left of the steering wheel so I can reach it while standing outside the Jeep if needed.
A friend made mine. It is similar to some switches sold on the 12 volt guy site.Winch Control Panels

Mine
While I like all my switches in the center, that location makes a lot of sense.

Looks good.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 10:47 AM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,144
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by doclouie View Post
The search function is a bit lacking in this category. I want to wire my winch switch into a permanent location on the dash. What switch is best and where does everyone mount it?
If you have a Warn winch, it uses a 5-wire remote winch control circuit which will require a little more wiring to make a remote switch work. Let me know...


This is where I had my www.RoadlessGear.com/jeep remote switch on my previous TJ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Shiftknob.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	609265  
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 02:49 PM   #9
that guy

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Was in the mountains, now in Texas
Posts: 3,696
Images: 4
I currently have a Mile Marker as it as given to me for free, but once this one dies I will go the Warn route.
__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 03:06 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Pat-54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Slidell, Louisiana
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJDave View Post
I put mine to the left of the steering wheel so I can reach it while standing outside the Jeep if needed. A friend made mine. It is similar to some switches sold on the 12 volt guy site.Winch Control Panels Mine
How did you do that with the metal plate behind the knee blocker? Did you have to cut some out?
Pat-54 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 06:43 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 3,044
I disassembled my Warn hand control(stock one that comes with winch).I then took the switch out of the rubber hand control housing,had to cut up the housing.I then wired it directly to the control box.I bought another hand control and I can plug that one in like normal if I want to use it outside the Jeep.Works sweet.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 06:59 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
blkrubi88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clayton NC
Posts: 24,319
Here's mine, toggle switch do turn the power on, two momentary switches, one for cable out and the other for cable in and a good friend to wire it all up. Mounted in the ash tray location.



__________________
I can only please one person a day and today is not your day and tomorrow is not looking good either!



CHRIS
blkrubi88 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 07:20 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
SpringRubiconTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 65
Here is mine "plan b" arms the winch, red and black momentary switches control direction of the winch.

SpringRubiconTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 07:29 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Apalovcak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringRubiconTJ View Post
Here is mine "plan b" arms the winch, red and black momentary switches control direction of the winch.
How hard was that cb to put in there
Apalovcak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 08:58 PM   #15
Motorized Toy Collector

WF Supporting Member
 
TJDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eastern WA State
Posts: 3,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat-54 View Post
How did you do that with the metal plate behind the knee blocker? Did you have to cut some out?
Yep. Switches are attached to the metal plate. Cut a hole just big enough for the switches to pass through.
__________________
~PNW4WDA~
TJDave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2013, 10:47 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Pat-54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Slidell, Louisiana
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJDave View Post
Yep. Switches are attached to the metal plate. Cut a hole just big enough for the switches to pass through.
I will definitely have to look into that. Got some other mods that require switches and such..thanks!!
Pat-54 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-24-2013, 12:36 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
SpringRubiconTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apalovcak View Post
How hard was that cb to put in there
Depends on what you consider hard.....lots of cutting, and trimming of the faceplate, a little fiberglass filler and new brackets. Done.

SpringRubiconTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC