Deciding on a locker from East Coast - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-01-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 2,944
Deciding on a locker from East Coast

Im looking at a 8.8 from East Coast & they list a full detroit locker as an option.Is that a automatic locker,similar to the Aussie I have in the front? Also is it as good as a E locker?

1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 07:21 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,281
Images: 2
The Detroit Locker is a SUPERB automatic locker, it is by far the smoothest operating automatic locker around. I put over 100K pleasurable miles on my Detroit Locker in my previous (stolen) TJ and I still miss it.

That said, you live in upper NY state and an automatic rear locker would be a bad choice for driving on ice or snow-covered roads and highways. If you have to drive on such roads during the winter, I'd go for a selectable non-automatic locker like the ARB Air Locker or E-Locker.

__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 07:42 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 2,944
Thanks for the input Jerry.My TJ will spend most of its time in my garage in the winter but might have to be driven in the snow when the wife takes my XJ.I think its going to be scary enough with the Aussie up front.
That being said I really had my heart set on a E locker but have heard that parts are hard or impossible to get & there cust service is lacking.Any thoughts on that?Also do you or others you know have any seat time with the E locker?Thanks again.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,281
Images: 2
The E-Locker is like any selectable locker... open on the street, locked only when you lock it when it turns into a spool. If you can't afford an ARB Air Locker, I'd still probably go for the E-Locker. For most wheelers it holds up fine.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 2,944
If I did get an ARB would I be able to use my current hard mount VLAIR or would I need to buy another compressor?
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 08:21 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,281
Images: 2
Yes you can use your existing compressor to power it, you only need to add a small air pressure regulator to slighly lower its air pressure down a tad to what the ARB requires. I believe ARB makes a wiring and solenoid air valve control kit that will make using a previously installed compressor easy to get working.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2012, 08:27 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 2,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Yes you can use your existing compressor to power it, you only need to add a small air pressure regulator to slighly lower its air pressure down a tad to what the ARB requires. I believe ARB makes a wiring and solenoid air valve control kit that will make using a previously installed compressor easy to get working.
Wow,thanks a lot Jerry.I am really going to consider an ARB now.I will pm Travis about getting that setup.Thanks again.Your the man!!

1jeeplvr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC