Dreaded A/C issues! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-01-2011, 03:19 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
Dreaded A/C issues!

Folks,
Long time jeeper but new to forums. I have an a/c issue that has me stumped and I am hoping for some advice as reading the forums has helped me solve a litany of other problems. Jeep is a 98 TJ with a 4.6 stroker that I am just wrapping up a frame off restoration. AC is new, system is charged to specs. Low pressure and high pressure switches are working as published. Now for the fun part. While troubleshooting the system I first attempted to jumper the wires that plug into the low pressure switch to determine if I had a bad switch. Jumping them did not work. Next I grabbed a test light, grounded it on the battery and stuck it in the wires to see if voltage existed in the wires. Suddenly the compressor sprung to life and the system worked great. So, when I inadvertently ground the wires that connect to the low pressure switch the system works. However when I disconnect the ground and plug the wires back onto the low pressure switch the system doesn’t work. I have ran continuity tests on all of the wires in the system and can’t find any breaks or shorts. Do I have a bad system ground? Any thoughts? I will leave my oil pan/ rear main fiasco for another thread! Your help is greatly appreciated!

Hendoii is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 04:07 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 339
I don't really understand what would cause it to do that either. Looking at the schematic, both of those switches are in series within the A/C switch sensing wire that goes into the PCM.... if that circuit is open from either switch, the compressor clutch should not engage. The signal wire running to the compressor clutch relay comes directly from the PCM. So basically, your PCM senses 2 things before it sends a signal to the clutch relay: the hvac switch is is turned to the proper setting on the dash, and that both A/C system switches are closed. Once it confirms that, it then sends the 12v signal to the clutch relay. There is no ground wire coming off of the compressor so maybe you have a bad compressor case ground? I'm not sure....

-Wes

KP Texan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:10 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
Wes,
First off, thanks for taking the time out of your day to lend some advice! Your disscussion made me question a couple of my previous conclusions. First, should I be able to register voltage on the wires that plug into the switches? I can't right now so I assumed that the switches just completed a ground when activated. Was my assumption wrong? Secondly how do the switches work. Right now the system is charged to specs and at the low pressure port with the compressor running I read about 47 psi. That said, when I test continuity on the switch itself I get continuity which led me to believe it is working. (I have also replaced it once just to make sure!) However when I test continuity on the high pressure switch I don't get continuity. I deduced that it was working as well and that if I reached my high pressure threshold that the switch would activate and I would be able to read continuity. Am I incorrect? Does the high pressure switch work in the opposite direction and should have continuity when the pressure is within correct specs? I'm going to go run a ground jumper to my compressor to check your other theory. Thanks again!
Hendoii is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 06:38 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 339
I think that it will help you immensely to look at the schematic in the manual. I can tell that you know what your doing so here is a link to some factory service manuals: http://www.lockitupoffroad.net/phpBB...php?f=2&t=4749

I use mine all of the time and it is an indispensable tool for working on my Jeep! If you have trouble downloading the manual let me know and I'll figure something out. Also, if you have more questions let me know; I'm an engineer so I enjoy working on problems like this!

-Wes
KP Texan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 07:25 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 466
Bad or NO ground
hookuspookus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 09:55 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
Guys, thanks for the inputs and the schematics. I grounded everything in sight with no luck. I already had a great chasis, firewall, and block ground with new battery cables as well but I ran a few extra jumpers just in-case I missed something. No love! I will pour over the schematics Wes was nice enough to post and see if I can track the gremlin down. I will let you know what I find ......if I ever do! Thanks again.
Hendoii is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-03-2011, 01:11 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
Update: after tracing every wire I finally figured out that both my high pressure and low pressure switch connectors were not making contact on the switches. Tough to figure out because when I jumped them the larger diameter wires would make contact just fine but when I plugged them in they wouldn't work. Couple that with the fact that both connectors were bad and it really had me scratching my head. It didn't have air for 13 years so the connectors were just exposed to the elements. Cleaned them up, resized them, coated with dielectric grease and the new ac from jeepair fired right up as published. On to my rear main seal issue!
Hendoii is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-03-2011, 03:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
ospreyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Centennial CO (so yeah it's Denver)
Posts: 446
Images: 1
Better than mine... belt is just bypassing the compressor.
__________________
This post was sent by my computer, as my ESP is broken...

98' Sahara 4.0L
4" RC lift - 33" GY Dura Tracs - Custom bumpers

ospreyguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-03-2011, 03:51 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 339
Glad to hear you got it straightened out!

-Wes

KP Texan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you are having shifting issues with your NV3550, look inside. mrcarcrazy TJ Tech Forum 77 11-09-2013 10:16 AM
4wd Issues Work4Mud TJ Tech Forum 16 01-09-2011 03:45 PM
P0456 with idle issues and starting issues chaddrick13 TJ Tech Forum 2 12-29-2010 05:18 PM
Lifted driveline issues? GroundHawg JK General Discussion Forum 17 05-23-2010 04:05 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC