Fabtec lift - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-17-2009, 07:33 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Fabtec lift

Gotta love em!!! so I broke a drop bracket that is part of my 4" Fabtec lift. Seems that I CAN get a repalcement if I buy a whole new lift kit ($1500) and take the part that I need out OR wait ATLEAST a month for them to make me a new one and get it delivered!!!! just dont seem right. So now The heep is sitting and waiting......

__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 07:44 PM   #2
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,270
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
Which bracket?

distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 07:45 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Rawkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fullerton/big bear
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via AIM to Rawkon Send a message via MSN to Rawkon
get one from another brand, I assume its for the rear trac bar
Rawkon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 08:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Sorry!! No it is the front trac bar where it meets the frame bracket. i have been so pissed that I never even thought of trying another brand.... any help finding one would be GREAT!!
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 08:45 PM   #5
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,270
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
Are you running a drop pitman arm?
Are you running a adjustable front tracbar?
distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2009, 08:57 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Rawkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fullerton/big bear
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via AIM to Rawkon Send a message via MSN to Rawkon
I would suggest ditching the drop bracket and drop pitman arm. put the stock pitman arm back on and grab an adjustable trac bar from JKS or Rubicon express.
Rawkon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 12:21 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Rawkon....thanks!!! I knew that I could count on you guys. Rubicon experss will be on its way in the morning and all for about $30 more than ordering a replacement bracket from fab tech, as long as Quadratec can get the right box on the truck this time they tell me it will be here by the end of the week... YES!!! any other suggestiond b4 morning as to where to order from??
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 12:30 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Rawkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fullerton/big bear
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via AIM to Rawkon Send a message via MSN to Rawkon
What part did you order???
Rawkon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 07:15 AM   #9
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,270
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
I'm still wondering if he's running a drop pitman arm or not. If not....no need at all for the drop track bar brack.
distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 09:49 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Rawkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fullerton/big bear
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via AIM to Rawkon Send a message via MSN to Rawkon
in all the pics form fabtech it shows a drop pitman arm
Rawkon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 10:09 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Ok so I am getting more help from you 2 than flippn Quadratec. sooo yes do have a drop pitman arm and I am looking at the rubicom express system ... seems like there is more info that I need. whats ur thoughts? I would love to be rid of ANY drop bracket in its place!!
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 10:24 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Okayyyy so i'm not a very paitent man when it comes to my jeep.... i just ordered the JKS system yeah it cost a lil more BUT its not silver and best of all... IN STOCK!! a few extra bucks but...
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 10:26 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
oh and the "salesmen" told me that my drop pit arm would work.... not 2 sure about this ...should I be looking for a stock one?
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 11:12 AM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,454
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koshon View Post
oh and the "salesmen" told me that my drop pit arm would work.... not 2 sure about this ...should I be looking for a stock one?
Those QT salesman know little more about this stuff than my wife does. If your upper trackbar mount is not dropped, your Pitman arm should not be dropped. Running just a dropped Pitman without a corresponding drop for the upper track bar mount will cause bump steer.

The Pitman arm and upper track bar mount must be matched... both must be dropped, or neither can be dropped. If one is dropped and the other isn't, bump steer is the result.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 11:54 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Ok so help me out here.... I had a drop bracket for the front track bar but it is now broken. rather than wait for a new one I opted to go with the jks adjust track bar. still have the same drop pit arm that was used with the drop bracket on my jeep. you saying that I need to get a "stock" pit arm?
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2009, 12:26 PM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,454
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koshon View Post
Ok so help me out here.... I had a drop bracket for the front track bar but it is now broken. rather than wait for a new one I opted to go with the jks adjust track bar. still have the same drop pit arm that was used with the drop bracket on my jeep. you saying that I need to get a "stock" pit arm?
Was it not that clear when it was said if your track bar is not dropped that your Pitman arm cannot be dropped either?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2009, 04:46 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
Okay so i got my new JKS adjustable track arm in yesterday and installed it this morning .... again THANKS Rawkon!! I love this thing. Oh AND after chatting with a JKS rep... I kept my drop pitman arm and it runs the way it should!!
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2009, 05:53 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south jersey
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koshon View Post
Okay so i got my new JKS adjustable track arm in yesterday and installed it this morning .... again THANKS Rawkon!! I love this thing. Oh AND after chatting with a JKS rep... I kept my drop pitman arm and it runs the way it should!!
you will have problems, maybe not now because the bushings in the track bar are still good, but give it little while to wear them out and you will.
350chevrolet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2009, 07:29 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
WHAT!!? isnt this true with EVERYTHING?
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-22-2009, 09:49 PM   #20
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,454
Images: 2
If you're running a dropped Pitman arm without a corresponding drop for the upper trackbar mount, I guarantee you have bump steer.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-23-2009, 09:39 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Koshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polson
Posts: 33
I'm not sure what Mr. Bransford's deal is BUT I LOVE this new set up!! I think it feels great! I have taken my jeep from the river bottoms to the top of the mountians and going 75 down the highway ( i'm guessing here a bit.65 on the speedo with 34x12.5s)to work and back.
__________________
taking the high road
Koshon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-23-2009, 11:25 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,473
There's a reason they are called FABTECH. I've learned that from having to repair several.

On each run you need to take along a FABrication TECHnician.
__________________
It's no wonder the country is falling apart - stupidity abounds!
rrich is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-24-2009, 01:11 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Rawkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fullerton/big bear
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via AIM to Rawkon Send a message via MSN to Rawkon
Glad to hear its working fine for you. take a pic of your front end steering if you can. If your running a drop pitman arm. just put a stock one on your wish list and swap it out when you can. JKS is top notch quality i doubt you will get bumpsteer on the street, but when you take it wheeling you will get some for sure. .

Rawkon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Jeep...which lift kit is for me? JeepedUp TJ General Discussion Forum 3 08-08-2009 06:26 PM
Body lift or no body lift?? savinlives2448 TJ Tech Forum 8 03-23-2009 10:38 PM
2'' procomp lift/ 1'' bb/ endlinks (IN) MoA Classifieds Archive 0 10-17-2007 08:51 PM
Questions about lift kits and body lifts.... G_Spot TJ General Discussion Forum 25 04-19-2007 07:31 AM
Fabtec 3.5 lift for $250 cadamson YJ General Discussion Forum 2 04-18-2007 08:31 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC