Fog Light Kit OEM? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-12-2008, 07:26 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
UNLIMITLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ULSTER PARK NY
Posts: 162
Fog Light Kit OEM?

Does Jeep offer a kit with lights, harness, and switch?

__________________
00 XJ Sport
Freedom Edition
4.0 Auto 4 Door
SOLD 97 TJ
2.5 Low Output
4.0 TB Swap
UNLIMITLESS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 07:32 PM   #2
Extremely Humble

WF Lifetime Member
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Midland Texas
Posts: 11,549
Images: 12
I don't know about OEM but here's an inexpensive light kit similar to the OEM's.

http://www.redrock4x4.com/shop/products/1521.html

__________________

|
|

03 Rubicon | 36" Iroks | Chromo D44's w/Rear Spool | 5.5" RK LA | 5.13s | Armored Head to Toe
Scout is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 07:35 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
otrattw is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 08:10 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
UNLIMITLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ULSTER PARK NY
Posts: 162
$230?
Thats a little steep but I guess buying from the factory always hurts. I have a set of Hella 500s but no wiring and I like the factory look of the switches in the dash. I thought maybe I could get a harness and switch and hook it up.
__________________
00 XJ Sport
Freedom Edition
4.0 Auto 4 Door
SOLD 97 TJ
2.5 Low Output
4.0 TB Swap
UNLIMITLESS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 08:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
buy the swich at the local jeep dealer and wire it up by yourself. that would safe money for other modifications...
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 09:17 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
slf41002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Augusta,KY
Posts: 1,163
Yeah you can wire it yourself with a switch.You can get a factory type switch for like 9.99 on ebay and all you have to do is go under the hood on the driverside along the channel were the hood lip is by the horns you will find a wire loom with about 8 wires in it.You will need to pull the loom back a little and find the wire that comes hot only when you low beam lights are on and tie into that and run back trough the firewall and hook to switch then the +wire from the switch will run to the lights.I just hooked mine up that way only I allready had them on low beam so I hooked up another set to the high beams.You will not want to go any bigger than 55watt per bulb or it will overheat the wireing.Also do not hook on the inside close to the headlight switch because overtime it will melt down the headlight switch.
__________________
I like for it to shine even thought it is muddy most of the time!
http://www.myspace.com/shermanf
slf41002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 09:25 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
slf41002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Augusta,KY
Posts: 1,163
The two switches on the left are the factory style switches and the one on the right is the facotry for the low beam facotry driving lights.Then the chrome switches to the right of the rest is for my Fire lights and siren.
__________________
I like for it to shine even thought it is muddy most of the time!
http://www.myspace.com/shermanf
slf41002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2008, 09:26 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Quote:
Originally Posted by slf41002 View Post
Fire lights and siren.
do you have some pics how the lights and the siren are mounted?
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2008, 02:55 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
slf41002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Augusta,KY
Posts: 1,163
I don't think so but I can take a few tomorrow.The light is just a red and white strobe that sits right above the heater vent on the heater/radio bezal and the Galls 100watt siren box sits under the driver seat and stays on one setting unless I have it on and reach under the seat and change it other wise it stays on at the box but off until I flip the switch and the speaker is a 100watt narrow grill speaker that fit just right on top of my shock tower in the wheel well.The speaker is completely water proof so I just mounted it there with RTV silicone.Just had to let it set 2 days to dry.LOL
__________________
I like for it to shine even thought it is muddy most of the time!
http://www.myspace.com/shermanf
slf41002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2008, 03:00 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
slf41002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Augusta,KY
Posts: 1,163
You can see the light I think in both of these pics but I will take a few tomorrow to show were the box and speaker are.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hood.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	3698   Click image for larger version

Name:	dwindow.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	3699  

__________________
I like for it to shine even thought it is muddy most of the time!
http://www.myspace.com/shermanf
slf41002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2008, 07:55 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by slf41002 View Post
You can get a factory type switch for like 9.99 on ebay
What connector did you use to connect the wiring to the factory switch?
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2008, 08:00 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,305
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
I didn't have any factory switches in my SE, so it was easy. I just got Carling Contura switches from www.otrattw.com/S2.htm. Cheaper and a VERY quality switch - same as ARB uses.

I ran custom wiring/relays for these lights and they work just fine.

__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2008, 08:29 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
slf41002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Augusta,KY
Posts: 1,163
The switchs are not exactly like factory because they have screw type terminals for the connectors.Paul I like the look of the second factory switch bezal in place of the ash tray.Looks good.
__________________
I like for it to shine even thought it is muddy most of the time!
http://www.myspace.com/shermanf
slf41002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2008, 11:11 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 92
So who is the manufacturer and where did you get them?
ecbuck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2008, 01:02 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Tj Bunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 944
Buck I soldered mine on and slid some shink wrap over the terminals and zip tied everything together, I used the factory switch for an older TJ becouse the 01 's have them in the Headlamp stalk. Mopar P/n Is 0580861aa I just got it from Dealer but you can probably get one on line cheaper.

Greg
__________________
[2001 Wrangler 2.5 New Bumper and 2" BB-31x10.50-15 General AT2 on Soft 8 Steel Rims....
http://www.myjeepspace.com/TJ_BUNCH
Fresno Ca


Tj Bunch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2008, 03:08 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,305
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecbuck View Post
So who is the manufacturer and where did you get them?
If you're asking me, mine are Carling Contura (maker) and I got them from www.otrattw.com/S2.htm. You can buy the EXACT same switch from most 4x4 shops but you will pay more and the cover will show ARB lockers. I wanted some that denoted lighting, and OTRATTW.com has those covers.
__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2008, 02:26 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
UNLIMITLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ULSTER PARK NY
Posts: 162
I ordered a Pilot PL-HARN3 harness with relay and switch. The switch looks like a little computer mouse and uses a 3M tape to mount it. I can hide it anywhere.
AutoZone $9.99+tax

Thanks for the help.
__________________
00 XJ Sport
Freedom Edition
4.0 Auto 4 Door
SOLD 97 TJ
2.5 Low Output
4.0 TB Swap
UNLIMITLESS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2008, 02:57 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
sgnellett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Under a sheet of ice, you know, from Global Warming!
Posts: 2,949
Do any of these kits have the same connectors that the factory lights have? I wouldn't mind replacing mine with something brighter, but if I didn't have to replace all the wiring and mount new switches, I'd be ok w/ that!

__________________
SGNellett, 02 TJ "LUCY" 3" BDS w/ quick disco's, 33x12.5x15's on Chrome Steel Tailgunners, K&N CAI, Tomkens front & rear w/ swing away tire carrier

Quote:
Originally Posted by skeeter View Post
And the most important safety, I never put my booger hook on the bang switch unless I'm ready to fire.
sgnellett is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many forum members does it take to.... Nick Off-Topic 46 03-16-2011 01:47 AM
Rear Cargo Light installed on a 2008 Jeep Wrangler X 2 Door 1EYEDJACK JK Pics Forum 1 08-17-2008 08:56 PM
"Check Engine" light soupy1957 JK Tech Forum 7 07-13-2008 11:58 AM
A Sign of the Impending Apocalypse Dare2BSquare Off-Topic 18 06-19-2008 01:44 AM
My only problem is i dont thing the gutter kit for the light bar will fit on my TJ be jjock TJ General Discussion Forum 0 11-21-2006 08:17 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC