Hand Throttle Mount Input Wanted - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-21-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 259
Hand Throttle Mount Input Wanted

I am going to put on a hand throttle onto my '03. It is an auto therefore I will not use the usual mounting point on the stick shift. I am looking for input on where others have mounted theirs, and pic's would help. Do most of you keep it in a good location for your right hand and steer with your left?


Thanks!

dbbd1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2009, 03:23 PM   #2
that's what she said

WF Supporting Member
 
jgano23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: \m/-_-\m/
Posts: 16,482
Send a message via AIM to jgano23 Send a message via Yahoo to jgano23
i was looking at that hand throttle kit from quadratec about 5 mins ago. i kind of like the idea. just curious, but if you have an auto tranny why do you need one?

jgano23 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2009, 05:38 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 259
Just in case, I suppose. Maybe my foot will get tired, who know? But for the price (from 33 Engineering), how could I go wrong?
dbbd1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2009, 08:14 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
IslandTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where I wheel: N 45║ 36.663' W 123║ 20.935'
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbbd1 View Post
I am going to put on a hand throttle onto my '03. It is an auto therefore I will not use the usual mounting point on the stick shift. I am looking for input on where others have mounted theirs, and pic's would help. Do most of you keep it in a good location for your right hand and steer with your left?


Thanks!
I have an auto and my hand throttle isn't mounted on my shifter - as I thought that spot wasn't practical. Here's where I mounted mine.

__________________
1998 TJ Moss Green Sahara w/ numerous scratches & dents whose playground is on a tropical island that's 33 miles long and 4-12 miles wide, in year-round 82 degree weather

Edit: "Now jeepin in Oregon"
IslandTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2009, 09:07 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,299
Images: 2
That you have an automatic doesn't make a hand throttle any less useful. I ran a 5-speed manual with a hand throttle and then converted my TJ to an automatic (better for rock crawling) and did not reinstall the hand throttle. Then exactly one rockcrawling trip later, I discovered how much I missed the hand throttle. So I reinstalled it and it's still very cool.

The biggest use I have for it is on extremely rough bumpy trails where it is hard to keep your foot steady on the accelerator pedal. In those circumstances, I use the hand throttle for more precise throttle control. It can make the difference in breaking something from shock-loading by bouncing on the accelerator pedal and not breaking something because your hand was able to provide more precise throttle control.

Then there's always the need to elevate and hold higher engine rpms while winching or running a belt-driven onboard air compressor.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2009, 09:38 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandTJ View Post
I have an auto and my hand throttle isn't mounted on my shifter - as I thought that spot wasn't practical. Here's where I mounted mine.
Nice! It seems to me that I have read a post by you or someone else that did the same thing. That is just a cabinety handle from Home Despot (no, not a typo), right? How did you "thicken up" the handle to accomodate the lever mechanism and do you mind if I use your idea?

And where are you in Oregon?
dbbd1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2009, 11:01 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
IslandTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where I wheel: N 45║ 36.663' W 123║ 20.935'
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbbd1 View Post
Nice! It seems to me that I have read a post by you or someone else that did the same thing. That is just a cabinety handle from Home Despot (no, not a typo), right? How did you "thicken up" the handle to accomodate the lever mechanism and do you mind if I use your idea?

And where are you in Oregon?
LOL yeah that's a cabinet handle from Home Depot. I used a flexible PVC type pipe (also bought from HD) cut a 1" strip to use as a spacer - works well too. Please go ahead and use it - I find it very helpful, especially when I'm outside winching or using the air compressor and need to reach in to lower or raise my RPMs. Works well for the off camber trails too!

Oh, I live in Lake Grove and work in Beaverton.
__________________
1998 TJ Moss Green Sahara w/ numerous scratches & dents whose playground is on a tropical island that's 33 miles long and 4-12 miles wide, in year-round 82 degree weather

Edit: "Now jeepin in Oregon"
IslandTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 08:19 AM   #8
that's what she said

WF Supporting Member
 
jgano23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: \m/-_-\m/
Posts: 16,482
Send a message via AIM to jgano23 Send a message via Yahoo to jgano23
i think i really want one. are they easy to install?
jgano23 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 08:21 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
cherokee980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 2,817
I have been considering a hand throttle as well...i really like the idea
__________________
my luck is so bad, It could be raining tits and I would get hit in the head with a dick!
cherokee980 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 08:52 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgano23 View Post
i think i really want one. are they easy to install?
So far, I would say yes. The hard part looks to be routing the cable for smooth operation and then just mounting the control lever.
dbbd1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 08:54 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandTJ View Post
LOL yeah that's a cabinet handle from Home Depot. I used a flexible PVC type pipe (also bought from HD) cut a 1" strip to use as a spacer - works well too. Please go ahead and use it - I find it very helpful, especially when I'm outside winching or using the air compressor and need to reach in to lower or raise my RPMs. Works well for the off camber trails too!

Oh, I live in Lake Grove and work in Beaverton.
Warning Hijack (on my own thread!)

Yeah, we should get out sometime. I live in OC and work all over the town.
dbbd1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 10:22 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
IslandTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where I wheel: N 45║ 36.663' W 123║ 20.935'
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbbd1 View Post
Warning Hijack (on my own thread!)

Yeah, we should get out sometime. I live in OC and work all over the town.
PM me if you want to check out TSF when the season and weather get better. The last time I was out there was during Thanksgiving. I ran Powerline and Cedar trail, and then came down Firebreak. Easy to moderate trails...
__________________
1998 TJ Moss Green Sahara w/ numerous scratches & dents whose playground is on a tropical island that's 33 miles long and 4-12 miles wide, in year-round 82 degree weather

Edit: "Now jeepin in Oregon"
IslandTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2009, 10:27 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgano23 View Post
i think i really want one. are they easy to install?
Very easy! I really enjoy having it.

__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
more juice 95_YJ YJ Tech Forum 8 09-08-2009 12:52 PM
check engine light on mudder89 YJ Tech Forum 20 03-01-2009 12:13 PM
stroking a 4.0...... input wanted rebelBullDawg325 YJ General Discussion Forum 5 03-29-2008 09:34 PM
broke shock mount m8094538 YJ Tech Forum 5 01-06-2008 01:10 PM
New Ram Mount for the Footman Loop hutchman Communications and Electronics 6 09-03-2007 01:06 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.



Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC