Hard Top - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-30-2012, 01:05 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
valentine1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 216
Hard Top

I have recently bought an 03 TJ. It came with a soft top but I wasn't sure if it ever had a hard top. No matter what I would like to get one but can you put a hardtop on jeep that came with a soft top?

valentine1210 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 01:10 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Slater451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 912
Yeah it just goes right on but you have to take the entire soft top off. Frame included. Also the brackets that hold the back window to the tub. Other wise the hard top glass won't shut It bolts to the holes that are allready in the outer rails of your tub and clips to the wind shield on the same spots as your soft top does

Slater451 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 01:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
valentine1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 216
Doesn't the hard top have a rear wiper? Because there is no plug in the rear for a wiper and there is no buttons for anything
valentine1210 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 01:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Slater451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 912
Ohh yes I forgot. You will have to get a wiring harness for the appropriate year of your jeep and according to the year of the top. Any top from 97 to 06 will fit. But the plugs are different from 97 - 02 and 03 - 06
I just never bothered. Every now and then I would clean the back window at a gas station. And the rest I let the rain take care of. Visiblity wasnt any different than with the soft top window during rain or snow
Slater451 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 01:23 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
valentine1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 216
Ok thank you but I can really just bolt it on after the entire soft top comes off
valentine1210 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2012, 01:27 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Slater451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 912
Yeah. Mine came with a factory soft top and I bought a hard top and fixed it up and put it on. Not leaks no problems. I actually just recently sold it cause I moved to Florida

Slater451 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC