Hardtop help ? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-15-2011, 08:38 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Hardtop help ?

Ive looked all over for this ? Maybe I missed it if there's one out there just post the link thanks .
What do I need to instal a hardtop ??

__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 08:47 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
InfernoGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newburgh IN
Posts: 11,419
6 bolts, a hard top and if you want the wiper to work you need the wiring harness if you aren't already equipped with one.

__________________

Dirty Mudder column covers|

'01 Wrangler Sport, Sienna Pearl Mine
'07 Rubicon 2D, Flame Red His
'11 Wrangler Sport 4D, Black Ours...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
Not every girl, is a Jeep girl. We're a special breed.
InfernoGirl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 08:48 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
This will sound stupid but that's the wires that run along the inside of the drivers side of the tub ?
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 09:11 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
InfernoGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newburgh IN
Posts: 11,419
Yes, they end up by the tail gate on the driver side, to connect to the wires on the top. Having a functional wiper isn't mandatory, but it is convenient...
__________________

Dirty Mudder column covers|

'01 Wrangler Sport, Sienna Pearl Mine
'07 Rubicon 2D, Flame Red His
'11 Wrangler Sport 4D, Black Ours...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
Not every girl, is a Jeep girl. We're a special breed.
InfernoGirl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 09:24 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
I have those !!!! Yay me
So do I need anything else ?
Oh and what about the switches ?
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 10:25 AM   #6
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 35,317
I'm lazy, just use 4 c clamps to hold down
__________________
2007 Rubicon/Rock Krawler triple rate 2.5" coils/RK rear TB w/ a teraflex raised bracket/Rancho 9000 31/32XL shocks/Synergy flipped draglink,ball joints,tie rod /Hankook MT 315-75-16 on Level 8 ZX's/Rancho geo brackets/Ruff stuff uppers/Fox ATS stabilizer/Adams front DS/Artec front armor w/ Currie upper bushings/Rancho cat back exhaust.

Lifting your JK? Read this!!



Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 10:30 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
InfernoGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newburgh IN
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakea94 View Post
I have those !!!! Yay me
So do I need anything else ?
Oh and what about the switches ?
If you already have the wiring harness, chances seem pretty good to me that you'd have the switches as well...
__________________

Dirty Mudder column covers|

'01 Wrangler Sport, Sienna Pearl Mine
'07 Rubicon 2D, Flame Red His
'11 Wrangler Sport 4D, Black Ours...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
Not every girl, is a Jeep girl. We're a special breed.
InfernoGirl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 10:54 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
I don't have any switches at all on my jeep .
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 11:09 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,313
Images: 1
If your jeep was originally delivered as a hartop of dual top model you will have switches on the dash for wiper and defrost, dual pump tank and the hose and wire to rear of the tub.

What year is the top from? 97-02 have vents on the side. 03-06 do not have the vents. your 06 plug will not directly connect to a 97-02 top. The plug changed. You can buy and adapter or modify your plug.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 11:26 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
I have an 06 and didn't come with a hardtop . So I have no switches what do I need to make it have what is should of had to make factory ?
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 12:45 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,313
Images: 1
So you have a connector in the rear w/o switches. It's difficult so say what you may need. What switches do you have in the center dash? That's where they would be.

Are you the original owner or did you pick it up used?

Are there blanks or switches for something else (aftermarket). If there are blanks, I can't see someone going through the trouble to remove the switches just to install blanks. I'd pull apart the center console to see if there are any switches or wires the previous owner may have left.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 12:47 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil F.;1307661[B
]If your jeep was originally delivered as a hartop of dual top model you will have switches on the dash for wiper and defrost, dual pump tank and the hose and wire to rear of the tub. [/B]

What year is the top from? 97-02 have vents on the side. 03-06 do not have the vents. your 06 plug will not directly connect to a 97-02 top. The plug changed. You can buy and adapter or modify your plug.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakea94 View Post
I have an 06 and didn't come with a hardtop . So I have no switches what do I need to make it have what is should of had to make factory ?

Are you sure the wire harness that you have going down the left side of the tub is for a hard top? Does it have a rubber hose mated to it as well? I will post a picture of the correct harness, hose, and switches from my '04 so you can see how it looks.

It seems weird that you have the harness but no switch. Let me see if I can help you shed some light on your issue.

Stand by for a photo
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 12:58 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 539
Does your windshield washer fluid tank have 2 pumps? IFS, it is probably wired for the hardtop. But it should have switches. Maybe someone used them for something else? Or, put some other switches in their place?
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 01:10 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
These are factory switches in their factory locations. the 04-06 are all the same. Do you have these switches? The two empty slots would be for an O/D off switch on an automatic, then a Axle Locker if a Rubicon. You say yours did not come with a hard top from the factory. Did you verify this by means of a build sheet?

Second photo shows the factory wire harness plug end between my thumb and trigger, I mean index finger. The black thing wrapped around my second finger is the washer fluid hose. They have plugs on the end of them to stop any fluid from leaking out.. My wire harness is full of dielectric grease to keep crud out of it for the season.

Do you have this same connection coming out from the end of your harness where it meets your transom, or does your harness only supply power to your aft lights?
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 01:33 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austen
These are factory switches in their factory locations. the 04-06 are all the same. Do you have these switches? The two empty slots would be for an O/D off switch on an automatic, then a Axle Locker if a Rubicon. You say yours did not come with a hard top from the factory. Did you verify this by means of a build sheet?

Second photo shows the factory wire harness plug end between my thumb and trigger, I mean index finger. The black thing wrapped around my second finger is the washer fluid hose. They have plugs on the end of them to stop any fluid from leaking out.. My wire harness is full of dielectric grease to keep crud out of it for the season.

Do you have this same connection coming out from the end of your harness where it meets your transom, or does your harness only supply power to your aft lights?
This is my dash no switch . And build sheet said soft top. . .
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 01:41 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
So you do not have facotry switches. Do you have the black connector in my second photo?
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 02:56 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Not with the jeep so idk
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 03:11 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
Then you do not have the capability to wash/wipe your rear window. Not the biggest deal. You will be able to put your hard top on and bolt it down. You will automatically be better off then with just soft top.
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 03:17 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
No I don't know if I have it on the jeep I'm not with my jeep right now
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 04:03 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
Oh lol I thought you meant it was not with the Jeep. Well if you have those connections they plug into the top, if you don't now washy and no wipey.
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 04:19 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
How hard to make it washy and Wipey ????
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 04:34 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
Impossible, may as well scrap the heap, just kidding. I have no clue, but if memory serves me right call Quadratec and dial extension 342 that guy would know. I believe the sell a kit with everything you need. Unless you want to rig a pulley and line system and wipe it manually
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 04:50 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 539
You may need a kit. Or, maybe not if the mystery wire that runs under the top lip of the tub, right behind the driver is already there. It should be cable and a rubber hose for the washer fluid. Like Austen's picture. If that is there, it may indicate the wiring harness is in place. Then you would need the switches and maybe the dual pump washer fluid tank.
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 07:11 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austen
Impossible, may as well scrap the heap, just kidding. I have no clue, but if memory serves me right call Quadratec and dial extension 342 that guy would know. I believe the sell a kit with everything you need. Unless you want to rig a pulley and line system and wipe it manually
I like the last idea !!
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 07:12 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilroy
You may need a kit. Or, maybe not if the mystery wire that runs under the top lip of the tub, right behind the driver is already there. It should be cable and a rubber hose for the washer fluid. Like Austen's picture. If that is there, it may indicate the wiring harness is in place. Then you would need the switches and maybe the dual pump washer fluid tank.
I know the rubber hose is there .
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 07:19 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Austen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Fishkill, New York
Posts: 502
Send a message via AIM to Austen Send a message via MSN to Austen Send a message via Yahoo to Austen Send a message via Skype™ to Austen
If the hose is there the wire HAS to be there, but what about the switch? What could it be hooked to?
__________________
ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı

My house and my Jeep are protected by god herself, and my gun. Mess around with either and meet both
Austen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 07:48 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
Idk
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 07:56 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
I'll look when I get off
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2011, 12:50 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
This is for the hard top yes ? I see no plug
__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2011, 12:53 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Drakea94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16,114
What is it for? I believe I don't have hardtop stuff how do I get it can I get it through mopar ?

__________________
"You can't let the 1% di*kheads ruin your day, you have to remember the 99% of people who are nice"


"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't."
General George Patton Jr.
Drakea94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I sell my hardtop?? Owen_TJ TJ General Discussion Forum 34 01-14-2012 09:30 PM
Hardtop problem ChandlerSL YJ Tech Forum 18 03-17-2011 03:31 PM
Keep the hardtop or sell ?? NYYJ YJ Tech Forum 12 03-10-2011 02:49 AM
Hardtop to Windshield Sealing Problems martinontheroad YJ Tech Forum 10 10-13-2010 11:26 PM
Hardtop questions XNeoJesterX TJ Tech Forum 6 10-27-2008 01:58 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC