Hardware 12v compressor. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-21-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest city. Oklahoma
Posts: 135
Hardware 12v compressor.

I recently bought a MV50 Superflow compressor that I want to hard mount and wire under my hood. I was originally just gonna put terminals on the ends and run straight to the battery but since I have a 6 position distribution block I was thinking of wiring it to that. I currently have my hella e codes wired from it running dual relay setup w/ 20 amp fuses. The distribution block has a 6awg wire running to it directly from battery. This is the distribution block I am using.
I was thinking of running the power wire to it and the ground to the frame or another good ground point. Thoughts?

I suppose I'm mostly worried if for one I can actually wire it that way not directly negative and positive to battery. 2 the distribution block says its only rated at 25amps per circuit and the compressor max is 30. Do you think ill be ok or need upgrade to another fuse block .

AdamLC is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:48 AM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 7,215
Images: 11
I would come off the terminal where you have the 6 gauge wired, then install a stand alone 35-40 amp fuse or circuit breaker. I don't see a problem with grounding to the frame, as long as the grounds are all clean. Use a minimum of #10 (#8 would be better) wire and keep the run as short as possible.

You don't want to install a fused circuit the same amperage as the max amp draw of what you are powering or you will blow the fuse every time you use the equipment.

__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:57 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest city. Oklahoma
Posts: 135
Ok that's what I'll do then. I didn't think of going off the distribution block where the 6AWG is hooked up.
I have heard of people blowing 30A fuses that it originally comes with if it is hooked up to the tire then turned on because the initial startup load amperage is to high so it is suggested to start the compressor then hookup. If I have that same problem maybe ill bump it up to a 35A fuse and see if that keeps it from happening.
AdamLC is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC