have miss help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-15-2011, 08:17 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
have miss help

ok it acts like it running out of gas changed the o2 seems to be lil better is there a fuel fitter? 97 sahara 4.0 5 speed seems to do it around 1800 to 2000 rpms

__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2011, 06:05 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Anyone?

__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2011, 06:08 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
RockyWrangler98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 8,127
Will it continue to run if you goose it?
__________________
"Why do you drive something like that?" ...To which I reply: "To make people like you ask questions like that."
RockyWrangler98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
yes gets better then sometimes it back fire threw the intake
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2011, 08:37 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
I also have a 97 tj 4.0 most likely you have a distributor like mine. It sounds like your timing is off. Maybe your distributor cap is lose and it's jumping timing. But that's the first place I would go to......
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 07:50 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
i just put plug wires cap the hole 9 yard tps o2 and it still dose it
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 07:57 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner
i just put plug wires cap the hole 9 yard tps o2 and it still dose it
I know the tj also sets the timing by the computer.... You maybe able to reset your computer and see if it helps also.... Try disconnecting the battery for starters.... I'm just trying to give you some easy,free things to check before you get into spending alot of money... Troubleshooting is always best at first..
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 08:47 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Shelby427's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL and Hooversville PA
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner View Post
yes gets better then sometimes it back fire threw the intake
That's a sign of incorrect spark timing or weak spark.
Did you look at the coil? Pop the plug wire off and look real close where the wire connected. If you see tiny gray lines the coil is shorting out. You could also just have a coil going south on you, and not providing enough voltage to the plugs.

Also some of the 97's had bad valve springs.
__________________
97 Sahara, 74 Renegade, 72 CJ5, 55 Willy's (the Beast) Boss 302, 6:34 gearing, Bose 901 speakers.
God I miss that Jeep. Forgot the kinda Jeep, 80 SX4.
Shelby427 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 09:18 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Do you have a distributor or is it distributorless, with coils?
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 09:46 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinm2467 View Post
Do you have a distributor or is it distributorless, with coils?

it has distributor and how do i reset the comp?
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 09:47 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby427 View Post
That's a sign of incorrect spark timing or weak spark.
Did you look at the coil? Pop the plug wire off and look real close where the wire connected. If you see tiny gray lines the coil is shorting out. You could also just have a coil going south on you, and not providing enough voltage to the plugs.

Also some of the 97's had bad valve springs.
is there anyway i can test my coil see if it going bad? how can you tell it if it the springs?
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:01 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner

it has distributor and how do i reset the comp?
Disconnect the negative terminal on the battery for a few mins. 2 or 3 mins is long enough, but I like the 5 min wait... Is your check engine light or anything on?
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:16 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 475
Send a message via AIM to Wench
check your cam positioning sensor....it may be dirty or bad...it sits on top of your transmission. If you are prone to hit mudholes like me :P
__________________
You can lock it..even put a different t/c in it..but its still not a RUBICON!
Wench is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:20 AM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,255
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wench View Post
check your cam positioning sensor....it may be dirty or bad...it sits on top of your transmission.
The camshaft position sensor is inside the distributor, the crankshaft position sensor is near the top of the transmission bell housing, on the driver's side, next to where the bell housing bolts to the engine.
__________________
Gone wheeling, back late sunday...
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:21 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner

is there anyway i can test my coil see if it going bad? how can you tell it if it the springs?
Well since you have a distributor, cap and rotor button. I believe your coil is inside the distributor assembly. Most tj have a ignition coil or coil pack. Which are called distributorless tj's. Make sure your main distributor, the main piece that your cap and button connect to isn't lose. It may just not be that tight, you could of cracked the cap putting it on anything.... Was it running fine after the tune up. Or did all of this start immediately after the tune up?
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:23 AM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,255
Images: 2
When there is a distributor, the coil is bolted to the passenger-side of the engine block. Distributors were used in TJ 4.0L engines through 1999, the 4.0L went distributorless in 2000.
__________________
Gone wheeling, back late sunday...
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:25 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinm2467 View Post
Disconnect the negative terminal on the battery for a few mins. 2 or 3 mins is long enough, but I like the 5 min wait... Is your check engine light or anything on?
no light now but had one for o2 it has been running like this for awhile thats why i have chaged all this
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:27 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
The camshaft position sensor is inside the distributor, the crankshaft position sensor is near the top of the transmission bell housing, on the driver's side, next to where the bell housing bolts to the engine.
i have chaged the crank sensor to. do you think the cam sensor can do this ? i also been reading about doing a PCM ty-wrapped not sure what that is?
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:29 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
i just went out looked at the coil no gray lines in it that i can see
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:31 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner

i have chaged the crank sensor to. do you think the cam sensor can do this ? i also been reading about doing a PCM ty-wrapped not sure what that is?
I'm pretty smart when it comes to a jeep. But when things get real technical I have asked Jerry numerous times about things and he has ALWAYS lead me in the right direction. So his advice on things is way better then mine. yeah I'm brown nosing :-) lol....
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:33 AM   #21
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,255
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner View Post
i have chaged the crank sensor to. do you think the cam sensor can do this ? i also been reading about doing a PCM ty-wrapped not sure what that is?
A bad camshaft position sensor can cause symptoms that are identical to a bad crankshaft position sensor. I'd be checking other potential sources before the camshaft position sensor though.

Are you sure your fuel pump is putting out enough fuel? Buy or rent a fuel pressure gauge and connect it to the test port on the fuel rail, it has a big Schraeder valve (like an oversized tire stem valve) the gauge connects to. Factory fuel line pressure spec is 49 psi.
__________________
Gone wheeling, back late sunday...
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:33 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Wench's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 475
Send a message via AIM to Wench
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
The camshaft position sensor is inside the distributor, the crankshaft position sensor is near the top of the transmission bell housing, on the driver's side, next to where the bell housing bolts to the engine.
i mean crankshaft...my bad... lol the camshaft is on the passenger side under the coil pack (2000-2006) buddy of mine ran thru a bunch of mud and got this CRANKSHAFT sensor dirty and was having the same issues as Garner...we took it off and cleaned it up and he was back up and goin again... Thanks Jerry...you meant what i knew...
__________________
You can lock it..even put a different t/c in it..but its still not a RUBICON!
Wench is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:39 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
A bad camshaft position sensor can cause symptoms that are identical to a bad crankshaft position sensor. I'd be checking other potential sources before the camshaft position sensor though.

Are you sure your fuel pump is putting out enough fuel? Buy or rent a fuel pressure gauge and connect it to the test port on the fuel rail, it has a big Schraeder valve (like an oversized tire stem valve) the gauge connects to. Factory fuel line pressure spec is 49 psi.
no i havent checked the fuel but that what it seems like to me fuel something i called down to the part store ask for fuel fillter said dont list one so maybe in the tank? but you think that where you try next?
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:44 AM   #24
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,255
Images: 2
I would first try exactly what I suggested above, check the fuel rail pressure when it's running badly. There is a huge-surface area fuel filter inside the fuel pressure regulator that sits on top of the fuel pump. It is a lifetime fuel filter so it will never need changing unless you're running dirty third-world gas through your Jeep.
__________________
Gone wheeling, back late sunday...
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:44 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
about a week or two ago it got where is was idleing bad when you gave it gas it went all kind of crazy i thought here we go whatever it is just went out i unpluged the 1st injector and when i pluged back up was fine know im back to step one
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 10:50 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
I would first try exactly what I suggested above, check the fuel rail pressure when it's running badly. There is a huge-surface area fuel filter inside the fuel pressure regulator that sits on top of the fuel pump. It is a lifetime fuel filter so it will never need changing unless you're running dirty third-world gas through your Jeep.
thanks jerry may just run down to the shop do that now b4 i go to work
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 02:53 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
ok i did the key trick and it gave me code 12 looked that up and it said direct battery unhook from pcm in the last 50 cycles but i have not had it unhooked whats the deal?
__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 03:36 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Kevinm2467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: portsmouth, Va
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner
ok i did the key trick and it gave me code 12 looked that up and it said direct battery unhook from pcm in the last 50 cycles but i have not had it unhooked whats the deal?
I think that means you just disconnected your battery. I have heard of them called generic codes. I have heard of people reset their codes to get their check engine light off. And I have heard of people doing that for smog tests also. So having that code in their keeps people from cheating on smog and inspections....
Kevinm2467 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2011, 07:35 PM   #29
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,255
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garner View Post
ok i did the key trick and it gave me code 12 looked that up and it said direct battery unhook from pcm in the last 50 cycles but i have not had it unhooked whats the deal?
It's kind of a non-code that you can just ignore... I can't remember my TJ not ever having that code. It's such a non-code that it won't even prevent your TJ from passing the smog test if your state has one.
__________________
Gone wheeling, back late sunday...
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-19-2011, 07:43 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: al
Posts: 233
Images: 3
ok thanks guys. i checked the fuel it good. where to try now?

__________________
WHEN IN DOUBT GAS ON IT !
Garner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miss Firing Endless TJ General Discussion Forum 12 08-24-2011 02:28 PM
motor with a slight miss ggidd4629 YJ Tech Forum 1 08-18-2010 08:18 PM
New 2010 JK, like it miss my TJ anyone else miss theirs? Aaronkushner JK General Discussion Forum 28 05-13-2010 09:26 AM
I miss Iraq, I miss my gun... tiny terror Off-Topic 13 04-04-2010 08:31 PM
A miss? YellerJeep TJ Tech Forum 18 11-07-2008 05:28 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC