Hella 500FF light install question.. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-27-2009, 09:51 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Hella 500FF light install question..

Today I finally got around to starting to install some hella 500FFs on my 2000 TJ which never had or was setup for aftemarket lights, therefore I need to do all the wiring and install my own switch that came with the package...

Ok never did this before and everything was going well but I have a dillema...

On the relay there are 4 wires going out of it to the following:

1) To Ground
2) To Lights
3) To Battery
4) To switch

All that makes sense..

Now on the switch itself I am baffled.. Looks like 3 wires get connected to it that go to the following

1) To Ground
2) To Relay
3) To high beam 12v wire???

The number 3 is what I am confused with.. why do I need to connect a wire to the high beam?? Don't I just need the battery connection to the relay to get power??... These lights are on there own switch and have nothing to do with my standard lights or high beams...

I guess I just am curious why I need to connect to this high beam wire?.. Also if this is necessary which wire is it that goes into the head lights (each head light looks like it has three wires going into them..

Thanks!!!

ab8140 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2009, 09:55 PM   #2
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,258
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
Only one of the wires is the power to the High beam the other 2 are power to the low beam and then the ground.

No you do not have to connect it to the headlight wire. Most all tell you to do this but it is to save you from a ticket so to speek. When you connect it into the highbeam wire ...the fogs will turn off when you ingage your highbeams.

distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2009, 10:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
^^ Ok so what your saying is from the switch I only need 2 wires correct?

1 to ground
1 to relay

And can leave the third prong on my switch blank that they have in the diargram with the wire going from it to the high beam wire?... I plan on just controlling the hellas on my own I am not gonna worry about letting the high beams turn them off like u mentioned above...

thanks again..
ab8140 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2009, 10:16 PM   #4
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,258
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
I can do these all day long but I'm not the best at explaining it. Read over this page it explains it great......
Off-Road Lighting


If you have any more question let us know and we'll try to walk you through it.
distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2009, 10:31 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Hmm.. so it looks according to the digram shown there I need 2 connections to the battery..

1 from the switch
1 from the relay

One thing this isnt showing is a ground from the switch.. I guess this isn't needed??

The hella diagram has a wire going to ground from the switch..
ab8140 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2009, 07:25 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 132
you will need a ground to the switch only if the switch is lighted.
Mrmikeypoo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2009, 08:05 AM   #7
Nerf gun assassin

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
distortedtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: yep right there.
Posts: 21,258
Send a message via Yahoo to distortedtj
^^^^ yep.
distortedtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-28-2009, 09:04 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
^^ Thanks for the help everyone.. one last question is it safe to go from the switch to the battery and not tap into the high beam wire (i am not gonna light my jeep on fire right lol)?? Since I plan on manually controlling these lights and am not relying on the high beams being on to turn these off...

If so this would be my final connections...

From relay I will have wires going to:

1)To lights
2)To battery
3)To ground
4)To switch

And The following wires will be going from the switch to:
1)To relay
2)To battery
3)Too ground (since my switch does light up)
ab8140 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2009, 12:59 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Anyone know if its safe to run one of the wires from the switch to the battery (instead of using the 12v from the high beam?)
ab8140 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2009, 02:02 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
your going about this all wrong.

power to relay- In this line put a 10amp fuse.
relay to lights
relay to ground
relay to switch

Then on your lights one wire you must ground to the bumper or anything metal for a good ground. Takes like 45 mins to do. Hardest part is finding a good place to put your switch lol.

Then if your switch has a light in it the switch will get grounded too.

REPEAT DO NOT I MEAN DO NOT WIRE THEM INTO YOUR HEADLIGHTS. This way you can run your hellas at anytime.
__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-31-2010, 09:23 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 36
Man o man im happy i found this page
josh311 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2010, 04:08 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,767
Not sure where you live but here in NJ the lights must go off with the highbeams or you will not pass state inspection
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2010, 07:17 AM   #13
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
I'm glad we don't have inspections...that's so dumb...nobody should ever know if they're on with your high beams or not because your high beams should never be on when you come across an oncoming vehicle anyway. Gotta love the government...catering to the idiots of this world...
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2010, 12:19 PM   #14
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Bobthegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Napa California
Posts: 480
Ya want me to add some fuel to the fire. If you get a triple switch with an "ON-OFF-ON" you can switch to the first on and relay it through the High Beams....then switch to OFF and nothing will come on....or switch to the other ON for direct ON without headlamps (low or high) on. This set-up is waaayyyyy cool.
__________________


I may not be as good for as many times as I once was, but, I'm as good once as I ever was ! ! !
Bobthegod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2010, 12:22 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,916
nevermind

JIMBO

__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
engine light question? wrangler87 TJ Tech Forum 8 10-29-2009 05:56 PM
*help s.o.s* install question??????? jeepmiller09 JK Tech Forum 12 05-08-2009 05:25 PM
dome light install BARKDOG67 TJ Tech Forum 21 04-02-2009 10:43 AM
Fog Light Install. Help! dr.johnod TJ General Discussion Forum 19 11-15-2007 10:50 AM
alternator idiot light question GMR CJ Tech Forum 0 05-30-2007 09:59 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC