Help with Lights - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-28-2012, 03:04 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
eagle223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 515
Help with Lights

Hi all,
I have a pair of KC Slimlites that i have wired correctly according to their provided sheet. I have decided i would like to use a factory fog light switch for a cleaner look and since connecting the wires to the fog switch wiring, my kcs do not work. i was hoping someone would have some helpful info. i have a 98 tj sport that did not have factory fog lights. Also the wires i connected are as follows, the first wire on fog switch is orange and i left that connected to the wires that went into the dummy switch before i got the fog switch. the second wire on the switch i connected to my kc load wire, the third wire from the switch i connected to my kc supply wire, and the fourth wire i connected to my ground wire.
does anyone have any helpful hints so i can get this switch to work?

eagle223 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
If you are not using the relay provided in the KC kit, and you are running the LOAD as you specified above, then you might have burnt out the switch. Did the lights come on at all when you tried the switch?

The other option is that my fog light switch only works when the parking or head lights are on, and the high beams are off. Did you try this?

__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
eagle223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 515
I'm using everything kc provided which includes the relay, I will try with headlights on
eagle223 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 03:55 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
sidewalk0863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peepers View Post

The other option is that my fog light switch only works when the parking or head lights are on, and the high beams are off. Did you try this?
x2, i have factory fog lights, and either the parking lights or headlights must be on without the high beams for the fogs to be on
__________________
2000 Jeep Wrangler Sport
-31" tires
-Aftermarket front and rear bumpers
-Warn 8000 lb. winch

"Of course it isn't perfect, its my Jeep, thats how i like it!"
sidewalk0863 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 04:32 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
eagle223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewalk0863

x2, i have factory fog lights, and either the parking lights or headlights must be on without the high beams for the fogs to be on
I tried with the headlights and there was nothing from my kcs, however I just checked my fuse panel and realized there is a fog lps spot for a 20a, so I may need a fuse.
eagle223 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 06:06 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
RUBI 4 MY MRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California/Nevada
Posts: 1,395
Is there a factory 4 pin connector behind the dummy switch? If so are you using those wires? How is your KC relay wired?
__________________


'05 Rubi TJ Unlimited
'93 Toyota 4Runner
RUBI 4 MY MRS is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:38 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
eagle223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUBI 4 MY MRS
Is there a factory 4 pin connector behind the dummy switch? If so are you using those wires? How is your KC relay wired?
There is a factory 4 pin connector, I'm using the orange wire from that. Then I spliced the kc load, supply, and ground wire into the 2,3,4 spots on the factory 4 pin connector. The kc relay is wired just like their diagram they supply with the lights. So I have a green load wire from the relay, and a white supply wire from the relay. And I have a ground wire as well.
eagle223 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 10:46 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Wheel2Work's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 874
With the key on, check for continuuity from pin 3 to ground (0 ohms), and 12v on pin 4. That will let you know if the switch is wired in correctly. The orange wire is for the dimmer circuit and you are powering you relay from pin 2, so the only thing that can go wrong is that you have the ground and power leads to the switch reversed...
__________________
2000 4.0l Sport, Auto, some mods done - planning more
Wheel2Work is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 11:19 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
RUBI 4 MY MRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California/Nevada
Posts: 1,395
I don't have KCs so I don't know what colors do what but here is what you need to have. At the relay you have a wire from the battery (B+). Then you have the wire going to the light(s). That may be your green wire or that is the B+ from the battery.(?) Those are fine. (Those are normally marked 30 & 87 on the relay.) Now you need a power source to the relay & a ground wire. (Normally 85 & 86) These last 2 are the ones involved in switching. Usually you have the power source from a “key on” source. That may be your white wire.(?)

You have 2 options. 1 - run a power source wire to the relay coil (usually #86 terminal). Run another wire from the other coil terminal (#85) to the #3 terminal on the switch. Then ground the #2 terminal on the switch. OR 2 - run a power source wire to the #3 terminal on the switch & run a wire from the #2 terminal to the #86 relay terminal & a ground wire to the relay #85 terminal. Either way grounding #4 on the switch is needed for the switch lights to work. You can splice the factory black wire back together for that.

Sounds complicated but not really too bad. If it helps, PM me your # & I can talk you through it.
__________________


'05 Rubi TJ Unlimited
'93 Toyota 4Runner
RUBI 4 MY MRS is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-29-2012, 04:17 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Shelby427's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL and Hooversville PA
Posts: 2,131
Maybe I'm a little confused, but in your post you say you are using the KC "load" supply into the stock harness?

If I'm reading it right you are using the stock harness to provide the power (load) to run the lamps. Unless the KC's are 55watt bulbs, the harness won't handle it.

If so you would be far better off to use the switch to run the trigger side of your KC relay only, and provide a separate fused power lead to the relay.

The stock system works that way, the switch triggers the stock relay. The relay is designed/wired to handle the amp load, the switch is not.
__________________
97 Sahara, 74 Renegade, 72 CJ5, 55 Willy's (the Beast) Boss 302, 6:34 gearing, Bose 901 speakers.
God I miss that Jeep. Forgot the kinda Jeep, 80 SX4.
Shelby427 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-29-2012, 06:59 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
eagle223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby427
Maybe I'm a little confused, but in your post you say you are using the KC "load" supply into the stock harness?

If I'm reading it right you are using the stock harness to provide the power (load) to run the lamps. Unless the KC's are 55watt bulbs, the harness won't handle it.

If so you would be far better off to use the switch to run the trigger side of your KC relay only, and provide a separate fused power lead to the relay.

The stock system works that way, the switch triggers the stock relay. The relay is designed/wired to handle the amp load, the switch is not.
I'm using all the kc wiring, just splicing the wires from that into the 4 pin connector on the fog light switch

eagle223 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Issues, Please HELP!!! Life is better in a Jeep TJ General Discussion Forum 7 09-24-2012 09:19 AM
1st time changing the jeep.. Help:) Sahara11ocala WF New Member Check In 10 03-31-2012 08:56 AM
So confused about what I need to clean my top! Please help! Novella78 General Jeep Discussion 9 03-29-2012 08:49 AM
Radio dead.. help Jpxfactor JK General Discussion Forum 5 03-28-2012 08:23 PM
94YJ mechanic overhaul help YJkiddo YJ Tech Forum 4 03-28-2012 02:40 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC