how to put studs in new axle - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-21-2012, 10:19 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
a_springfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 119
how to put studs in new axle

What is the best way to put studs in new axle shafts. My impact does not have the balls to do it I don't think. Would freezing the studs help.

a_springfield is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 10:22 AM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
I have used a small 2 lb. sledge to seat them before I got my impact wrench.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 12:56 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
a_springfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 119
Would that not bend the flange
a_springfield is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_springfield View Post
Would that not bend the flange
No, the flange is stronger than that... it's done like that all the time. Besides, you already need to support the flange when doing that which when supported properly eliminates that possibility.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 01:10 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
neverfastenough1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 925
Put a 1/2 in drive deepwell socket under the flange. It should be long enough for the stud to be pounded all the way in. If not then cut a piece of sturdy pipe long enough. You can also use a press this way too if you have access to one.
neverfastenough1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2012, 02:06 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
ipleadda2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver Metro Area Colorado
Posts: 670
Here is a write-up I did when replacing one of mine. It was fairly easy by hand with a "+" shaped tire iron.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/repl...ud-101777.html

EDIT: I missed that your shaft was new (assuming out of the axle housing).
__________________
Stop thinking and all your problems go away.
- Lao Tzu (from Tao Te Ching) ~500BCE

ipleadda2nd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 09:54 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
a_springfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 119
I could not hammer them in. I had to use a friends impact running 130 psi to get them in and that almost did not do it.
a_springfield is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 10:49 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
kshaws21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northeast Ga. Mountains
Posts: 1,100
My sons 99 had vibration problems he assumed was death wobble and kept driving. Turned out a wheel stud had sheared off and as he kept driving two more came off. When he stopped the wheel was barely hanging on by two studs that were next to each other. Another mile and it would have been bad. I was able to get the old studs out with PB Blaster and a standard household hammer. I put the new ones in by simply placing a large nut over the stud then I put the lugnut on and tightened it with the lugwrench until it was seated. Repeated two more times. Then I took off the lugnut and put the drum back on and all was good. I can't imagine having to use an impact. Just some good elbow grease and a strong back will do the trick. And I did this with the axle in place, all I did was remove the drum. This was all done on the side of the road in about an hour and I'm no mechanic.
kshaws21 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 10:58 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
kshaws21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northeast Ga. Mountains
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_springfield
I could not hammer them in. I had to use a friends impact running 130 psi to get them in and that almost did not do it.
Sounds like you might not have had the splines of the stud aligned properly with the grooves in the hole. Yeah its tight, but the only thing imo that should have made it that hard to go in would be misalignment of the splines.
kshaws21 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshaws21 View Post
Sounds like you might not have had the splines of the stud aligned properly with the grooves in the hole.
Sounds like you have never installed lugs in a new axle. Where do you reckon those grooves come from?
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 11:07 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
a_springfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 119
They were new shafts with virgin holes no pun intended. So there were no groves there
a_springfield is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 11:26 AM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
Strange, I've installed five pairs of new axles shafts over the years and never had any issues installing the new studs.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 11:38 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
kshaws21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northeast Ga. Mountains
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangofox007

Sounds like you have never installed lugs in a new axle. Where do you reckon those grooves come from?
Yep didn't notice the op said NEW axle....
kshaws21 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 11:40 AM   #14
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,483
I never align the splines back up, I always turn um and make new ones so there is no chance of it comming loose.
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 12:02 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
ipleadda2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver Metro Area Colorado
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuildembig View Post
I never align the splines back up, I always turn um and make new ones so there is no chance of it comming loose.
That sounds like a good idea. Any downside to it?
__________________
Stop thinking and all your problems go away.
- Lao Tzu (from Tao Te Ching) ~500BCE

ipleadda2nd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-23-2012, 12:05 PM   #16
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,483
Only that they are harder to seat into place.....but, Ive done it that way for 20 years without issue

Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snow in March?!? Azwrangler Trail Pics 2 05-31-2012 09:48 PM
hello from new mexico! sheri WF New Member Check In 12 03-22-2012 02:13 PM
New to the forum. sprubi05 WF New Member Check In 10 03-22-2012 08:46 AM
New from New York Salladbowl11 WF New Member Check In 5 03-22-2012 01:36 AM
Oil in fuel air filter... MickeYJ YJ Tech Forum 17 03-21-2012 10:40 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC