I have rust! Please Help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-06-2011, 05:56 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
tinkerjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Images: 4
I have rust! Please Help

Ok I had to change a tire today and couldn't get it off. my hubs are rusted bad..... Do I have to get new ones before I can lift?????

__________________
ReAl GIrLS DrIvE StICks
tinkerjeep is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:10 PM   #2
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,645
Images: 5
So did you get the tire off then? As for the hub rust, you can wire bush and paint them. New one's run about 100 each last time I checked. Do they spin free or have bind when you hand turn them?

__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:17 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
tinkerjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Jeepn View Post
So did you get the tire off then? As for the hub rust, you can wire bush and paint them. New one's run about 100 each last time I checked. Do they spin free or have bind when you hand turn them?
yes i had to use a pry bar but got it. everything works fine. i have owned it for a yr and this was the first time i ever had to look at the hubs and i almost cryed.
__________________
ReAl GIrLS DrIvE StICks
tinkerjeep is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:20 PM   #4
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,645
Images: 5
Well if you go to change them. Soak the hub bolts for a few days. There are 3 of them. usually need a breaker bar to get them started turning. Also when you put them back in anti seize them, and the collar the hub fits in. will make it much easier next time or for trail repairs.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:22 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
tinkerjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Images: 4
ok thank you so much im not all sad now
__________________
ReAl GIrLS DrIvE StICks
tinkerjeep is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:21 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
JimM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 86
Put some of that antisiueze on the wheel studs to, and a but around the hub where the wheel fits, it will be much easier to get off next time.

JimM is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frame rust Moojamboo YJ Tech Forum 17 04-11-2011 07:13 AM
Part 1: Rust Fixer Part 2: offroading spots CHICAGOJEEPTHING & Texas YJ General Discussion Forum 2 01-10-2011 09:44 PM
Rust under plate :-( jeepgeek TJ General Discussion Forum 0 01-05-2011 12:05 PM
Must for Rust - Rust Remover copleydad YJ Tech Forum 0 10-29-2009 03:48 PM
PLEASE HELP - Undercarriage Rust/ New buyer question titus319 TJ Tech Forum 3 04-21-2008 04:45 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC