Im an idiot - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-31-2013, 08:34 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
TJ Skip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 142
Im an idiot

So some of you may know I just bought a rampage framless soft top to replace my worn out factory one. Well today after work it was gorgeous out and decided to take the whole top off but as I was doing that guys came over to talk and shoot the bull and I completely forgot about the foam supports that go above the door.... Which are now somewhere on rt 104 I smack my head. Anyways the reason of the post is I've spent the evening trying to find something on the Internet about replacements but had no luck has anyone else had this issue? Or at least know where I can get replacements? Or give me the dimensions of them so I can cut my own? Thanks guys!!!

TJ Skip is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:31 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
TJ Skip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 142
Bump?

TJ Skip is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:54 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
98TJ Wrangler-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 228
Call rampage I'm sure they could get you replacements.
98TJ Wrangler- is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:56 AM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
O_M_Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Central Wyoming
Posts: 1,595
I have a Rampage frameless top and mine has the support rods but I've never used any foam, I was just remembering that it may have come with some, are they grey, about 5" or so wide and a long strip about maybe 1/4" - 1/2" thick?
__________________
There are a million ways to build a Jeep, pick one and do it - you bought a canvas, not a painting!

Click here to support Wranglerforum
Or else the teddy bear gets it
O_M_Jeep is online now   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:06 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
TJ Skip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 142
Yeah you don't use them??? I was thinking about putting it back on without them it doesn't sag??
TJ Skip is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:25 AM   #6
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Csahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bayside, Queens
Posts: 402
I dont use mine. No probs here.
__________________
00 Jeep TJ on 35's and other goodies.
_____________________________
Check out my leather products!
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f37/lea...ck-798690.html

Instagram: Hemlockleather
Csahara is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:28 AM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
O_M_Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Central Wyoming
Posts: 1,595
I have never seen any sagging, my sound bar pushes up a bit however, maybe that takes out any sag that would be there without one, here's a couple pics, one from each side.





I'm not sure if you see sag in these pics, I've never used the foam.

Here's one more pic inside.

__________________
There are a million ways to build a Jeep, pick one and do it - you bought a canvas, not a painting!

Click here to support Wranglerforum
Or else the teddy bear gets it
O_M_Jeep is online now   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:19 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Patrick H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern NM
Posts: 3,136
Just go buy some foam pipe insulation and lay it in up there. I'd guess something like for 3/4" pipe would have a good outside diameter for this.
Patrick H is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:32 AM   #9
Idiot

WF Supporting Member
 
Brit Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 877
So, I had the same problem except my top didnt come with the foam inserts. I tried contacting rampage twice and had nothing back from them.
The biggest difference I have noticed is the wind noise.
If anyone knows what the specs are I would be very interested also
__________________
Today !!! It's a Jeep Day
3.5" RK lift, 5100 Bilsteins, 33 baja mtz, MC arms.
Brit Nick is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:48 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
KBR97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick H View Post
Just go buy some foam pipe insulation and lay it in up there. I'd guess something like for 3/4" pipe would have a good outside diameter for this.
This is exactly what I was thinking and posted before I even saw your suggestion.

Try a few different sizes of foam pipe insulation. If you trim the edges enough I bet it would fit perfect.
KBR97 is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:56 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lagrange
Posts: 124
x2 on the foam pipe insulation. I took the top off one day and forgot about the foam inserts so I went to home depot and bought some pipe insulation and it works just as good
99georgiatj is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 11:09 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Regular foam insulation works well.
Capt_Zoom is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:39 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
TJ Skip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 142
Thanks guys you have more than helped!!!!

TJ Skip is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC