Installing an amp - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-17-2013, 06:22 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Berend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCrave View Post
You can still run an aftermarket amp with the OEM stereo. If you buy an amp, you'll need some high level to RCA connectors unless you buy an amp with high level inputs. (High level = speaker wire, Low level = RCA jack) The OEM radio will still cut your bass output once you turn the volume knob past a certain point due to the processing unit in the radio. An aftermarket radio does not do this. You can buy a cheap radio with a 2 channel selectable RCA output that can change it from running a rear channel to a sub. This would give you front and rear speaker level outputs with a dedicated RCA output for your sub amp.
So buying a new head unit would solve the whole issue?

Berend is offline   Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:49 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berend View Post
So buying a new head unit would solve the whole issue?
A new head unit give you a lot more options and is more or less plug and play with the amp. Look for one with a sub volume control.

n00g7 is offline   Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:08 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 216
I just installed these bad boys (4ch & mono amps) under the dash. Love the clean install and these things are tiny.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2299923473.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	237461   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2689476125.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	112.2 KB
ID:	237462  

Huelsmma is offline   Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 08:54 PM   #34
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Shark_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huelsmma View Post
I just installed these bad boys (4ch & mono amps) under the dash. Love the clean install and these things are tiny.
Damn, those are tiny amps!!
__________________
One-of-a-kind wood shift knobs for sale - $30 shipped

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f37/han...s-1175625.html
Shark_13 is offline   Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:02 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark_13 View Post

Damn, those are tiny amps!!
300x4, 300x1 rms too.

So they push my kicker 10cvt & polk db521s nicely
Huelsmma is offline   Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:18 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
BigCrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 282
A new headunit will help, but if you choose to keep the kicker sub, then you will still need an amp that runs at 4ohms to run your sub.

BigCrave is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
amplifier , installation , subwoofer

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC