Instrument panel works only when brakes pressed - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today

Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on
Old 04-12-2012, 08:17 AM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern Chester County, PA
Posts: 2
Instrument panel works only when brakes pressed

My 2004 Sahara had the shift lever replaced by my local shop. All seemed okay on the short drive (3 miles) home from the shop. However, the next morning it started fine but nothing registers on the instrument panel (rpm's, gas level, etc.) until you press on the brake. When you are driving nothing reads on the panel until you hit the brake. The shop thinks maybe the tow guys that picked it up might have done something...disconnected or reconnected something incorrectly. Any ideas? Thanks.

phillynole is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
jefferyfghezzi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 649
It sounds like when you step on the brakes you are back feeding to the instrument panel. I don't see how the tow guys could have done anything. Why was it towed? Have you or have you had any other other work done lately? I take it this is an automatic. Was everything OK when you picked it up or don't you really KNOW. You said it SEEMED ok. Does this mean you didn't pay attention on the drive home?

jefferyfghezzi is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:56 AM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southern Chester County, PA
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply. It is an automatic and it was towed because the shift lever would not move out of park. The mechanic said the tower had to disconnect something in order to tow it. My son actually drove the car home from the mechanic and did not make me aware of any issues. We noticed the issue yesterday morning and then when he came home from school it was working fine. This morning it was having the problem again. It's near freezing in the morning and much warmer in the afternoon. Could cold weather be affecting something...loose/damaged connection?
phillynole is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 08:58 AM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,753
It sounds like someone disconnected one of the ground wires somewhere and forgot to reconnect it.
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:49 PM   #5
Shelby427's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL and Hooversville PA
Posts: 2,198
Yep agree with Jerry, and it sounds like the shop is trying to throw the blame on the tow guys. You take it back to be fixed and they tell you it wasn't their fault, it was the tow guys and you owe for the fix. You call the tow company, and they tell you there is no way they could have done it, and guess who gets stuck with the bill?

Only other thing could be the main wiring harness is loose and hanging down by the brake pedal, and when you apply the brakes the pedal moves the harness and it makes a connection.
97 Sahara, 74 Renegade, 72 CJ5, 55 Willy's (the Beast) Boss 302, 6:34 gearing, Bose 901 speakers.
God I miss that Jeep. Forgot the kinda Jeep, 80 SX4.
Shelby427 is offline   Quote

2004 jeep wrangler sahara , brake , instrument panels. , shift lever

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC. is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC