Jet performance chip question - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-08-2010, 08:15 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Jet performance chip question

Hi Everyone,
When I purchased my 97 sport, I noticed that it had a JET CHIPS STAGE 2 PERFORMANCE POWER CONTROL MODULE installed. I never paid much attention to it until now. I did some research on it, and it boasts some performance increases, but also states that the use of 91 octane fuel is necessary. I've always used regular to fill up, and am now wondering if I've been doing any damage. I haven't had any issues to date, but just wondering if one lies ahead if I continue this practice. Also, what would be the harm in removing the chip?

Thanks in advance!

Tuff_Mudd is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,033
Remove it they are worthless and use regular fuel.

__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 12:01 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
Upon removal, does the computer need to be reset?
Tuff_Mudd is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 12:04 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,033
Sorry, I do not know. I never use any of those snake oil products. Think of it like this, if they worked why don't the car manufacturers use them. Why not? They don't work that's why.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:33 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuff_Mudd View Post
Upon removal, does the computer need to be reset?
No, the computer will pick up on the changes automatically. I agree on the advice to remove it.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:53 PM   #6
Mmm.. How deep is that?

WF Supporting Member
 
01WranglerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Andalusia Alabama
Posts: 210
Man they got me for sure, remove it! It made my 01 keep throw'n a po123 code that drove me crazy. By the time i finished chase'n the problems with money its just not worth it.

01WranglerGuy is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance Chip stater78 TJ General Discussion Forum 4 03-29-2010 07:13 PM
performance chip amoujaffar YJ Tech Forum 11 08-10-2009 12:01 AM
what is the best performance chip crown13 General Jeep Discussion 7 07-19-2009 10:35 AM
Performance chip question sorrellsjm TJ Tech Forum 22 02-01-2009 09:53 AM
Real Performance Jeep Chip sr9ruger TJ Tech Forum 4 08-22-2008 04:23 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC