Junkyard Cruise Control Install for every TJ - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-13-2011, 12:01 PM   #61
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
This is the connector pinout for C3

young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 12:18 PM   #62
Jeeper
 
rockhard98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: western oregon
Posts: 792
Ok I'm confused, my 98 has cruise. Was this a factory option, or was it model specific?

__________________
:Theory of a dog:
If you can't eat it or screw It, piss on it and walk away!

!Just Empty Every Pocket!
"J-E-E-P"
rockhard98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:00 PM   #63
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Cruise was a factory option on all models. Your ECU controls it. All you have to do is add the wires, buttons, and control servo. The servos are all the same, the wiring and pins are all the same, but the resistance and design of the steering wheel buttons are different across several model years. So if you do this you can source parts from any donor, but the steering wheel parts (buttons, clockspring) need to be from your model year vehicle. I don't know what years overlap exactly, but the only reason they are different is that the wheel changed shape with new airbag designs.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:02 PM   #64
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Also, some TJs came with all the necessary wiring and just need buttons and a servo. While some came with no wiring harness but the right clockspring, and others came with no parts at all. Have no idea why.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:03 PM   #65
Jeeper
 
rockhard98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: western oregon
Posts: 792
So if all models had it, what's the point of how to install it if you already have it
__________________
:Theory of a dog:
If you can't eat it or screw It, piss on it and walk away!

!Just Empty Every Pocket!
"J-E-E-P"
rockhard98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:11 PM   #66
Jeeper
 
rockhard98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: western oregon
Posts: 792
Or wait, all models had it but not all were wired/hooked up?

Think I figured it out, just read your reply wrong. Carry on
__________________
:Theory of a dog:
If you can't eat it or screw It, piss on it and walk away!

!Just Empty Every Pocket!
"J-E-E-P"
rockhard98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:25 PM   #67
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Back to the Connector.
There is a single tab on the side you should push in with a flat-bladed screwdriver to unlock it.
Insert Each wire in its corresponding hole in connector C3

From the Solenoid/ Servo:
Wire 1 (Factory color TN/RD) goes into pin 4
Wire 2 (LG/RD) Pin 5
From the Brake light switch:
Wire 3 (YL/RD) Pin 11
From Clockspring:
Wire C1 from C107 (RD/LB) goes to pin 32
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:28 PM   #68
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Make sure the wire connectors pop into place. Be gentle when you press them in though. They should engage fully, but if you push too hard you may snap one off like I did. You may also curse, kick your jeep really hard, throw in the towel for a while, and go get a beer. Dammit.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:39 PM   #69
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
It took me several hours to figure out just how to remove the broken connector, when it broke I tried to pry it out and pulled out several other wires in the process. At this point you may as well pull them all out, they will never seat properly without guiding them back into place.
My final solution was to place a safety pin through the connector hole and into each individual wire pin end. This allowed me to both guide all the wires into place simultaneously and not have an aneurysm.



Goofy, but it worked.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:42 PM   #70
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Once you get them all lined up and pressed together, press the two blue tabs into place to lock it.
Now plug the connector back into the ECU.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 03:46 PM   #71
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
At this point all you have to do is put some split loom on your wires, zip tie them in place, and reinstall your airbag. You are done! For the sake of completion I'll go through those steps and cover the basic difficulties with those things later this week.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 05:10 PM   #72
Jeeper
 
pwroth58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 65
This thread is Amazing! I want cruise in the worst way for my '97 TJ and now it looks like I will be able to do so! Thanks for this write up!
pwroth58 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2011, 10:30 AM   #73
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
No problem, will finish it up soon. The '97 had a unique steering wheel setup. The controls were built into the wheel cover instead of separate units. Be sure you get the right switches for your vehicle, as they are resistance switches rather than simple "on/off." If you don't get the resistance right then the ECU won't turn the cruise on. This is why I have an extra set of switches and clockspring up for sale soon. I got some off a 1999 jeep and they not only did not fit the shape of the wheel, they didn't communicate with the ECU properly. I was saved by an ebay purchase of the right model year parts.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2011, 05:13 AM   #74
Jeeper
 
Zeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SouthEastern Michigan
Posts: 207
WOW! I'm happy I did'nt have to go thru all that Bull**** to get mine installed.
Luckly I was pre wired!
__________________
JEEP THE AR-15 OF THE AUTOMOTIVE WORLD
Zeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-12-2011, 01:12 PM   #75
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Monument, CO
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by young-blood View Post
You are looking for the cruise control switch wires.

They may lead to the dummy covers where your cruise switches would be.
If you have these GREAT! You don't need a new clockspring. You won't need a steering wheel puller, and you only need parts #1-6. (This is gonna be so cheap for you.)
Anyway of checking for the switch pigtails without removing the steering wheel? I have the pigtail under the hood but don't know if I also have the switch pigtails.

Thanks.
__________________
Rick
2004 Rubicon
boomer49 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2011, 10:47 AM   #76
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Absolutely, just pop out the airbag on older models and look for a green plug, the pigtail will not be there for the switches, it comes with them. If its there it should have the right clockspring for cruise. On newer models there will be prewired pigtails for each switch, all you have to do is remove the dummy switch covers. The airbag can stay in place, but disconnect the battery for safety.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2011, 10:48 AM   #77
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Likely if you have the underhood plug, you have the whole wiring setup. I haven't seen evidence to the contrary in any local junkyard.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-12-2011, 09:48 AM   #78
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spokane
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KP Texan View Post
By "Every TJ" do you mean the '97 models too? It would be really nice to have cruise on my '97 but I remember reading about the omission of a cruise control dash light on my model. This is a cool thread, expecially if it will work for my TJ!

-Wes
First off:
young-blood, thank you so much for taking the time in posting all the necessary information on this topic. I wanted to install cruise on my '97 wrangler (manual trans) so badly but was unsure of what wires to hook up! Despite the fact that the 1997 Wrangler does not have the C107 Firewall plug I was still able to bypass all of the wires into the clockspring and C1/C3 PCM plugs even though almost every other forum says the '97 TJ cannot accept cruise if you dont have an adapter wiring harness.... well this proves them wrong. I was able to find a donor '98 Wrangler Sport (Auto trans) at my local junkyard and with the aid of about 50 pictures I took when removing the cruise system and this fourm I was able to wire it all up in working order So for all those that say you cant put a factory cruise control on a '97 TJ, I'm here to say you can! If anyone needs to know how I did it, I will gladly send you pics and the cliff-note 'install instructions' that made from this forum.
codioos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-15-2011, 10:33 AM   #79
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
So awesome. Glad I could help. Figured there'd be at least one other person out there with this problem and it wasn't easy tracking down all the proper connections. This way no one else has to scour the FSM. Keep wrenching and wiring!
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-10-2011, 01:15 AM   #80
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by young-blood View Post
Be sure you get the right switches for your vehicle, as they are resistance switches rather than simple "on/off." If you don't get the resistance right then the ECU won't turn the cruise on.
Hey what is the resistance on the set that you have from a 99? Not to jack this forum; but perhaps a good reference on what years will work on what years is the icing on this cruise control cake. By the way post for you 04 as well please.
azicafoose is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-10-2011, 02:03 AM   #81
Jeeper
 
00tj2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,204
Wow.. Awesome info... I'm half in the bag and just browsed through it and it's great... I'm the son of a browser once removed... Haha
__________________
I know a lot of things, most of them are only correct in my own head...

Better to be judged by twelve then carried by six. I'm sure this is going to get me in trouble down the line
00tj2 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-12-2011, 09:55 AM   #82
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Unfortunately I don't know the exact resistance needed, but I do know the 1997 models had unique buttons built into the airbag cover. The 1998-2002 models are likely all similar. And the 2003-2006 models definitely have the same kind across all models. Check out the parts fiche and if you are perusing a salvage yard bring your blank button covers off your steering wheel. If the blanks are identical in shape to the buttons you are pulling they will almost certainly work.
Glad this thread has been helpful!
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-12-2011, 09:56 AM   #83
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Also, I am selling an extra clockspring and set of buttons.
Shoot me an offer:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f14/199...ng-105263.html
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-12-2011, 10:01 AM   #84
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by codioos View Post
So for all those that say you cant put a factory cruise control on a '97 TJ, I'm here to say you can! If anyone needs to know how I did it, I will gladly send you pics and the cliff-note 'install instructions' that made from this forum.
I'm really interested in how you got 98 buttons into a 97. Did you replace the whole steering wheel? Or did the airbag cover from a 98 work?
You should totally post your install info here if you can!
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2011, 12:27 PM   #85
Jeeper
 
Sahara509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spokane
Posts: 63
Great post, very helpfull!
Sahara509 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-16-2011, 09:17 AM   #86
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Let me ask a question here. I tested my harness that runs to the clock spring. I could not get the ground or the speed control wires to show no resistance even when clicking cancel (straight ground i believe) the horn works, so now to the question,
Where does the ground on the clock spring wiring harness run through the fire wal?

Or from another perspective, c3 pin 32 is a sensor reciever not a ground so if pin 3 on the clock spring is not wired to ground there is nothing going across wire correct?.
azicafoose is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 11:13 AM   #87
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by azicafoose View Post
Let me ask a question here. I tested my harness that runs to the clock spring. I could not get the ground or the speed control wires to show no resistance even when clicking cancel (straight ground i believe) the horn works, so now to the question,
Where does the ground on the clock spring wiring harness run through the fire wal?

Or from another perspective, c3 pin 32 is a sensor reciever not a ground so if pin 3 on the clock spring is not wired to ground there is nothing going across wire correct?.
Any takers? When I test the line no ground to clockspring, buttons are within required resistance when tested per fsm. Voltage disappears on pin 3 when brake is depressed. Pin 4 is grounded from sc solenoid. The light on the dash does not light up;however, when i do the dash diagnostic the cruise light comes on. What am i missing?
azicafoose is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 11:36 AM   #88
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217
Maybe the buttons are simply bad? They do get subjected to harsh conditions in topless jeeps.

OR

The horn is not included in the sensor ground. It is on its own loop.

The clock spring wiring harness runs to C107 on my vehicle.

A previous poster said he did not have this plug and wired in directly. A few pages back I have a picture of where my plug through the firewall is. There are also full wiring diagrams for my model year jeep. I assume you have a FSM because you mentioned the resistance levels (man that is way more in depth that I had hoped to go) so all I can say is pore over your wiring diagram and see if anything is missing. Sorry I'm not much of a help on this, sounds like a frustrating problem.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 11:42 AM   #89
Jeeper
 
young-blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 217


As you can see, there is a dedicated sensor ground for the Clockspring running through C107. check your ECU plug (C1 Pin 4) and be sure there is a pin there. Perhaps on your Jeep this wasn't included? Or maybe it doesn't run from the plug to the clockspring if it is? Run the whole length of wire and see if you have a section missing.

I would guess that your Cruise light will not illuminate unless the ECU "feels" the buttons. So look for that dedicated ground wire to the ECU. It can't be looped to any other location besides pin 4.
young-blood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-21-2011, 07:22 AM   #90
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Is this install as difficult as it sounds? I am very mechanically inclined and I really want to do this, but I don't want to spend the money on the parts and then get in over my head. I bought a leather steering wheel off ebay and it came with the cruise switches. I have a 2000 model. Young-blood, I may be interested in your extra cruise clock spring and will PM you on it. Let me know if you still have it.

clifsmith is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing cruise control. Ecker786 TJ Tech Forum 2 01-14-2011 01:09 PM
Cruise Control Fuse? PTaylor TJ Tech Forum 7 11-19-2010 09:56 AM
Getting Cruise Control with AW4 AzTJ TJ Tech Forum 3 04-01-2007 03:02 PM
cruise control on a TJ jonthedoctobe TJ General Discussion Forum 2 03-01-2007 10:13 AM
After Market Cruise Control Options Scooby TJ General Discussion Forum 5 02-01-2007 11:23 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC