Just Snapped Front Track Bar Bolt. Where Can I Get New One From? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-05-2012, 05:48 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Duramaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamptons, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,177
Just Snapped Front Track Bar Bolt. Where Can I Get New One From?

While Trying to Find where my Clunking is coming from, I Tried Tightening the Track Bar Bolt (Axle End) and Snapped it.

I just Looked around Quick on Google, and can't Find the Nut or Bolt anywhere.

Does anyone know a Place that has them?

Gotta get this Done ASAP.

__________________
'06 KJ CRD
'06 Ram 2500 Cummins
'07 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Duramaxxed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:09 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
Stock bolt? Go to the hardware store. Not sure if you noticed, but the bolt is a bit smaller than the ID of the bushing sleeve so you need a bolt that can be torqued down tight enough to negate that difference. Go pick up a M10x1.5"x75mm class 12.9 socket head cap screw. While you're at it, I THINK a 3/8" washer ID will fit that bolt tightly so get one of those as well....it may require a little filing to get it to fit but you want that nice tight fit with the washer. Torque that bad boy down tight and you'll be good to go.

OR, you can order up Moog K80777 to replace the stock bushing. It uses a 1/2" bolt so you'll have to drill out the mount to 1/2" and make a new flag nut, which is easy to do if you have some scrap and a welder. You can torque a Grade 8 1/2" nut down real nice and tight....never have to worry about it loosening, moving, or breaking.

Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Duramaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamptons, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,177
What about the Nut?

Can the Stock Nut be Re-Used with the New / Different Bolt?
__________________
'06 KJ CRD
'06 Ram 2500 Cummins
'07 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Duramaxxed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
JimsJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Long Branch NJ
Posts: 1,137
I had a similar problem with a proprietary bolt and I contacted Daves Jeeps and they came thru rather quickly or you could measure up the bolt and try The Bolt Depot. If you need something right away you could pick up a substitute Grade 8 Bolt and nut until you can get the right part.
JimsJeep is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duramaxxed View Post
What about the Nut?

Can the Stock Nut be Re-Used with the New / Different Bolt?
If I'm not mistaken, the stock bolt is M10x1.5 so the stock flag nut will work. The replacement bolt I'm telling you to go buy is stronger and can be torqued down tighter to prevent any movement between it and the bushing sleeve.

There's nothing proprietary or special about that factory bolt. You're upgrading by going with a class 12.9 M10 socket head cap screw. I used one for a long time until I upgraded again to a 1/2" Grade 8 bolt. No movement at the track bar = necessary.
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:49 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Duramaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamptons, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imped View Post
If I'm not mistaken, the stock bolt is M10x1.5 so the stock flag nut will work. The replacement bolt I'm telling you to go buy is stronger and can be torqued down tighter to prevent any movement between it and the bushing sleeve.

There's nothing proprietary or special about that factory bolt. You're upgrading by going with a class 12.9 M10 socket head cap screw. I used one for a long time until I upgraded again to a 1/2" Grade 8 bolt. No movement at the track bar = necessary.
Ok cool. Does me having a JKS Track Bar Change anything or no, since the OE Hardware was Re-Used anyway?
__________________
'06 KJ CRD
'06 Ram 2500 Cummins
'07 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Duramaxxed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
JKS uses a factory Clevite bushing so no, that changes nothing.
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 07:00 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Duramaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamptons, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,177
Alright. I'll Hit the Hardware Store Tomorrow and See what I can Find.

Thanks!
__________________
'06 KJ CRD
'06 Ram 2500 Cummins
'07 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Duramaxxed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 07:05 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Imped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,269
Not a problem....just a heads up, Lowes and HD didn't have the bolt. Go somewhere like Ace Hardware....they have a REAL hardware section.
Imped is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 07:26 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Duramaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hamptons, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imped View Post
Not a problem....just a heads up, Lowes and HD didn't have the bolt. Go somewhere like Ace Hardware....they have a REAL hardware section.
I got an Ace or True Value not even 2 Miles from my House. That's where I was Planning on goin.
__________________
'06 KJ CRD
'06 Ram 2500 Cummins
'07 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
Duramaxxed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 07:48 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
calkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hesperia, Ca
Posts: 56
I broke one on the trail and used a bolt from my Hi-Lift jack to get me home. Not really a great idea for a long term fix.
calkid is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2012, 08:16 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,060
I replaced my stock bolt with a Class 12.9 socket head cap screw. it'll take quite a bit more torque than the stock 10.9....

Busted track bar bolt fix

UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just front locker? 123 TJ General Discussion Forum 26 03-06-2012 03:31 PM
New to WF Rafikie WF New Member Check In 11 03-06-2012 08:03 AM
new here sloan WF New Member Check In 8 03-06-2012 06:11 AM
New from the STL dd396 WF New Member Check In 10 03-06-2012 03:42 AM
just ordered BigSkyJK WF New Member Check In 7 03-06-2012 03:35 AM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC