kc daylighters - am i doing something stupid? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-20-2012, 05:27 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
kc daylighters - am i doing something stupid?

So im having a hard time with the wiring for my KC daylighter kit.

Here ive got the relay


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120820_152424.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	152145

And no matter how hard and evenly i push i cant get the thing to click in, am i doing something wrong?

Also, the kit came with this fuse looking blue piece with only one connector on it.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120820_152512.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	152147

I have absolutely no clue what this is or where it goes and cant find any information on it. Does anyone else know?

Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 06:06 PM   #2
OIIIIIO

WF Supporting Member
 
T2000J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 887
Thats all the further I got mine on too have not had any problems .
The blue part (I dont know the name of it) is a wire conector . with it you dont have to splice any wires it gose around the wire and the wire you are splicing then push the clip down and your hooked up

__________________


JEEP WRANGLER
T2000J is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 06:14 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by T2000J
Thats all the further I got mine on too have not had any problems .
The blue part (I dont know the name of it) is a wire conector . with it you dont have to splice any wires it gose around the wire and the wire you are splicing then push the clip down and your hooked up
Im about to take some channel locks to it to see if I can get it on a little better. If not ill just wrap it in electrical tape i guess. I thought thing would connect a little better being that I used a prefabbed kit.

As for the wire splicing, i plan to run the white line back to my battery - so i guess no splicing and no blue component for me, thanks!
Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 06:28 PM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
scott howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: wichita falls texas
Posts: 1,035
the blue thing is called a quick connect splice and they are crap and will be the weak
link in the wiring. It will corrode and and fail.
strip the wire they want you to use that on and solder the two together and use heat shrink to cover, protect and seal.
do the job right once it will pay off even if you never think about it again.

apply dielectric grease to the relay to help with the fit and to again protect from corrosion and water proofing.
__________________
Scott Howard
940-444-1972
scott howard is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 09:37 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 468
Is there a place where I can only get the wiring harness? I have the KC Daylighter 6 inch 130 watt lights but no harness the PO had them installed but never completed the wiring. I just need the harness not the lights or brackets.
rubiconvict05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 09:47 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
LilYeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South Florida U.S.A
Posts: 2,590
Any of the major off road retailers will have a wire harness for those lights. It doesnt have to be from KC it just has to be rated for the 130 watt lights.

To the OP that relay should go on there nice and tight. I would take the relay out and check to see if one of the connectors inside the wire portion isnt lined up correctly. There are little metal clips that those tabs from the relay go into and it seems like maybe one of them isnt lined up.
__________________

Random Guy: "Is there anywhere that thing cant go?"
Me: "Yea, past a gas station..."

Build thread: My Lil' Yeller Jeep, Paracord Grab handles ~ how to make your own
Keep on Jeepin on!
LilYeller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 09:50 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 468
Ok thanks lilYeller I will be looking.
rubiconvict05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-20-2012, 10:09 PM   #8
Dew
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 473
sccrbrg, put some elbow grease into it. I had the same problem with my KC relay and had to push the two pieces together really good to get it to seat into place. I don't know why they made it so tight fitting.

I didn't use the little blue splice piece. You are supposed to splice your supply wire to your headlight + supply wire so that the KC's only work when you are using your headlights. I just hot wired the supply line to the 12V + terminal so I could use the KC's with my battery and headlights off.
Dew is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 12:20 AM   #9
Yipeee Kay Ayyy

WF Supporting Member
 
Wesboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,965
I didn't use the blue splice thing either.

I did a CHEAT.
Pulled the connector off the back of the headlight, poked the white wire in the slot for the highbeam and pushed the connector back on. With the wire in the slot, the connector had to be pushed back on with some authority.
I still have a seperate switch (and relay) for the KC's but the headlights need to be switched on to use them.

This isn't the best pic but you should get the idea.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KC connect.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	152260  
Wesboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 12:22 AM   #10
Yipeee Kay Ayyy

WF Supporting Member
 
Wesboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubiconvict05 View Post
Is there a place where I can only get the wiring harness? I have the KC Daylighter 6 inch 130 watt lights but no harness the PO had them installed but never completed the wiring. I just need the harness not the lights or brackets.
Jeep 4x4 Center Search Results
Wesboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 12:51 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilYeller
Any of the major off road retailers will have a wire harness for those lights. It doesnt have to be from KC it just has to be rated for the 130 watt lights.

To the OP that relay should go on there nice and tight. I would take the relay out and check to see if one of the connectors inside the wire portion isnt lined up correctly. There are little metal clips that those tabs from the relay go into and it seems like maybe one of them isnt lined up.
Thanks, thats what i had thought initially but when i checked nothing looked out of place. Going to try a little dielectric grease on it and see how that works
Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 12:54 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dew
sccrbrg, put some elbow grease into it. I had the same problem with my KC relay and had to push the two pieces together really good to get it to seat into place. I don't know why they made it so tight fitting.

I didn't use the little blue splice piece. You are supposed to splice your supply wire to your headlight + supply wire so that the KC's only work when you are using your headlights. I just hot wired the supply line to the 12V + terminal so I could use the KC's with my battery and headlights off.
Yeah me either, i was pushing so hard I was concerned I was going to snap what was left of the exposed poles and be hosed.

Had to run the wiring up inside of my MBRP bull bar which was a pain in and of itself, so I put it down until i could get some grease on it to save myself that headache a second time around
Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 12:56 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 468
Thank you for the search results... this is why I love this forum!!!!
rubiconvict05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2012, 02:16 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott howard
apply dielectric grease to the relay to help with the fit and to again protect from corrosion and water proofing.
Worked like a charm, thanks!

Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC