Kill switch - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-27-2014, 09:00 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Focke Wulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 150
Kill switch

For a while, I have been thinking about installing a kill switch in my jeep so when I park my baby in the summer topless and door less, some punk will not steal her by hot wiring. Here is my problem: where should the switch be located? could install it in the driver's side but I'm worried that if someone looks under the steering wheel, they will see it and switch it. So... Ideas?*

Focke Wulf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 09:04 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
fourpointzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corrupt State, NJ
Posts: 83
Read it somewhere on the web: UP, inside the glove box, where you have to 'feel' for it. I'm debating where to install one as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focke Wulf View Post
For a while, I have been thinking about installing a kill switch in my jeep so when I park my baby in the summer topless and door less, some punk will not steal her by hot wiring. Here is my problem: where should the switch be located? could install it in the driver's side but I'm worried that if someone looks under the steering wheel, they will see it and switch it. So... Ideas?*

__________________
One ball. One life.
fourpointzero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 09:24 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Owen_TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,753
I was thinking of installing mine today so if i get around to it i'll post a little write up/how to as well as the location...
Owen_TJ is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 10:24 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Owen_TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,753
Yeah...didnt quite get to it today.

Maybe tomorrow or saturday lol.
Owen_TJ is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 10:46 PM   #5
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Sinister6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 4,490
I'm doing a kill switch hidden in...it wouldn't be hidden if I tell you now would it? AND I'm also doing the gps locator...so if they do take I can track them and well...you get the idea.

GPS Vehicle Tracking | GPS Car Tracker | Auto GPS Tracking
__________________
The Wolf is not concerned with the opinion of sheep.

MY BUILD: :
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/si...ad-235526.html
Sinister6 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 11:16 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinister6 View Post
I'm doing a kill switch hidden in...it wouldn't be hidden if I tell you now would it? AND I'm also doing the gps locator...so if they do take I can track them and well...you get the idea.

GPS Vehicle Tracking | GPS Car Tracker | Auto GPS Tracking
Neat idea but $30 a month seems a bit steep.
eyeball is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 11:45 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 5,036
Images: 1
Power to ignition "kill" switch

Starter Kill

Kill switch

Sometimes "hiding" in plain sight is best.
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 04:46 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
mmmanimalfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 293
There are two avenues of thought here, a place like the glovebox or center console (because they lock) or disguise the switch to be something that it isn't. For example a labeled oem style switch in an oem location.
...or just put it wherever.
Good luck!
mmmanimalfat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 06:39 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Drg82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 94
When I installed mine i put it where i thought it wuold be discreet enough to keep hidden, yet close enough so that when I throw the switch I am not reaching across the jeep either. I kept it on the drivers side and sometimes I forget I flipped it and then I laugh cause I think it wont start lol.
__________________
-David
'99 TJ
Drg82 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 07:07 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
4lowco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 172
How about in line with the switch on the clutch linkage if it's a manual? That's where I'm thinking of putting one. A thief would never find it and it's easily reached.
__________________
Buy nice, not twice.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic165148_1.gif
4lowco is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 07:11 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 179
Look up threads about " magnetic reed switch"
I consider this a good and easy to do.
__________________
"81-84" Semper-Fi
IUOE 18
Ravenworks is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 07:28 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Drg82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 94
I found this thread below very helpful in my decision to install. you can tap in anywhere from a fusebox to getting serious with a reed switch. I used a simple switch and went in through my ASD. Fun little mod to give you piece of mind while your rig is open.

Updated – TJ Theft Protection ADE/ADE-II w/Light Chaos
__________________
-David
'99 TJ
Drg82 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 09:31 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,786
You can also get a switch that uses a key. Find one that let you remove the key in both poistions.

This is not ignation, you turn off a different circuit.

Also, any extra wiring that you do, make it blend in with the existing vehicle wiring so it's not easy to find if they go looking.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 10:17 AM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,557
What about a hidden switch in the roll bar padding? There would be extra wiring to get it up there, but it would be hidden, out of the way and you chould push it when you are getting in and not have to be fumbling around in the glovebox or console each time you have to push it. Seems like it would get old quick to me, but I never really thought about doing this before.
__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 10:53 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
LukeEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 579
Wire it to an unused button............such as cruise control hah
LukeEC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 01:54 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
quadman14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4lowco View Post
How about in line with the switch on the clutch linkage if it's a manual? That's where I'm thinking of putting one. A thief would never find it and it's easily reached.
I did this when my safety switch broke. Desided on this because they want way
to much for that stupid little part. Works great as long as I remember to hit the switch.
__________________
06 Wrangler Unlimited LJ dual tops/rear seat out, Old Man EMU 2.5 suspention w/EMU shocks,JKS quick discos, 44 rear, 30 front,6 speed, 373's, 4.0L. 31/10.5/15, 8K winch upfront and my first Jeep
quadman14 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 03:56 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Crown King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 23
On my old F-250 I wired it so that I had to hold the "Set" button for the cruise control that was located on the steering wheel to crank it. A hassle at the car wash or valet, you had to tell the guy how to start it to get it out of the way, but otherwise very effective. I'm not saying what you have to push on my Jeep to get it to crank, but you get the idea...
__________________
'04 Wrangler, 4.0L, Auto, 4" Pro Comp, Camburg Quick D's, Airaid, Magnaflow, 33" Goodyear Dura Tracs on Mickey T's, Warn Bumpers, Big Fenders, SS Dif Covers, etc...
Crown King is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 09:16 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 93
Can I cut the wire described in the ADE install instructions and just use the factory rear defroster switch as a on / off kill switch? will it handle the load? if so what size wire would I use?
my 2004 X used to have a hard top and now only has a soft top so not using the switch
gcan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 09:42 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Drg82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 94
I by no means am an expert on electrical junk, but i would imagine the defroster switch could handle at least 10amps. I went with a 16 or 18 ga wire, cant quite remember. Should be sufficient for your needs.
__________________
-David
'99 TJ
Drg82 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 10:19 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
doolyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 319
I think my PO put one in. There is a little toggle switch under the drivers side that I don't know what it is. I have never flipped it, too scared it might be a self destruct switch or Thermal Nuclear War switch.
doolyd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 12:37 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
mmmanimalfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drg82 View Post
I by no means am an expert on electrical junk, but i would imagine the defroster switch could handle at least 10amps. I went with a 16 or 18 ga wire, cant quite remember. Should be sufficient for your needs.
You would have to do some work with the switch itself. I'm not sure about jeeps, but most rear defrost systems are on a timer, meaning that when pressed the system is turned on and after a specific time, the system shuts off. For an ignition dissable, you would want a straight on/off switch. You could always use something to trigger a relay to send power to your ignition or starter.
For example, if you have ac, you could use the oem ac button to trigger a relay to send power to your starter. This way the vehicle will only start if the ac is on. Once the vehicle is started, you can turn the ac off. Obviously, in the summer months, if you leave the ac on, the jeep will just start normally, but you get the drift.
Good luck!
mmmanimalfat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 05:39 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 93
my thought was to use just the switch, disconnect whatever wires are running to it, since I no longer have a hard top, and just run the wire recommended by for the ADE to the switch.....if that would work?
gcan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 06:02 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Virus692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 534
Send a message via AIM to Virus692 Send a message via Yahoo to Virus692
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcan View Post
my thought was to use just the switch, disconnect whatever wires are running to it, since I no longer have a hard top, and just run the wire recommended by for the ADE to the switch.....if that would work?
The "timer" is in the defrost switch...
Virus692 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 06:29 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
mmmanimalfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 293
Don't Limit yourself to the defrost switch.
Say you used your horn button to trigger a relay to show your starter constant 12v. You would have to press your horn to start your vehicle. While no one ever would think to to this. If they did, you vehicles horn would go off while it was being stolen.
Good luck!
mmmanimalfat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 06:33 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
itscakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 271
I would have to search fourm but saw someone installed something to their fuel pump so they where able to start up and take off but after few seconds jeep shut off and otherwise useless to them. I'll search later tonight if I get a chance.
itscakes is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 06:33 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 93
sorry , didn't know that..... how about using the rear wiper switch, it's right beside the defrost switch
gcan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 07:23 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
mmmanimalfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcan View Post
sorry , didn't know that..... how about using the rear wiper switch, it's right beside the defrost switch
this would work well. Use the rear wiper to trigger a relay to deliver 12v power to your starter. You are on to something now.
mmmanimalfat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-03-2014, 06:10 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 93
I'm no electrician....will the stock rear wiper rocker switch handle the amps if I splice into the harness and run a wire to it much like the AED set up?

Any advise or direction would be greatly appreciated
gcan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-03-2014, 07:25 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
Drg82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmanimalfat View Post
Don't Limit yourself to the defrost switch. Say you used your horn button to trigger a relay to show your starter constant 12v. You would have to press your horn to start your vehicle. While no one ever would think to to this. If they did, you vehicles horn would go off while it was being stolen. Good luck!
I like the idea so i rewired mine. To start my rig now i gotta put the parking lights on, honk the horn 3 times while holding my windshield washer fluid for 4 seconds. Then turn the key the first time i tried to start it it was not working, then i remembered i had my original kill switch engaged lol. All jokes aside i like the creativity. Going through the cruise control or the horn would be neat. Again i just did a plain jane toggle switch, but it works
__________________
-David
'99 TJ
Drg82 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-03-2014, 07:42 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Alula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 161
All good ideas ... But what is it actually doing, preventing the starter from cranking the motor..

If this is the case, then they can get the Jeep to run down the hill and pop the clutch for example .... Or am I missing something here

Alula is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC