Lights - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-19-2012, 11:24 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
KSigma_TJ is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Lights

I'm adding a light-bar to my jeep, i already have 6 KC's for it, wiring and connectors. I've hooked up more lights on my jeep already but i was wondering if i needed to add fuses in the wiring, and i'm guessing if i should add them it would be the positive wire.

also if anyone has any tips on how i should wire the light-bar feel free to add.
(note: i know KC's come with wiring, but all i have are the lights themselves, so im buying the materials i need for the project)
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:09 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
blue6tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 550
blue6tj is on a distinguished road
I added an extra "Painless" fuse box to my Jeep and I always use the proper wiring harness also. I run 1 wire harness for every 2 light except for my hood lights (3 lights) which I run lights off 1 wire harness/switch. If I was running 6 lights on a light bar then I would put in a 6 fuse box, and run 2 or 3 switches (witch means 2 or 3 wire harnesses) so you have different light combinations that you can run depending on what, and how much light you need... Switch 1, lights 1 and 6. Switch 2, lights 2 and 5. Switch 3, lights 3 and 4. Post some pic's when its all done... Good luck!

__________________
[B]2006 Jeep Unlimited RE Express 4 1/2" Lift, JKS 1.25" BL, 37x14.50R15, Toyo Open Country Tires, Tom Woods Drive Shafts, SYE Kit, D30/D44 4.88 Gears, Warn 8000 lb Winch, Cobra CB, Viair On-Board Air, Bushwacker Flat Fenders, and Lots of light
blue6tj is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 09:31 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 2,522
sparky is on a distinguished road
You may or may not need additional fusing, but you should have a relay for each set of lights.

All positive leads are fused.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 01:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
KSigma_TJ is on a distinguished road
Thanks guys, I'm going to be hooking it all up in about 2-3 weeks when I get home, and I'll be sure to post pictures after
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 01:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
KSigma_TJ is on a distinguished road
Talking all done

i decided on only putting 4 KC's on the light bar, i still might go back later and add more but i think i'll have enough lights for a while
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MY TJ.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	150207  
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Burnt orange tj is on a distinguished road
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
Burnt orange tj is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Sccrbrg is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt orange tj
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
Oh geeze. Im havinh a hard enough time with the pre-wired harness. I'm not surr id have the patience to wire it from scratch lol
Sccrbrg is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:51 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 327
Flashole is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt orange tj View Post
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
I posted this in another thread, but this is an easy to understand diagram. I'm an electrical idiot, so I need simple diagrams like this

As you can see, the difference between a 2post switch and a 3post switch is the indicator light.

You can buy a wiring kit with everything you need already in it, or you can just piece it all together. I was hooking up 4 switches in a row, so it was a whole lot cheaper for me to just piece it all together. All you really need is a 30/40 amp relay, an inline 20 amp fuse, wire and connectors.

__________________
American by the grace of God,
Conservative through the power of intellect.
Flashole is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:08 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
BLK00TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,194
BLK00TJ is on a distinguished road
Somebody afraid of the dark? That's a crap-load of lights there!
__________________
Wheel. Break/Test. Repair/Upgrade. Repeat
BLK00TJ's YouTube Channel -- BLK00TJ's Build
BLK00TJ is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:43 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Brit Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 900
Brit Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK00TJ View Post
Somebody afraid of the dark? That's a crap-load of lights there!


Do you run them all off the battery, or do you have/need an alternate power source ?
__________________
Today !!! It's a Jeep Day
3.5" RK lift, 5100 Bilsteins, 33 baja mtz, MC arms.
Brit Nick is offline   Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
KSigma_TJ is on a distinguished road
@ Brit Nick: i run all of them off my battery, i have a 14V Military grade optima yellow top.

@burnt orange tj: KC has all their wiring diagrams on their website, i think they're under support. i wired all those lights from scratch and it took about 3 hours, including the lightbar and bracket installation. it's really not as scary as you think.
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
ad-man is on a distinguished road
So could a person take a terminal strip like the one by the battery, put it under the dash and so all the wiring there? Would you still need the relay's? How about power ti the strip, would you need to relay that or just run a big wire strip to strip?
Does that make sense?

ad-man is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
lightbar , lights , wrangler tj

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC