Lights - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-19-2012, 11:24 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Thumbs up Lights

I'm adding a light-bar to my jeep, i already have 6 KC's for it, wiring and connectors. I've hooked up more lights on my jeep already but i was wondering if i needed to add fuses in the wiring, and i'm guessing if i should add them it would be the positive wire.

also if anyone has any tips on how i should wire the light-bar feel free to add.
(note: i know KC's come with wiring, but all i have are the lights themselves, so im buying the materials i need for the project)

KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2012, 04:09 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
blue6tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 550
I added an extra "Painless" fuse box to my Jeep and I always use the proper wiring harness also. I run 1 wire harness for every 2 light except for my hood lights (3 lights) which I run lights off 1 wire harness/switch. If I was running 6 lights on a light bar then I would put in a 6 fuse box, and run 2 or 3 switches (witch means 2 or 3 wire harnesses) so you have different light combinations that you can run depending on what, and how much light you need... Switch 1, lights 1 and 6. Switch 2, lights 2 and 5. Switch 3, lights 3 and 4. Post some pic's when its all done... Good luck!

__________________
[B]2006 Jeep Unlimited RE Express 4 1/2" Lift, JKS 1.25" BL, 37x14.50R15, Toyo Open Country Tires, Tom Woods Drive Shafts, SYE Kit, D30/D44 4.88 Gears, Warn 8000 lb Winch, Cobra CB, Viair On-Board Air, Bushwacker Flat Fenders, and Lots of light
blue6tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2012, 09:31 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,786
You may or may not need additional fusing, but you should have a relay for each set of lights.

All positive leads are fused.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2012, 01:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks guys, I'm going to be hooking it all up in about 2-3 weeks when I get home, and I'll be sure to post pictures after
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-14-2012, 01:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Talking all done

i decided on only putting 4 KC's on the light bar, i still might go back later and add more but i think i'll have enough lights for a while
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MY TJ.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	150207  
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-24-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
Burnt orange tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2012, 01:21 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt orange tj
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
Oh geeze. Im havinh a hard enough time with the pre-wired harness. I'm not surr id have the patience to wire it from scratch lol
Sccrbrg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2012, 09:51 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt orange tj View Post
I am having an issue with two kc lights I don't have the wiring harness for them only the lights. They are windshield mounted and I have a 40amp relay and a regular two prong silver switch. How should I wire these up to make them work properly. All comments would be greatly appreciated.
I posted this in another thread, but this is an easy to understand diagram. I'm an electrical idiot, so I need simple diagrams like this

As you can see, the difference between a 2post switch and a 3post switch is the indicator light.

You can buy a wiring kit with everything you need already in it, or you can just piece it all together. I was hooking up 4 switches in a row, so it was a whole lot cheaper for me to just piece it all together. All you really need is a 30/40 amp relay, an inline 20 amp fuse, wire and connectors.

__________________
American by the grace of God,
Conservative through the power of intellect.
Flashole is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2012, 10:08 AM   #9
Creepy Crawler

WF Supporting Member
 
BLK00TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,194
Somebody afraid of the dark? That's a crap-load of lights there!
__________________
Wheel. Break/Test. Repair/Upgrade. Repeat
BLK00TJ's YouTube Channel -- BLK00TJ's Build
BLK00TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2012, 01:43 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Brit Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK00TJ View Post
Somebody afraid of the dark? That's a crap-load of lights there!


Do you run them all off the battery, or do you have/need an alternate power source ?
__________________
Today !!! It's a Jeep Day
Brit Nick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
@ Brit Nick: i run all of them off my battery, i have a 14V Military grade optima yellow top.

@burnt orange tj: KC has all their wiring diagrams on their website, i think they're under support. i wired all those lights from scratch and it took about 3 hours, including the lightbar and bracket installation. it's really not as scary as you think.
KSigma_TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
So could a person take a terminal strip like the one by the battery, put it under the dash and so all the wiring there? Would you still need the relay's? How about power ti the strip, would you need to relay that or just run a big wire strip to strip?
Does that make sense?

ad-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
lightbar , lights , wrangler tj

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC