More stock X questions... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-02-2007, 08:06 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
STERLING-WRANGLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
More stock X questions...

what size lift would be needed to sport 31's with no rubbing. 3" high enough? Would a stock X support this?
Thanks, you guys are full of info. I need it. haha

STERLING-WRANGLER is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2007, 08:12 PM   #2
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
I think 2" would be enough - a simple B(budget)B(boost) would do the trick.

Like this - says up to 32" tires.

AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2007, 08:25 PM   #3
Extremely Humble

WF Lifetime Member
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Midland Texas
Posts: 11,549
Images: 12
With a 2" BB you should be able to clear 31's with no problems. You could possibly run 33's later on if you added a 1" BL. Just make sure you get the correct length shocks.
__________________

|
|

03 Rubicon | 36" Iroks | Chromo D44's w/Rear Spool | 5.5" RK LA | 5.13s | Armored Head to Toe
Scout is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2007, 09:22 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
kg4kpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,765
Send a message via Yahoo to kg4kpg
You can run without lift and just adjust the steering stops out a little. Of course, lifted jeeps look cooler.
__________________
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e96/kg4kpg/f712f48bae526a2b13f30e6601f3433d_zps089056bf.jpg
kg4kpg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2007, 10:51 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pahrump Nevada
Posts: 1,241
mr4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 12:30 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 185
You dont have to lift your jeep at all. I have 31's procomp mt's with no lift and i didnt even have to adjust my steering stops. I even have friends that have run 32's without a lift. You will have no problems with the 31's
Wr@ngler00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 02:07 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 44
If you are getting into offroading where you want to disconnect the front swaybar, you need 2 inches to allow for full flex.

I have a 2" spring lift and had to adjust bumpstops to keep the 31's out of the fenders when disconnected.
kingvm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 02:48 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pahrump Nevada
Posts: 1,241
Im running a 3in. lift with 33's and I dont rub at full flex
unless I turn I rub the flare a little but I hardly notice
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	1020   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	1021  

mr4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 04:09 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
STERLING-WRANGLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
Is a cold air intake worth it? Whats the advantages?
STERLING-WRANGLER is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 04:29 PM   #10
Extremely Humble

WF Lifetime Member
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Midland Texas
Posts: 11,549
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by STERLING-WRANGLER View Post
Is a cold air intake worth it? Whats the advantages?

I noticed a slight difference with my AEM. Not enough to justify the cost. I wouldn't do it again on my next Jeep.

I'd say save the money and spend it elsewhere.
__________________

|
|

03 Rubicon | 36" Iroks | Chromo D44's w/Rear Spool | 5.5" RK LA | 5.13s | Armored Head to Toe
Scout is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 06:11 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
shaggy105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Yes I agree, waste of money
__________________
98 TJ Sport 4.0L Auto
Dick Cepek DC-1 15X8 rims w/ 31X11.50 MTX's
shaggy105 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 06:28 PM   #12
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by STERLING-WRANGLER View Post
Is a cold air intake worth it? Whats the advantages?
The better air flow for air/fule mixture, but it wont give you much more power in a Jeep. Plus they make your Jeep a little ouder
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 06:50 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
jeeperx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 353
i put on both the throttle body spacer and cold air on my o4 4.0 and with both noticed a significant differance in performance and slight mpg but if you dont like alot of noise i wouldnt do it
maybe i just like the sound and think its performing better? but for only 225.00 i like it!
jeeperx2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 07:03 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
RioGrande95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
I noticed a fair difference installing the AEM cold air on my 4 banger.
__________________
I own a Rubicon, its on layaway with Quadratec...on a part-by-part basis
RioGrande95 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2007, 09:22 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pahrump Nevada
Posts: 1,241
I noticed a diffrence but I did the bigger throttle body and a high flo cat and exhuast with two & a half in. pipe
all at the same time
noticed the power right a way
mr4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-09-2007, 09:46 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
FuzzyDolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Williamsville, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 80
You can fit 31's stock, but a 2"BB will give it a more aggressive look. Also, if you go for the lift first, you can go right for a set of 32's. They're not that much more expensive than 31's. You might have some rubbing at full turn.
__________________
Joe
05 TJ X
Do what you like, like what you do!

www.wnyoffroad.com
FuzzyDolly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-09-2007, 10:20 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
navy-jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lemoore, Ca
Posts: 27
I ran 31's on my stock X for a couple of weeks prior to installing my lift kit.
I know have the RE 3.5 Super Flex kit installed.

Navy-Jeepster
navy-jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-10-2007, 04:24 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
STERLING-WRANGLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
Hey Navy, see you are in CA. Enlisted or officer? Here on the east coast for now. I hear good things about the west though.
I am a BM2 on USS DONALD COOK.
STERLING-WRANGLER is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-10-2007, 06:43 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 138
well the intakes are not exactly a mod to give you alot of power. they just help other mods work better. most of them cost like 250 so they are not that expensive. unless you get one of those 450 jobs you see sometimes. look at it like this, what is the point in say a throttle body spacer and a big bore throttle body if they are still sucking air through that tiny little factory snorkel? their main advantage is what some others have already mentioned, fuel economy, they do help a bit. but the reason i didnt get a cold air kit, especially with the cone filter setup is water. you drive a jeep, if you do not encounter water somewhere something is wrong, lol. i know they are oiled but that will not keep water out. i have seen many cars with cai's stall out just from running through puddles that were too deap. so i went and got the k&n filter for my stock air box, and plan to add a snorkel. thats just my take on it anyway
RedWrangX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2007, 07:22 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
STERLING-WRANGLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
my front axle has a metal drain plug. does this mean i have the Dana 44?
STERLING-WRANGLER is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2007, 08:40 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by STERLING-WRANGLER View Post
my front axle has a metal drain plug. does this mean i have the Dana 44?
nope. the front 30 uses a metal one. you have a dana 30.

mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently asked questions about the YJ Iquois YJ General Discussion Forum 11 09-03-2011 07:07 PM
Tire rubbing? '95 YJ Sahara Stock Wheels DaveC YJ General Discussion Forum 7 06-28-2009 11:09 PM
TFI Upgrade (good write-up) Justin YJ Tech Forum 1 11-19-2007 01:04 PM
stock 06 tj rear bumper, k&n filter w/ stock box (MD) RedWrangX Classifieds Archive 9 10-02-2007 09:56 AM
A Few Questions SolLess TJ General Discussion Forum 3 10-03-2005 01:03 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC