new lights in the cluster but... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-07-2009, 10:04 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
new lights in the cluster but...

I successfully installed my new LED's into my cluster, well, almost... all of the guage lights work properly. However I decided to also replace the bulbs of the turn signals. When I plugged the cluster back into the wire harness the the right signal started to blink rapidly. as did the entire cluster. i moved the harness around and got the entire cluster to be solid however neither signal in the cluster will work. the turn lights outside work fine. check the fuse and it was fine... maybe the relay?

Also, tried to do the HVAC lights, there are two, i switched them both, heard a crack, could smell some electric burn fumes and what do you know, the lights wouldnt work. the first bulb was burnt when i took it back out to inspect it. I switched back to the originals and still nothing. Checked the HVAC fuse box, and the fuse looked fine. Whats going on here?

can never be as simple as you'd like....

kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:07 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
would that repair manual that they sell in VIP, advance auto, autozone etc. for the wrangler have the solution to this stuff?

kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:09 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Ej132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 136
I'm new to jeeps so I can't help you much but could something be not connecting on the harness? I want to do this some day any pics? Hope this might help.
Ej132 is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:42 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
i have pics coming tomorrow! check again in the evening time and they'll be up. i went with blue and super white.
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:53 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Joshpfeffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 86
I did all blue LEDs in all of mine. But I didn't swap my turn signal lights. I'm not sure why it would act like that. When I set my new bulbs in the HVAC, they were really light Neowedge bulbs, and they would just set down on the metal contacts and you could see if they were working or not. I want to say I had 3 of those in my HVAC though, so I don't think we have the same style of HVAC controls. I'm sorry to hear that it didn't go so great. I did mine in an hour or so and everything went perfectly.

Search for Interior Lighting for a great write up. I think BlackToothGrin did it, but I could be mistaken. That goes for both of you. It's a great write up to go by for when you do it, and he also had some minor issues with electrical stuff when he did his. Maybe it would help you both?
__________________
Joshpfeffer is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 06:11 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
ya its blacktooth who started that thread... that's how I found out about the idea. I didn't remember anything touching upon fuses and turn signal issues when I read it though. I might have missed it somewhere in that 4 page thread.
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:37 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
meyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dover, New Hampshire
Posts: 738
If the signal is real fast, usually means a bad bulb or a grounding issue. Sounds like you might have knocked some wires lose. Check your wires and make sure they are all tight in the plugs, you can use a small screwdriver or a big unbent paperclilp to push the wires back in back in to where they should seat in the plugs.
meyers is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:28 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ej132 View Post
I'm new to jeeps so I can't help you much but could something be not connecting on the harness? I want to do this some day any pics? Hope this might help.
new thread:http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/inte...2-a-31800.html
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:46 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
When I did mine, I completely lost my left blinker arrow.
I never was able to figure out what happened, and never got it back.
Everything on the outside works fine, but the inside arrow never came back no matter what bulbs I used. (LED's or the OEMs)

Your HVAC went crazy on you as well?
Sorry to hear about all the bad luck.
I think that's all it is, just bad luck.
This mod goes great for some, and not so good for others.
Hope you track down the problem.
Keep us posted, and good luck.
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:50 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACKTOOTHGRIN View Post
When I did mine, I completely lost my left blinker arrow.
I never was able to figure out what happened, and never got it back.
Everything on the outside works fine, but the inside arrow never came back no matter what bulbs I used. (LED's or the OEMs)

Your HVAC went crazy on you as well?
Sorry to hear about all the bad luck.
I think that's all it is, just bad luck.
This mod goes great for some, and not so good for others.
Hope you track down the problem.
Keep us posted, and good luck.
haha I had the same issue with my left blinker, so simple solution, i took out the bulb from my seatbelt bulb and switched them. solution solved! you sould do it too.

How'd you solve the HVAC problem? with a bulb that draws a lower current?
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:57 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Naw, mine's just flat out dead.
Doesn't matter what I put in there. Dead, dead, dead. lol.
Awe well. I eventually just pulled out the right arrow bulb.
Now I don't have to look at those pissers at all.

I didn't have any trouble with my HVAC.
I just used the same Tri LEDs that I put in the cluster.
(the #74)
You might give that a shot.
You have the slider controls right?
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:03 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
well that's what i did first. i took the new bulbs, and put them into the HVAC bulbs, then the bulb next to the air pressure guage blew, tried again, blew again.

My HVAC set up has the fan air pressure set up on the left side and then two sliders for air flows and heat control. No A/C
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:09 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdukes4 View Post
Also, tried to do the HVAC lights, there are two, i switched them both, heard a crack, could smell some electric burn fumes and what do you know, the lights wouldnt work. the first bulb was burnt when i took it back out to inspect it. I switched back to the originals and still nothing. Checked the HVAC fuse box, and the fuse looked fine. Whats going on here?
Kinda sounds like it shorted something out if your originals won't work either.
Don't ya think?
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:25 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
hmmm ya. i'm gonna have to check it out tomorrow when i have some more time. i'll have to try and get a hold of my friends ohmmeter.

kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
instrument cluster lights chosos YJ Tech Forum 12 01-19-2010 12:13 PM
Question about the cluster lights... jwm1986 TJ Tech Forum 6 04-07-2009 03:13 PM
yearly untangling of the lights... tiny terror Off-Topic 6 12-03-2007 05:07 PM
Installed My Backup Lights YellowRubiU TJ General Discussion Forum 11 12-07-2006 09:11 PM
if you have 4 Hella 500 lights. 2 are the driving lights and 2 are the fogs lights wh jjock TJ General Discussion Forum 2 12-05-2006 09:15 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC