No oil pressure at start up - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today

Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on
Old 12-09-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 341
Wyominer is on a distinguished road
No oil pressure at start up

Twice in the last couple months, when I first start my Jeep, the oil pressure gauge will not move, and the yellow check engine light is on. Both times the engine ran less than 30 seconds before I shut it off. Both times, I immediately restarted with no issues.

I have a 06 LJ Rubicon, 4.0, auto, 78000 miles. Both times were extreme cold -5 and -22 (yes -22). I'm hoping it's just cold electronics/wiring/connection on the oil sending unit. Any ideas?

BTW I run synthetic oil.
Wyominer is offline   Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:12 PM   #2
_plaisance's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: southern louisiana
Posts: 561
_plaisance is on a distinguished road
i noticed on really cold days to us... which aint much because im in south louisiana but my oil pressure likes to drop to 0 i have a new sending unit im thinking about just replacing it. but i think your problem is that the oil is cold and very thick like molasses at startup making it hard for it to move around quick and create pressure im no expert on this subject but thats what it appears to be.

"jeep" the dirtiest of all four letter words
co-owner at Papa Smurf Ranch
"we're not jeepers with an alcohol problem, we're alcoholics with a jeep problem"
_plaisance is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:54 PM   #3
Brit Nick's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 900
Brit Nick is on a distinguished road
Oil pressure sending unit. Mine does the same thing
Today !!! It's a Jeep Day
3.5" RK lift, 5100 Bilsteins, 33 baja mtz, MC arms.
Brit Nick is offline   Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 10:04 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 41,980
Jerry Bransford is on a distinguished road
Yep before assuming the worst, replace your oil pressure sending unit with a fresh Mopar OE sending unit. Don't waste your time with one from Autozone or similar, they have crappy quality and cause too many problems. It took three Autozone oil pressure senders one Sunday to get my son's oil pressure gauge working properly. If it had been any other day of the week I would have gone to the dealer for the sender.
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC. is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner