No oil pressure at start up - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-09-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 328
No oil pressure at start up

Twice in the last couple months, when I first start my Jeep, the oil pressure gauge will not move, and the yellow check engine light is on. Both times the engine ran less than 30 seconds before I shut it off. Both times, I immediately restarted with no issues.

I have a 06 LJ Rubicon, 4.0, auto, 78000 miles. Both times were extreme cold -5 and -22 (yes -22). I'm hoping it's just cold electronics/wiring/connection on the oil sending unit. Any ideas?

BTW I run synthetic oil.

Wyominer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-09-2013, 05:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
_plaisance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: southern louisiana
Posts: 479
i noticed on really cold days to us... which aint much because im in south louisiana but my oil pressure likes to drop to 0 i have a new sending unit im thinking about just replacing it. but i think your problem is that the oil is cold and very thick like molasses at startup making it hard for it to move around quick and create pressure im no expert on this subject but thats what it appears to be.

__________________
"jeep" the dirtiest of all four letter words
South Louisiana Jeep Association
co-owner at Papa Smurf Ranch
_plaisance is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 09:54 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Brit Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 548
Oil pressure sending unit. Mine does the same thing
__________________
Today !!! It's a Jeep Day
Brit Nick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 10:04 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,885
Images: 2
Yep before assuming the worst, replace your oil pressure sending unit with a fresh Mopar OE sending unit. Don't waste your time with one from Autozone or similar, they have crappy quality and cause too many problems. It took three Autozone oil pressure senders one Sunday to get my son's oil pressure gauge working properly. If it had been any other day of the week I would have gone to the dealer for the sender.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC