Novak Cable Shifter - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-21-2013, 02:28 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Cockney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 64
Novak Cable Shifter

I'm thinking of replacing the stock T case shifter linkage, which the PO bent installing a BL, with the Novak Cable shifter.

Has anyone done this and how easy is it, do I have to drop the skid plate and front drive shaft?

I've removed the BL already so I'm back to stock height.

Cockney is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 02:37 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,776
Images: 2
I have only installed the older standard Novak shifter, not their newer cable shifter, but yes you'll need to drop the skidplate. At least I did for mine so I had enough room to work in. You won't have to drop either driveshaft. From what I have heard from those with the newer cable version, it's a well-worth upgrade.

__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
homebrwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 1,085
You don't need to remove the skid, I did mine a couple months ago without dropping it. You may get a little more room to work but its not necessary.

The only part of mine that was a pain was the tub mount bracket, the holes didn't line up and I had to make the holes in my tub a little bigger.
homebrwd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 02:45 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
SquatchPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 116
My Novak cable went on around thanksgiving and it was a breeze no complaints no skid dropping required.
SquatchPatrol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 02:53 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Cockney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lancashire England
Posts: 64
Thanks for the replies, I may drop the Skid plate any way as there's signs of rust between it and the frame it will be a good opportunity to treat it and repaint.
Cockney is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC