P0740 - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-21-2010, 05:49 PM   #1
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
wranglernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: How does that saying go... I wasn't born in Texas but I got here as soon as I could! :)
Posts: 150
P0740

Hey friends, I've had the torque converter code for a while now, finally took it into the shop to see if it was the wiring, solenoid, or actual torque converter that's not working. The guy hooked up the scanner, took it for a spin, came back and said: "the electrical components are telling the converter to work, but nothing's happening". I said "so the torque converter is not working?" He said: "well we can't tell... We'll need to take the whole thing apart... $1200." I think this sounds slightly suspect. Any thoughts? The transmission works fine other than not locking up the converter on the highway...
This forum is awesome! Some day I hope I'll be able to contribute not just ask for help!!
wranglernut is offline   Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Riverton, Wyoming
Posts: 139
Very suspect. Take it somewhere else and get another opinion. It should cost nothing to completely diagnose and estimate repairs. Something tells me you went to Midas, or some other hold-em-n-****-em outfit. Head to a dealership instead and see what they say before you open your wallet.

JD Adams is offline   Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 05:11 AM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 1,892
Definately get another opinion but not nescessarily from the stealership. I'd go to an actual highly reputable transmission shop. The stealership will make $1200 look cheap.
__________________
jeepjones is offline   Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 08:26 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,473
They guy only looked at his scanner? That makes as much sense as saying you need a heart operation bypass because you won't eat at McDonalds.


First go under it and find the connector on the trans, make sure it's on tight.

And - You can do this with the help of a FACTORY SERVICE MANUAL:

You or a trans shop can unhook the connector and measure the lock-up solenoids resistance from the outside, and power the solenoid by jumpering 12 volts to it. I think you can even pull out the solenoid without removing the trans, but not sure.

The FSM will have a step by step diagnosis AND if needed, the repair procedure. If nothing else, what you'll learn from it you'll be able to tell if a shop is being honest.
__________________
It's no wonder the country is falling apart - stupidity abounds!
rrich is offline   Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:18 AM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
wranglernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: How does that saying go... I wasn't born in Texas but I got here as soon as I could! :)
Posts: 150
Thanks for the advice, guys! My FSM is supposed to arrive in the mail any day now, so I'll wait and follow that.
wranglernut is offline   Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:59 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
What was the final resolution to this transmission issue?
paulj66 is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:18 PM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
wranglernut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: How does that saying go... I wasn't born in Texas but I got here as soon as I could! :)
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulj66
What was the final resolution to this transmission issue?
Well, it's still ongoing- so first observation is that it is nothing vital! (Gas mileage takes a hit though).

I bought a new TCC solenoid but broke it during install- so gonna try it all over again soon. Getting to know the 32 RH though.

Sorry if you we're hoping for more help. Let me know if you have questions- I have taken the valve body off twice now already!
wranglernut is offline   Quote
Old 10-27-2015, 08:10 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
lazermule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minneapolis North Metro
Posts: 23
I know this is an old thread, but was there any resolution here?

I just started getting the code, but I think my TC is still locking up based on the tach reactions on the highway.
__________________
LM

2004 Rubicon
lazermule is offline   Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 11:25 AM   #9
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
firehawkcpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Poway
Posts: 96
I have the same issue and the trans shop said the same except the price in socal is $800 to replace the tc. I am considering two other options:
1. swap for a manual with another who wants the auto = saves $ on parts
2. replace with this trans and hope for the best
42RLE Transmission For Sale
The price is great but the shipping might over run the budget.
My research indicates that the 42rle is hit or miss regarding reliability and longevity.
firehawkcpo is offline   Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 08:53 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
lazermule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minneapolis North Metro
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkcpo View Post
I have the same issue and the trans shop said the same except the price in socal is $800 to replace the tc. I am considering two other options:
1. swap for a manual with another who wants the auto = saves $ on parts
2. replace with this trans and hope for the best
42RLE Transmission For Sale
The price is great but the shipping might over run the budget.
My research indicates that the 42rle is hit or miss regarding reliability and longevity.

I think I figured mine out, I recently bought the Jeep, it has 170K on it and the trans fluid was a little dirty so I changed it. I read that the trans fluid level could affect this condition and set this code so I double checked my fluid level and it was just a little low. I added less than 1/4 of a quart and no more light. I'll keep you posted if it comes back, but for now it's all good and seems to be functioning well.
__________________
LM

2004 Rubicon
lazermule is offline   Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 09:10 AM   #11
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
firehawkcpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Poway
Posts: 96
LM,
Thanks for the update. You might consider adding an aux cooler too.
firehawkcpo is offline   Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 10:32 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
jjabo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Malvern
Posts: 35
I'm having the same issue right now. My transmission was acting a little weird but I changed the fluid and cleared the code but it came back on and everything seems fine. The shop also said it was fine so I'm not realy sure what's wrong.

jjabo3 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC