Performance chip - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-16-2011, 01:09 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Maltese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 108
Talking Performance chip

Has anyone out there ever used preformance chip like Hypretech, or one other one maybe? My 2000 sport 4.0 stock, I think needs some help. Any sugestions?

Maltese is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 01:17 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jasonwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 892
nooooooooo, not again....
what a way to spoil your first post.

jasonwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 01:29 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
XJ Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Walking The Plank
Posts: 16,640
__________________
-XJ- 2001 Jeep XJ Cherokee - Gone
1999 Jeep XJ Cherokee - Party Hard


-InfernoGirl- "They are the most fun you can have with your pants on..."

"Selfless over Selfish" RIP Brian "96_XJ" Perrine
XJ Knight is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 01:31 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
lukesdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 184
Images: 1
Don't waste your money bud.

Sent from my DROID2
__________________
04 Wrangler Sport, 4.0 I6, 5spd Trans, 4" Skyjacker Lift, 33" Mud Grapplers, D44 3.73's with Detroit Locker.
lukesdiesel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 01:42 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonwrangler View Post
nooooooooo, not again....
what a way to spoil your first post.
Thank you.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 03:29 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Maltese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 108
What? Nothing original!
Maltese is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 04:40 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Haymarket VA.
Posts: 14
How ironic that at the top of this page there is a blinking advertisement for EDGE Performance chips and tuners.
jimmy-90 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 06:12 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 30,867
Images: 2
One thing to know about such chips... by Federal law, they must be programmed so the engine runs normally during normal driving conditions. They can only slightly change how the engine runs at WOT (wide-open throttle) and near redline rpms. Not exactly how many of us drive our Jeeps.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 06:15 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Mr_RPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Howell Michigan
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
One thing to know about such chips... by Federal law, they must be programmed so the engine runs normally during normal driving conditions. They can only slightly change how the engine runs at WOT (wide-open throttle) and near redline rpms. Not exactly how many of us drive our Jeeps.
good to know!
very interesting.

even with Diesel chips?
Mr_RPM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 06:49 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Livinstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_RPM View Post
good to know!
very interesting.

even with Diesel chips?
Good point- there is no way that diesel chips only affect driving when at WOT.
__________________

2002 Wrangler X
31" BFG ATs, XRC Front bumper, rear Trac-Lok LSD, SYE
Plans: 2" BDS, Flat Fenders & 32's
Livinstrong is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 07:05 PM   #11
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 30,867
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_RPM View Post
even with Diesel chips?
I know nothing about diesel chips but from what I have read, it seems they actually can help with around-town as well as highway performance.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 07:21 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
rbloodhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crowville Louisiana
Posts: 450
Diesel is a whole different animal. Even keeping things smog legal you can get 100+ hp. With a tune for a gas vehicle without turbo or supercharger you might get between 15 and 30 hp
__________________
Robert
05 TJ unlimited, Slightly Modified
http://s183.photobucket.com/home/aaoffroad/index
rbloodhound is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 07:43 PM   #13
Wheelin' and Dealin'

WF Supporting Member
 
OsageJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Osage, Arkansas
Posts: 1,517
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to OsageJeep
I had a Dodge 3500 Flatbed Cummins and with a chip on it (chip had five settings, 1st setting= +20HP, 2nd setting= +40HP, 3rd setting= +60HP, and so on up to 100+ HP) running it with +60 HP made it run like a raped ape and it got about 18 MPG. There is no way that it only affected driving at WOT. And it didn't smoke at all..in my opinion a chip can be good in a diesel but everything I have seen for a gas motor has been overpriced/overrated.
__________________
I love my country, I love my guns, I love my family, I love the way it is now, and anybody that tries to change it has to come through me, that should be all of our attitudes, cause this is America
OsageJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 08:39 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
jasonwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 892
the reason why diesels have effect is that most diesels are turbocharged. by changing the wastegate bypass pressure, you actually running at higher pressure than factory settings. most naturally aspirated gasoline engines wont feel any difference unless it was tuned poorly from factory.
jasonwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 08:43 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
lukesdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 184
Images: 1
I sale programmers that add 300hp+ to a Duramax Diesel and 250hp+ on a Cummins. Dyno proven gains.

Sent from my DROID2
__________________
04 Wrangler Sport, 4.0 I6, 5spd Trans, 4" Skyjacker Lift, 33" Mud Grapplers, D44 3.73's with Detroit Locker.
lukesdiesel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 08:56 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukesdiesel
I sale programmers that add 300hp+ to a Duramax Diesel and 250hp+ on a Cummins. Dyno proven gains.

Sent from my DROID2
A programmer that adds 300 horsepower ? Wow
bobjenkins is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 10:00 PM   #17
Wheelin' and Dealin'

WF Supporting Member
 
OsageJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Osage, Arkansas
Posts: 1,517
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to OsageJeep
I would be interested in seeing those Dyno sheets.
__________________
I love my country, I love my guns, I love my family, I love the way it is now, and anybody that tries to change it has to come through me, that should be all of our attitudes, cause this is America
OsageJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 10:27 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Marsmonkey12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Liberty
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by osagejeep
i would be interested in seeing those dyno sheets.
x2
Marsmonkey12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2011, 11:47 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
TJ-Q8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford
One thing to know about such chips... by Federal law, they must be programmed so the engine runs normally during normal driving conditions. They can only slightly change how the engine runs at WOT (wide-open throttle) and near redline rpms. Not exactly how many of us drive our Jeeps.
What if we run our jeeps at high rpms in kuwait. Ouboffroading consists of climbing high soft sanded dunes and in 4lo with tge 3spd i hit 3rd gear sometimes on them. And occasionally the rev limiter. Do you think a programmer would help me?
__________________
2001 Jeep Wranlger Tj (Maroon)
Auto for now, will be manual soon
All Stock for now too
Other vehicles:
1978 Chevy Silverado restored
2009 Harley Fat Bob
TJ-Q8 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 12:02 AM   #20
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,322
x3 on the dyno sheets....maybe that's advertised best case scenerio

I'll stick with my mechanical diesel thanks Chips are for eating not for power
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 12:56 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuildembig
x3 on the dyno sheets....maybe that's advertised best case scenerio

I'll stick with my mechanical diesel thanks Chips are for eating not for power
Watch out for chips with monosodium glutamate . They are the best
bobjenkins is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 01:04 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
lukesdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 184
Images: 1
Having a 500-600hp diesel isnt hard at all. Just takes the right programmer and turbo upgrades.

Sent from my DROID2
__________________
04 Wrangler Sport, 4.0 I6, 5spd Trans, 4" Skyjacker Lift, 33" Mud Grapplers, D44 3.73's with Detroit Locker.
lukesdiesel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 08:45 AM   #23
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,322
Or you can make over 1500 with no chips , just not very street friendly haha
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 08:53 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ-Q8 View Post
Do you think a programmer would help me?
Not enough for you to notice.
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 09:03 AM   #25
that's what she said

WF Supporting Member
 
jgano23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: \m/-_-\m/
Posts: 16,482
Send a message via AIM to jgano23 Send a message via Yahoo to jgano23
in everyone of the computer chip threads someone inevitably mentions that "if they actually gave as much power and/or improved gas mileage the car manufacturer would be using them," the more and more i read about chips the more this rings true. i put a jet chip in my tj when i first got it. i spent $300 on it and swore that it made a difference. i sold it about a year ago, and once it was gone i realized that it made no difference in my mpg's, or hp. the only difference it made was changing my bank account balance to be $300 less.
jgano23 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 09:31 AM   #26
Wheelin' and Dealin'

WF Supporting Member
 
OsageJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Osage, Arkansas
Posts: 1,517
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to OsageJeep
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukesdiesel
Having a 500-600hp diesel isnt hard at all. Just takes the right programmer and turbo upgrades.

Sent from my DROID2
It's not hard at all but I have a hard time believing anybody sells a programmer that adds 300 HP alone. Like you said you'll have to have upgrades to your turbo to achieve those kind of numbers. Crazy Larry adds 240 HP and that's the most I've ever heard of.
__________________
I love my country, I love my guns, I love my family, I love the way it is now, and anybody that tries to change it has to come through me, that should be all of our attitudes, cause this is America
OsageJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 10:28 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
MikeMTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: If only I knew....
Posts: 2,113
Send a message via AIM to MikeMTJ
I poured 10 quarts of goats blood in my fuel tank, and it gave me a 9,000 HP increase

OP: why do you say you're 4.0L needs some help?
MikeMTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 10:51 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgano23
in everyone of the computer chip threads someone inevitably mentions that "if they actually gave as much power and/or improved gas mileage the car manufacturer would be using them," the more and more i read about chips the more this rings true. i put a jet chip in my tj when i first got it. i spent $300 on it and swore that it made a difference. i sold it about a year ago, and once it was gone i realized that it made no difference in my mpg's, or hp. the only difference it made was changing my bank account balance to be $300 less.
It's true . The factory making the cars and building the engines are not retarded . Remember thy are trying to grt the most out of the engine too....


Also I sense the +300hp guys is just selling his product as he was taught
bobjenkins is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 12:57 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
lukesdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 184
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsageJeep

It's not hard at all but I have a hard time believing anybody sells a programmer that adds 300 HP alone. Like you said you'll have to have upgrades to your turbo to achieve those kind of numbers. Crazy Larry adds 240 HP and that's the most I've ever heard of.
Check out the PPE Hot +2 for the Duramax.

Sent from my DROID2
__________________
04 Wrangler Sport, 4.0 I6, 5spd Trans, 4" Skyjacker Lift, 33" Mud Grapplers, D44 3.73's with Detroit Locker.
lukesdiesel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 02:59 PM   #30
Wheelin' and Dealin'

WF Supporting Member
 
OsageJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Osage, Arkansas
Posts: 1,517
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to OsageJeep
oh me, oh my...I guess I was wrong but reading all the reviews just makes me

__________________
I love my country, I love my guns, I love my family, I love the way it is now, and anybody that tries to change it has to come through me, that should be all of our attitudes, cause this is America
OsageJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance Chip fnm JK General Discussion Forum 29 06-27-2011 04:18 PM
Jet performance chip question Tuff_Mudd TJ General Discussion Forum 5 03-06-2011 07:53 PM
performance chip amoujaffar YJ Tech Forum 11 08-10-2009 12:01 AM
what is the best performance chip crown13 General Jeep Discussion 7 07-19-2009 10:35 AM
Performance chip question sorrellsjm TJ Tech Forum 22 02-01-2009 09:53 AM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC