radio static help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-06-2012, 07:27 AM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
98 tj sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: eden nc
Posts: 1,371
Images: 1
radio static help

Ok so I'm getting a really bad almost static sound from my speakers, I thought the speakers were bad so I replaced them but it won't them so I'm still stuck with crappy music, couple weird things about it though it only has static when its on the radio, if I have a cd in then it sounds great, and it also only does it if the jeep is running, if I'm sitting parked with it off and listen to the radio it sounds good, any thoughts or help would be much appreciated

__________________
98 sport, 4inch skyjacker lift, 35" goodyear wrangler mtrs with kevlar on 15x10 black streetlock wheels, smittybuilt rear bumber with tire carrier, warn m8000 winch, windshield mount hellas, and a rhinolined interior, with aussie locked dana 30 front dana 44 rear with a yukon grizzly locker, 4.10 gears with a 3speed 32rh
98 tj sport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 07:44 AM   #2
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
Is it the stock radio? If not, it could be a ground issue. You are getting feed back when the jeep is running, which is why it sounds ok when the engine is off.

__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 08:08 AM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
98 tj sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: eden nc
Posts: 1,371
Images: 1
No its not the stock radio, and I was kinda thinking something along that lines because when I took the old speakers out whomever installed them just twisted the wires together and taped them, so I wonder if they did that to the radio as well.
__________________
98 sport, 4inch skyjacker lift, 35" goodyear wrangler mtrs with kevlar on 15x10 black streetlock wheels, smittybuilt rear bumber with tire carrier, warn m8000 winch, windshield mount hellas, and a rhinolined interior, with aussie locked dana 30 front dana 44 rear with a yukon grizzly locker, 4.10 gears with a 3speed 32rh
98 tj sport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
Founder, ThumbJeeps

WF Supporting Member
 
sevenservices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mid-Michigan/Thumb
Posts: 3,952
did you install an amp? or did it just start doing it one day?
__________________
-Chris
Founder, ThumbJeeps


1994 Wrangler YJ I6 4.0 H/O Auto 3 spd. 4" RC (33x12.5) (15x8) 3:54 Gears
sevenservices is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 08:41 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 229
Jerry will probably chime in but a cheapo wiring will cause static in the radio need to use OEM wiring....have you just changed plugs, wires or coil / cap?
__________________
6rings is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 08:45 AM   #6
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
98 tj sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: eden nc
Posts: 1,371
Images: 1
No didn't install an amp the radio was in it when I got it and I've noticed it since I got the jeep but its been getting worse.and I recently did a tune up on it got all the stuff at autozone and not the cheap one either.
__________________
98 sport, 4inch skyjacker lift, 35" goodyear wrangler mtrs with kevlar on 15x10 black streetlock wheels, smittybuilt rear bumber with tire carrier, warn m8000 winch, windshield mount hellas, and a rhinolined interior, with aussie locked dana 30 front dana 44 rear with a yukon grizzly locker, 4.10 gears with a 3speed 32rh
98 tj sport is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Melissas6570's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 284
You most likely have a ground issue. Check the ground going to the radio. I would also look at the ground on the antenna. You are picking up electromagnetic interference from the coil, plug wires, etc. when the engine is running. You could also see the issue with the way the power to the radio is connected, and how the wires are routed.
Melissas6570 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 04:38 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,228
Images: 2
Your tuneup parts are very likely the cause of the static. So-called "high performance" or "low resistance"aftermarket ignition wiring sets will nearly invariably cause static in the radio and cb radio too. Non-resistor type "performance" spark plugs will cause static too.

I would replace the ignition wiring with the OE wiring from the dealer. It is just too hard to find high quality ignition wiring that does not cause static at a normal auto parts store.

Good performing spark plugs that won't cause static include the Autolite AP985 or Champion 3034.

On the low resistance subject... While low resistance does sound good, resistance is actually added on purpose to prevent static which actually makes the wiring more expensive to manufacture.

In the case of the high voltage low current spark plug system, the higher resistance does not significantly lower the voltage to the spark plugs. For a significant voltage drop to occur across a resistance, there has to b a significant amount of electrical current. While there is a lot of voltage in a spark plug circuit, there is very little electrical current. Ohm's Law and all that.

Which all boils down to the added resistance in the ignition wiring not really having a significant effect on the voltage delivered to the spark plugs.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 05:19 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,954
Also make sure the grounding strap from the firewall to the hood is still connected.
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 06:22 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
CoyoteOn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Palisade, Colorado
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky View Post
Also make sure the grounding strap from the firewall to the hood is still connected.
AS well as Block to Firewall ~~~~~

__________________
Those that go through life afraid,
Die many deaths......................
Those that DO NOT, DIE ONLY ONCE
But Hey~~~What do I Know ┐
CoyoteOn2
CoyoteOn2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.



Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC