Recalibrate of '05 Rubicon Speedo - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-16-2013, 01:30 PM   #1
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
biggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 122
Recalibrate of '05 Rubicon Speedo

I know it's been asked before but does anyone know the procedure to recalibrate the speedo in a '05 Rubicon without using aftermarket correction devices? I've heard that it needs to be done via programming as opposed to 231 equipped models, that require a speedo gear change. I've been told that factory parameters allow for up to 35" tires. Mine are 33's. The local chrysler/Jeep dealer has not been able to do it and they are supposed to be in contact with tech support for the correct procedure. It's only been a couple days but they do not have a procedure yet. thanks.-TB

__________________
'05 Rubicon/Sahara 6 spd; '08 Liberty Sport 3.7, auto; '79 J20 360, 4 spd, "Glade8r"; '63 J200 Thriftside, 230 OHC, 3 in the tree; '46 CJ2A s/n 42426; '46 CJ2A s/n 29968, column shift
biggie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 01:34 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Dextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 3,910
Images: 1
Do you not have a speedo gear on x-fer case?


Changing Your Jeep Speedometer Gear

__________________
'99 Chilli Pepper TJ Wrangler "Mistress"
33x12.5 DuraTracs
Zone 4.25"
Dextreme is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 02:34 PM   #3
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
biggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 122
Personally, I haven't checked. This is what I've been told. I am familiar with the the 231 case and gear changing options on it. Everything I've forund so far leads me to believe that there is a signal generator on the T-case and the ECU is programmed to interpret the signal based on other variables like axle ratio, tire size. etc.
__________________
'05 Rubicon/Sahara 6 spd; '08 Liberty Sport 3.7, auto; '79 J20 360, 4 spd, "Glade8r"; '63 J200 Thriftside, 230 OHC, 3 in the tree; '46 CJ2A s/n 42426; '46 CJ2A s/n 29968, column shift
biggie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
jkp
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 455
There is not a speedo gear on the Rubi Tcase.
__________________
'92 Islander
'06 Rubicon
jkp is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 08:24 PM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
f9k9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London, KY
Posts: 152
Many dealer techs have difficulty in programming for the correction of different gearing and tire sizes in the 03-06 Rubis. It's hit and miss and if, you aren't in tight with your local dealer, the costs could add up. Personally, I prefer a speedo correction device and you have many to choose from. I prefer the Yellow box. I can correct for tire sizes, tire wear and gears.
__________________
"For those who have fought for it FREEDOM has a taste that the protected will never know."

03 Rubicon with a few changes.
f9k9 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 08:42 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jasongind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: The Mile High City
Posts: 735
Re-gearing is your best option to correct speedo on a Rubi, that's what I as told. There is a programmer, cannot remember the name off hand, but it cost like $380 and once connected to a vehicle it can only be used with that one.
__________________
Teraflex 4" Long Arm Kit, Teraflex 1" Body Lift, M.O.R.E. 1" MML, Teraflex Belly-Up Kit, Rock Crawler 17" Wheels, 35" Toyo Open Country's, Uniden Cb, 2' Firestick Antenna
jasongind is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-16-2013, 10:25 PM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
f9k9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London, KY
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasongind View Post
.......There is a programmer, cannot remember the name off hand, but it cost like $380 and once connected to a vehicle it can only be used with that one.
You're thinking of the Hypertech but, there are probably, at least, three others. Yellow (Yellr) box remains connected and you can adjust for tires and/or gears all day long. I paid around $100 for mine but, there are other others available. Mine requires tracing a couple of wires and doing a little soldering but, there is one that is literally plug and play.
__________________
"For those who have fought for it FREEDOM has a taste that the protected will never know."

03 Rubicon with a few changes.
f9k9 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 11:01 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,918
I'm a diablo dealer and I, nor diablo techs, could get the tire size change to work on my jeep. I think its called a speedcal to interface on the signal. I'm not sure there is another way.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 02:00 PM   #9
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 92 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 773
I have the SpeedoHealer. Cost about $130. Takes about 10 mins to install. It is a plug-n-play unit.
__________________
Scott
Sccafire is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 02:18 PM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,782
Images: 2
There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 06:13 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Zeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SouthEastern Michigan
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.
Rubicon T-cases use a tone wheel and sensor, not unlike the modern camshaft, crankshaft sensor's.
__________________
JEEP THE AR-15 OF THE AUTOMOTIVE WORLD
Zeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 08:00 PM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,782
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
There are several electronic speedometer calibrators out there with one popular model being the Truspeed. I'll post more info on that tonight with another less costly calibrator as an alternative to the more expensive Truspeed.

Only non-Rubicon transfer cases have a speedometer gear that can be changed to calibrate the speedometer. Rubicon transfer cases don't have speedometer gears, Rubicon speedometers can only be recalibrated electronically.
The other speedometer calibrator besides the Truspeed which is sold all over the Internet is the Dakota Digital at Universal Speedometer Signal Interface
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 10:01 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
03rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 121
I have an 03 Rubicon and I am using a "Dakota Digital " speedomete correction and it works well. Just google "Dakota Digital" for info.
03rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-17-2013, 11:43 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
paul65k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 144
I was all excited when I saw this thread as the new tires and wheels I just added have caused the speedo to be off my 2MPH according to the GPS.....I think for 2MOH I'll just do the math in my head instead of spending another hundy that I could use for something else that will allow me to have some more fun

Cheers!
paul65k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 01:29 PM   #15
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 92 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul65k View Post
I was all excited when I saw this thread as the new tires and wheels I just added have caused the speedo to be off my 2MPH according to the GPS.....I think for 2MOH I'll just do the math in my head instead of spending another hundy that I could use for something else that will allow me to have some more fun

Cheers!
Just curious but at what speed is it 2mph off? The faster you go the more the speedometer will be off.
__________________
Scott
Sccafire is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 01:36 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jasongind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: The Mile High City
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03rubi View Post
I have an 03 Rubicon and I am using a "Dakota Digital " speedomete correction and it works well. Just google "Dakota Digital" for info.
How does this unit hook up? Do you have to hard wire it and leave it in, or plug into the OBDII port?
I"m interested in this. I can easily do the math while driving and to calculate fuel economy, but I'd like to accurately keep track of overall miles with the odometer.

I just downloaded and read the installation manual. Did you install yourself? IF so what Option did you use and where did you mount it?

__________________
Teraflex 4" Long Arm Kit, Teraflex 1" Body Lift, M.O.R.E. 1" MML, Teraflex Belly-Up Kit, Rock Crawler 17" Wheels, 35" Toyo Open Country's, Uniden Cb, 2' Firestick Antenna
jasongind is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC