Slave cylinder for clutch?? On tj? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-19-2012, 06:22 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Slave cylinder for clutch?? On tj?

Is there a clutch slave cylinder on the tj models I got kno pressure on my clutch or do I gotta get a whole new master cylinder

JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
rda616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Allegan MI
Posts: 1,173
It could be either the slave, or master cylinder that failed. Do you see fluid leaking out the bell housing, or are you even low of fluid at all. I have also heard of the line going bad and swelling when you hit the pedal.

rda616 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-19-2012, 07:53 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,026
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEREMYTJ View Post
Is there a clutch slave cylinder on the tj models I got kno pressure on my clutch or do I gotta get a whole new master cylinder
Yes, the slave cylinder is mounted onto the driver's side of the bell housing, next to where it bolts to the engine. It has a skinny plastic hydraulic pressure tube running to it from the master cylinder located on the fire wall next to the master brake cylinder.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 10:45 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
JEREMYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: LEMOORE,CA
Posts: 64
Ya I know what ur talking about. So is that the whole slave cylinder? I think I might have to buy a new one
JEREMYTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 01:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
rda616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Allegan MI
Posts: 1,173
Should only be a couple bolts holding it in place. That and the pressure line will need removed.
rda616 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC