so how do i - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-07-2009, 10:19 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
so how do i

set this up.

I just got some stock fog lights but it doesn't appear that I have the wiring assembly within the engine bay to just plug them in. nor do i have a switch inside the dash panel. i'm not a gu-ru at this and could definitely use some help!

i don't see the point of spending $100 on a whole wiring harness, switch and relay when you could probably assemble the whole thing in one afternoon for $20? can i just go down to the hardware store and buy some wire and what not to get this done? i've read to go: battery to fuse, to relay, to lights, to grounds? am i gonna have to splice the wire running from the battery for the two lights?

__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
What came with the "stock" fog lights? Any wiring? Any relay? Any switch?

This is a pretty simple task, but knowing where you are starting is key.

stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:25 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens243 View Post
What came with the "stock" fog lights? Any wiring? Any relay? Any switch?

This is a pretty simple task, but knowing where you are starting is key.
sorry for the mix up stevens

all i got was the fog lights which have the tail line with the plug at the end of them. which i'm planning on cutting those and then sodering to the new line. so no relay or switch.
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:28 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Jp90Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,147
I have a 2001 that came with stock fogs but ran into the common issue of the fog switch on the arm going haywire. Over the weekend I decided to hard wire my fogs. It took me about 3 hrs to get it done but that was with removing my center cluster to hide all the wires, soldering all the connections, using wire loom to protect the areas that may rub a bit, and installing an extra switch and running an additional wire to the back of my jeep for a rear fog that I plan to install once I buy it. It is pretty simple and should cost <$20.
Jp90Talon is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:33 PM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Jp90Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,147
Here is a pic of the switches I installed. (1 on each side of the cig lighter) I paid about $5 each cause I wanted the LED style. All you really need to do is run 1 wire from + batt to switch, 1 wire to - batt from switch, 1 wire from switch to power line of lights, and 1 wire from lights to ground. And I also suggest tossing in an inline fuse along the power line by the battery.


I know it can be much easier by tapping into lines already running through the vehicle but I prefer not to tap into exhisting lines.

Jp90Talon is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:37 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
nice. those look sweet. i'm running blue and super white led's in the cluster with blue lighting all over the cd faceplate. so that switch is something that i'll definitely look out for, where'd you get them? so no fuses or relays to worry about?
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
Yep, good news is that you don't have that stupid fog light switch on your turn indicator switch.

So...

You'll need some wire, a switch, a relay and a couple connectors to connect your wires to; ground, the switch and the battery.

So:

Ground the lights (black wire to the frame, near the lights).

Power from the lights to the relay.

Relay power to the battery and the switch.

Switch grounded and powered from the battery.

A good diagram: Relay Wiring
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:40 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
"1 wire from switch to power line of lights" you spliced that right?

thanks stevens! so the relay, is like the relays that are in the compartment within the engine bay, that are plugged into the compartment right? or does it look somewhat different?
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:41 PM   #9
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Jp90Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdukes4 View Post
nice. those look sweet. i'm running blue and super white led's in the cluster with blue lighting all over the cd faceplate. so that switch is something that i'll definitely look out for, where'd you get them? so no fuses or relays to worry about?
Any Autozone, Pepboys, or Advanced auto should carry the switches. I didnt use any relays (I thought the switches have them built in since it is rated to 30 amps) but I did install an in-line fuse along the power line to the switch by the battery. They appear to work great so far.
Jp90Talon is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
For lighting (unless you have LCD or some other light load lighting) use a relay. Most switches aren't capable of keeping the load necessary to run lights by themselves.

Or, in other words... big wires, lights to the switch. Big wires, switch to the battery. Big wires battery to the lights. Weak point: switch.

Add the relay. You can use 22 ga wire from the switch to the relay and heavier wire (18+) from the relay to the light and you won't melt anything.
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:56 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
the relay sounds fine to me. i just don't know where it's suppose to go. haha
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
In line. Anywhere you have room to put it. Most light kits come with one with a single screw mount to screw it somewhere out of the way.

Plenty of places to mount one.
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:16 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
so i'm having difficulty, i was following the diagram and then the above intructions but am not getting anything. i did:

1. + bat post with fuse to 30 relay post
2. 85 post on relay to ground
3. 87 post on relay to lights which is then split to the two lights,
4. grounded the lights
5. 86 post on relay to the power post on the switch and then ground the switch, there is an acessory post in the middle of the switch, i thought i didn't need to use it.

should there be a line straight from the battery and straight from the relay which go to the switch?
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:20 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
how about the stock fog light wiring, blue is + and black is - right? wait, the switch is illuminated, so then i should have a seperate wire running from a. the battery to the accessory post on the switch or b. run it to the headlight hot wire. damn it.
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 02:15 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
Ok, illuminated switch. Power to the switch. Either switched power or direct to the battery. Plus a ground, plus to the post on the relay to open/close it.

Remember, you only need heavy enough wire (22 ga should work) to power the switch light and provide the signal to the relay.

Heavier (18 or bigger) from the relay to the lights and the grounds.

DON'T run a wire from the switch direct to the lights. Remember, you are using the relay to power the lights as the switch internals aren't made to carry all that load.
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:19 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
hey stevens i got it working earlier this afternoon! thanks for all the help. although, i did you 16 guage on everything. should i go back and re run with 18? we're talkin one step thicker though?
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
No, bigger is better for the lights. Just tryin' to save you some coin for the switch wiring.

Glad it worked out for you.

stevens243 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC