So I've run out of room on my battery, what do you all do in this case? - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-20-2012, 07:46 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Only a small percentage of batteries have both top and side posts... your battery must not have side posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXST8tj View Post
I have a Duralast Gold as well and it has top and side terminals.....


Since 12awg is too small for what you're doing. 14awg is definitely way too small.
I didn't think so, but then TXSTTJ said he had em on the same battery, sooo

__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:11 PM   #32
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Leslee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winlock,Wa
Posts: 189
I have a Blue Sea Power Board set up it has a neg/pos fused ports,works well for what I do..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeep 008.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	147.8 KB
ID:	98695   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeep 006.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	173.2 KB
ID:	98696  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeep 007.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	205.2 KB
ID:	98697  

__________________
Leslee is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:15 PM   #33
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 30,852
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
I didn't think so, but then TXSTTJ said he had em on the same battery, sooo
Once again, not all batteries... even if the name of the battery is the same as someone else's with side posts... have side posts. For example, some Diehard Platinum batteries have top and side posts and other Diehard Platinum batteries have nothing but top posts... or nothing but side posts. So his may be the same model name as yours but as you have discovered, that doesn't necessarily yours has side posts as his does.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:16 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Once again, not all batteries... even if the name of the battery is the same as someone else's with side posts... have side posts. For example, some Diehard Platinum batteries have top and side posts and other Diehard Platinum batteries have nothing but top posts... or nothing but side posts. So his may be the same model name as yours but as you have discovered, that doesn't necessarily yours has side posts as his does.
gotcha, thanks
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:18 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
aaron 06tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ooltewah
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJe0454 View Post
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.
i would use 4 gauge since #12 is only good for 20 amps of current.
aaron 06tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:19 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron 06tj View Post
i would use 4 gauge since #12 is only good for 20 amps of current.
Yeah I've definitely decided not to use 12, but thinking 10, especially if just put the lights and cb on it. I'm pretty sure 10 is good for 35 amps, which should be enough
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:25 PM   #37
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
mudmagnet63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whiskey River OK
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
I see, so since it wouldn't be large enough, it'd be better to use a fuse block?
I didn't. I just ran a large wire ( about the size of my pinky finger ) to the terminal block. It was a larger type terminal than the one you pictured. I ran 6 KC daylighters CB, radio and equalizer/amp ect. ect. and never had issues. Each Item was fused individually. Just a large supply wire from the battery

Mud
mudmagnet63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:37 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,829
That is pretty wimpy. I'd run something WAY bigger. I have an amp (4g for 300w total rms), offroad lights (8g), and a 0g winch and it all fits fine. There is no way I would ever use that terminal strip for anything on a jeep except maybe to run external gauges or something small. I have these stinger terminals on my car and they have room for tons of extra stuff. I think they have a 0-2g port, two 4-8g port and some other size.


On my RV power distribution system I used something like this with fused outputs.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:13 AM   #39
Jeeper
 
TXST8tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to TXST8tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
I didn't think so, but then TXSTTJ said he had em on the same battery, sooo
I believe you that you don't have the side terminals. I honestly don't know squat about the build of Duralast batteries, so who knows how often they change the specs on them, or if the same model # roles out with and without extra terminals.

My TJ had a Duralast Gold battery in it when I bought it. When it died a couple weeks ago, they replaced it with a new one for free. I'm not going to say no to a free $130 battery. It happens to have top and side terminals like the one below. Honestly, I don't recall the old one having the side terminals.
I don't use these side terminals, but they are there.


Walk around the battery section of any auto parts store. There are several terminal clamps that have accomodations for adding lots of accessories.
__________________
- Patrick
TXST8tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:22 AM   #40
Motorized Toy Collector

WF Supporting Member
 
TJDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eastern WA State
Posts: 2,745
My one year old Duralast Gold has no side posts.

Luck of the draw I guess. Whatever the Autozone dude reads on his screen, then goes and grabs off the shelf is what you are stuck with.

Unless you educate him before you pay.....which I did not.
TJDave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:44 AM   #41
Jeeper
 
TXST8tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to TXST8tj
Yeah, I think it's a manufacturing swing with Duralast in that regard. The model# on the old battery was the same as on the new. Perhaps the new batches are being made with side terminals.
__________________
- Patrick
TXST8tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:48 AM   #42
Jeeper
 
Kevbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,637
I have always thought you run a heavy gauge wire from the battery to your new terminal block, inline fused for total amperage pull. Be it 40, 50, 60 amps (maxi fuse comes to mind) then each accessory you hook up gets it's own fused power wire rated for its amp's, and all fuses are to be as close to the supply as possible to protect the remaining wire
Kevbz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 01:23 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevbz View Post
I have always thought you run a heavy gauge wire from the battery to your new terminal block, inline fused for total amperage pull. Be it 40, 50, 60 amps (maxi fuse comes to mind) then each accessory you hook up gets it's own fused power wire rated for its amp's, and all fuses are to be as close to the supply as possible to protect the remaining wire
Yeah that's what I was thinking, and all the individual wires already have inline fuses
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 01:55 PM   #44
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 717
no fuse = fire

The wire from the battery to the first fuse is highly susceptible to fire. If it is abraided and shorts it will heat up to the capacity of the battery. That is the cause of most under hood fires.

The first (main) fuse is to keep from overloading the wire from the battery to the block. Typically that is fused at the source, but in this case, it protects the multiple wires from adding up and overloading the main wire.

Each individual fuse is rated for from 2 to 10 times its actual load. Say a 14 gauge wire for 15 amps and it only carries 2 amps normally. Still the 15 amp fuse will protect that wire from more than 15 amps and overheating it.

If you have 10 circuits like that, each fused at 15 amps you could get 150 amps on the block (theoretically) before it would blow any of those fuses. So, the main fuse (say 50 A) is to protect the main wire from more than 50A of load. It still doesn't protect from a short between the battery and the main fuse.

In a winch installation, there really should be a solenoid as close to the battery as possible. That solenoid is only energized when you are winching. That way, if the cable frays, it doesn't fry the Jeep.
ballistx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 03:47 PM   #45
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballistx View Post
In a winch installation, there really should be a solenoid as close to the battery as possible. That solenoid is only energized when you are winching. That way, if the cable frays, it doesn't fry the Jeep.
until you need to use the winch and when you push the button the solenoid welds together and you hope that the battery terminals melt off before the jeep burns to the ground. ALL the wires to the winch need to be carefully protected.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 06:32 PM   #46
Jeeper
 
shogun65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Terminal strip is good option as stated use proper wire size and all is good. Might want a inline fuse also.
shogun65 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 07:04 PM   #47
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 717
welding solenoid contacts

That can happen, but if it did it would be no different that if the solenoid wasn't in the circuit. In order for there to be any fire there would have to be some other short.

The only time that the solenoid would weld is while using the winch and then it would be under observation. During the other 99% of the time the circuit would be protected.

And yes, the leads do need to be checked.
ballistx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:03 PM   #48
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,829
Correct. if the wire from the solenoid gets shorted to the frame, and the solenoid does weld shut when you push the go button, then you have BIG trouble. The solenoid probably wont weld shut unless there is excessive current and it starts to arc. You might be there pushing the winch button, but it wont matter when it goes into meltdown mode. But yeah it wont matter until you engage the solenoid.

I've seen a number of batteries dead shorted. I watch a girl hook up 6 batteries (electric car) in series with 1/4" x 1" copper bars. She didn't stop until she completed the circuit. Most batteries will melt the terminals, shoot smoke, and loose connection before they crack and spew acid, but not all of them. I've also seen guys badly burned with a socket when removing terminals and dead shorting the battery. A socket will glow red hot in a second or less with a dead short. Always remove the ground first, and always keep an eye on the positive terminal and leads!
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:17 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Okay, so let me see if I can reiterate everything thats been said, and see if thats okay.

So I can set up a terminal block with a large lead (#4 wire?) going to the battery with an inline fuse. Then I can hook up each individual accessory to the terminal block, and make sure each has its own inline fuse.

Also, it would be a good idea to have a solenoid between the winch and the battery so there is no current when I'm not actually using the winch, therefore limiting the risk of fire to when I'm actually standing there using the winch.

Also make sure all wires are in good condition and not resting on something that would get hot enough to melt the insulation, and thus possibly cause a short. Though if I have inline fuses, this would just blow a fuse. So therefore I should be especially sure about the piece of wire between the inline fuse and the battery, which is why that length should be as small as possible.

Did I cover everything? That sound good?

Thanks for all your input!
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:34 PM   #50
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
So I was just looking at this: Blue Sea Systems 12 Circuit ST Blade Fuse Blocks and I think it might be a better way to go. Especially since I think that my terminal block probably isn't enough for what I'd put on it.

Also, another question... I know I should put a fuse between the fuse block/terminal strip and the battery, but since they only make regular blade fuses up to 30 amps, what would I use? I see they have circuit breakers, but is that my only option?

thanks
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:35 PM   #51
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
and another thing haha... if I get that fuse block, should I get the one with the ground?
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:53 PM   #52
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 10:34 PM   #53
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 717
They look exotic

and all that, but you could go to a junk yard and get a power control module with the fuses, relays, etc.
ballistx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 10:47 PM   #54
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballistx View Post
and all that, but you could go to a junk yard and get a power control module with the fuses, relays, etc.
Haha yeah I could, but that requires me finding a decent junk yard near me, which aren't that common or close... the ones I know of are in places where white boys don't go haha
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:21 PM   #55
Jeeper
 
Wheel2Work's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326
and another thing haha... if I get that fuse block, should I get the one with the ground?
I was really surprised that no one mentioned the Painless Wiring Circuit Boss in all of that! It has 3 or 7 circuits, that are relayed and on a breaker to the battery. It seems a lot easier than individual in line fuses and has a grounding point on the fuse block.
__________________
2000 4.0l Sport, Auto, some mods done - planning more
Wheel2Work is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:28 PM   #56
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheel2Work View Post
I was really surprised that no one mentioned the Painless Wiring Circuit Boss in all of that! It has 3 or 7 circuits, that are relayed and on a breaker to the battery. It seems a lot easier than individual in line fuses and has a grounding point on the fuse block.

X2....Running the 7 circuit model. Pleanty of room for switched and non-switched accessories all with branch circuit fuse protection. Plus it has a circuit breaker for the main feed from the battery.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 07:59 AM   #57
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheel2Work View Post
I was really surprised that no one mentioned the Painless Wiring Circuit Boss in all of that! It has 3 or 7 circuits, that are relayed and on a breaker to the battery. It seems a lot easier than individual in line fuses and has a grounding point on the fuse block.
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteyj View Post
X2....Running the 7 circuit model. Pleanty of room for switched and non-switched accessories all with branch circuit fuse protection. Plus it has a circuit breaker for the main feed from the battery.
I just checked out that one... its a lot more expensive than the blue seas one, and the only differences that I see is that it comes with a circuit breaker, and doesn't have a cover
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 09:54 AM   #58
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Coast
Posts: 136
I use a "fused" buss bar.
20ga is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 09:58 AM   #59
Newb
 
soccer jerseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
I would use something bigger than 14amp, just to be safe!!!
__________________
soccer jerseys
soccer jerseys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 10:25 AM   #60
Jeeper
 
Kevbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,637
let me throw this out there...what does a dual battery system gain you in a jeep?...only necessary if a winch is in place? would offer more room for "clean power" 12V hookups

http://www.quadratec.com/products/17004_1000.htm

Kevbz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCV valve on a 1991 Wrangler Shnookiepookie Communications and Electronics 4 03-07-2012 01:33 PM
What kind of windshield header is this? IROCthe4.0L TJ General Discussion Forum 17 02-21-2012 10:56 AM
New member in Bloomsburg 12JKRubicon07FJCruiser WF New Member Check In 9 02-21-2012 03:35 AM
What tools can't you live without?? Kevbz General Jeep Discussion 27 02-20-2012 07:46 PM
New JKU on order! starcreek JK General Discussion Forum 4 02-20-2012 10:39 AM


» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC