So I've run out of room on my battery, what do you all do in this case? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-20-2012, 11:52 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
So I've run out of room on my battery, what do you all do in this case?

I put on my new KC's, and now I can't fit everything on the battery. I have an amp, back up lights, my winch and the KC lights. I was thinking about setting up a terminal strip on the fender next to the battery and wiring everything to there and then having one wire from the terminal strip to the battery. I'd probably keep the winch wire on the battery, but I'd want to put all the small stuff on this terminal strip. Has anyone done this? I think this would work, but want to get some second opinions.

Thanks

__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
TroutBumTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 245
Do you have accessory posts on the side of your battery? Not an actual post, just where you can screw more posts in. My optima has them on the front.

TroutBumTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:20 PM   #3
Full Size Jeep Dr.

WF Supporting Member
 
lindel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The land of Salted Iron
Posts: 2,193
Go to an electronics shop and get a terminal board. Available in all sizes and amperage capabilities.

Mount it where you like, you can feed all of your attachments off of it.
__________________
His: 1999 Flame Red TJ, With a few mods...

Hers: 1987 Grand Wagoneer, stock w/Falken Wildpeak ATs
lindel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:23 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
TroutBumTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 245
Also, you're gonna need a hefty reliable battery with all those accessories. The Die Hard Platinum series from Sears has gotten great reviews. My Optima (yellow top) has served me well, but I've heard that they are nothing near the quality they once were.
TroutBumTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:24 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
mudmagnet63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whiskey River OK
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by lindel View Post
Go to an electronics shop and get a terminal board. Available in all sizes and amperage capabilities.

Mount it where you like, you can feed all of your attachments off of it.

Yep that's what I did on my old cj too much on the battery post. Do as you suggested leave the winch and move the rest.
mudmagnet63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:46 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Thanks... I just picked up a terminal strip and terminal connections. I got 12g wire to go from the strip to the battery, that'll be enough right? It'll just be two sets of lights and the amp, and probably another set of lights in the future. Oh and my cb, forgot about that
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:47 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by TroutBumTJ View Post
Do you have accessory posts on the side of your battery? Not an actual post, just where you can screw more posts in. My optima has them on the front.
No I don't

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroutBumTJ View Post
Also, you're gonna need a hefty reliable battery with all those accessories. The Die Hard Platinum series from Sears has gotten great reviews. My Optima (yellow top) has served me well, but I've heard that they are nothing near the quality they once were.
Yeah I've heard the same... I have the Duralast gold from Autozone, I'll see how that one does, but will probably end up upgrading... that Die Hard is pretty expensive!
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 12:57 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
neverfastenough1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 925
Your amp cable is smaller than 12 Gauge? I am not an electrician, but I think I would have gone with something larger.
neverfastenough1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 01:12 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverfastenough1 View Post
Your amp cable is smaller than 12 Gauge? I am not an electrician, but I think I would have gone with something larger.
Yeah I think its 14, but not positive... I guess I could actually as my brother seeing as he is an electrician haha
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 01:13 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
Thanks... I just picked up a terminal strip and terminal connections. I got 12g wire to go from the strip to the battery, that'll be enough right? It'll just be two sets of lights and the amp, and probably another set of lights in the future. Oh and my cb, forgot about that
Can we get pictures of the terminal strip and where you are going to mount it and maybe a part number also?
Jowilly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 01:14 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jowilly View Post
Can we get pictures of the terminal strip and where you are going to mount it and maybe a part number also?
Yeah sure, but I don't have a part #, I picked it up at my local hardware store, and they just have them in drawers, not packaged... let me go take some pics
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 01:40 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Pics
So for some reason I had it in my head that fender closest to the battery was empty, but it actually has the airbox on it, the other fender is empty however. I took some pics of possible mounting locations, what do you think?

Here's the strip:



Here's the driver side fender



A Possibility



another possibility

__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 02:35 PM   #13
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
yoopone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Suburban Chicago and the UP of Michigan
Posts: 598
__________________
1989 YJ
1997 TJ
1999 TJ
2006 TJ
2005 TJ Rubicon
yoopone is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 02:50 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
TXST8tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 1,942
Send a message via AIM to TXST8tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
Yeah I've heard the same... I have the Duralast gold from Autozone
I have a Duralast Gold as well and it has top and side terminals.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
Yeah I think its 14, but not positive... I guess I could actually as my brother seeing as he is an electrician haha
Since 12awg is too small for what you're doing. 14awg is definitely way too small.
__________________
- Patrick
TXST8tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 02:53 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
KrzyMoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: La Marque, TX
Posts: 464
Please be sure not to use the Side Terminals for high Amp stuff.

Here is a link to Stu's on electrical stuff:
Electrical and Lighting Write-ups
__________________
Kimo

2003 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon


Remember to Tread Lightly
KrzyMoke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 03:30 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXST8tj View Post
I have a Duralast Gold as well and it has top and side terminals.....

Really? I'm pretty sure mine doesn't, unless they're hidden or I'm completely ignorant of what side terminals are, I'm assuming they're terminals on the side haha

Since 12awg is too small for what you're doing. 14awg is definitely way too small.
I mean I think the amp is 14, so I'm using 12 from the terminal
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 04:05 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
blue6tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 550
If you go to a Marine Store you can get really good Water Proof J-Boxes/Terminal Strips.
__________________
[B]2006 Jeep Unlimited RE Express 4 1/2" Lift, JKS 1.25" BL, 37x14.50R15, Toyo Open Country Tires, Tom Woods Drive Shafts, SYE Kit, D30/D44 4.88 Gears, Warn 8000 lb Winch, Cobra CB, Viair On-Board Air, Bushwacker Flat Fenders, and Lots of light
blue6tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 04:10 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
neverfastenough1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 925
Is that a "connector strip" or a "terminal strip"? A connector strip just lets you connect wires at a junction (one wire in, one wire out the other side), and a terminal strip lets you connect a positive or negative (or both) to a strip of connectors.
neverfastenough1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 04:22 PM   #19
Custom JEEP Decals
 
TJe0454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 1,482
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.
__________________
I brake for humans.
Maryland Flag JEEP Stickers!!

My 3/4 link build
TJe0454 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 04:33 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
neverfastenough1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJe0454 View Post
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.
Might if it is a small 150w amp. I was going to say 3 gauge, but hesitated because I am no electrician. Glad you chimed with 4. I was also going to say mount it in the cockpit so you don't have to run every wire through the firewall. Also, if you only need to connect a couple things, there should be two terminal posts in the underhood fuse box right in front of the battery. At least mine has them.
neverfastenough1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 05:08 PM   #21
Custom JEEP Decals
 
TJe0454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 1,482
its better to have larger gauge wire and spend a little more rather than than smaller and melt the wires/cause a fire... i have 3 amps in my heep, all with 4 gauge wire for power and ground. each positive is directly connected to battery and ground is very short and grounded to tub.
__________________
I brake for humans.
Maryland Flag JEEP Stickers!!

My 3/4 link build
TJe0454 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 07:50 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverfastenough1 View Post
Is that a "connector strip" or a "terminal strip"? A connector strip just lets you connect wires at a junction (one wire in, one wire out the other side), and a terminal strip lets you connect a positive or negative (or both) to a strip of connectors.
Yeah its a connector strip, sorry... but I have these little jumpers that connect the adjacent connectors, if that makes any sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJe0454 View Post
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.
I don't understand why I need an aux fuse box. Since the existing setup is just a pile of wires on the battery, I just wanted to move them off the battery. So why wouldn't just using a terminal strip work? It would be doing the same thing, just moving the stuff away from the battery.
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:10 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
mudmagnet63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whiskey River OK
Posts: 556
I think they are refering to the supply wire to the terminal not being large enough. I used a marine terminal that had the stud sticking up from the main battery lead. I don't remember wire size, but it was about 1/2the size of the actual battery leads.
mudmagnet63 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:12 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudmagnet63 View Post
I think they are refering to the supply wire to the terminal not being large enough. I used a marine terminal that had the stud sticking up from the main battery lead. I don't remember wire size, but it was about 1/2the size of the actual battery leads.
I see, so since it wouldn't be large enough, it'd be better to use a fuse block?
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:19 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: abq , new mexico
Posts: 98
i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room
baerbonesjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:20 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: abq , new mexico
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by baerbonesjones View Post
i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room
two optima yellow tops
baerbonesjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by baerbonesjones View Post
i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room
Yeah I should probably do that, but that route is a whole lot more expensive than any of the others! haha It'll happen eventually, but I want to do something that'll work fine, not burn my Jeep to the ground, and not cost me a lot of money. I like doing stuff with materials that already in my house, and found like 10 terminal strips in my basement, so I'd like to use one if possible.

What if I left the winch and amp on the battery, and just had my shitty back up lights, (2) 100w KC's and CB on a terminal strip, would that be okay?

thanks
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #28
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,172
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrzyMoke View Post
Please be sure not to use the Side Terminals for high Amp stuff.
That's a good cautionary recommendation for a winch which can easily pull >400 amperes and melt the connections to the side posts on some batteries like from Optima but any battery's side posts will be fine for his lights, amplifier, etc.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:27 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
jstone326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
That's a good cautionary recommendation for a winch which can easily pull >400 amperes and melt the connections to the side posts on some batteries like from Optima but any battery's side posts will be fine for his lights, amplifier, etc.
I'm still no seeing side posts on my battery... does someone have a pic of the Duralast Gold with the side posts?
__________________
Drive it like you rented it, not like you stole it. Cus if you stole it, you'd be driving 5 mph below the speed limit and using your turn signals.
jstone326 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 08:42 PM   #30
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,172
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstone326 View Post
I'm still no seeing side posts on my battery... does someone have a pic of the Duralast Gold with the side posts?
Only a small percentage of batteries have both top and side posts... your battery must not have side posts.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCV valve on a 1991 Wrangler Shnookiepookie Communications and Electronics 5 08-01-2014 10:31 AM
What kind of windshield header is this? IROCthe4.0L TJ General Discussion Forum 17 02-21-2012 11:56 AM
New member in Bloomsburg 12JKRubicon07FJCruiser WF New Member Check In 9 02-21-2012 04:35 AM
What tools can't you live without?? Kevbz General Jeep Discussion 27 02-20-2012 08:46 PM
New JKU on order! starcreek JK General Discussion Forum 4 02-20-2012 11:39 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC