Stereo install harness question - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-10-2013, 08:20 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Mtber7828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nepa
Posts: 134
Ok guys I just finished hooking up the deck, it worked great, flawlessly. Now tomorrow hooking up the kicker speakers after some morning bowhunting. Thanks again guys

Mtber7828 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-10-2013, 08:30 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
Kevlarkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 29
I just put an MP3 player in my '99. I looked and most kits I found were not plug and pray. I ended up sorting each wire on both end. Compared the single adapter that came with my stereo with the pair of connectors that came in the install kit. The colors matched up but to be sure I referred to the diagram that came with my harness.

I soldered mine together and covered with heat shrink. Clean, durable and professional. Should last a long time

__________________
1999 Jeep Wrangler SE. Plain Jane and I love it!
Kevlarkev is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-10-2013, 10:56 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,513
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtber7828 View Post
ok guys, I just got my harness and Kenwood 255u stereo. On the Wiring Harness there are 2 orange wires (illumination and dimmer) there are NO Orange wires on the kenwood plug. What do I do? just leave them unwired? Thank you
If you are talking about the harness wires and the separate Kenwood wire connections to the harness, then what you want to do is to identify the wires on the Kenwood stereo and connect them to your Harness wires.

The Kenwood stereo wires might not match the colors on the harness. The important thing is the description of the Kenwood wires. If you have no wire that says "illumination" then you don't have to worry about it.

But, most Car Stereos do have an illumination wire. This is because most car stereo's have an illuminated readout for Radio Broadcast Channels, and to let you know which option your are using, such as CD/Aux/Bluetooth/Radio.
The illumination wire will allow you turn reduce/increase the intensity of the illumination on your radio, based on your headlight knob that you turn to effect the interior lights at night. I think that knob works whether or not you have your headlights on.
ChasUGC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 04:38 AM   #34
Jeeper
 
Mtber7828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nepa
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasUGC View Post
If you are talking about the harness wires and the separate Kenwood wire connections to the harness, then what you want to do is to identify the wires on the Kenwood stereo and connect them to your Harness wires.

The Kenwood stereo wires might not match the colors on the harness. The important thing is the description of the Kenwood wires. If you have no wire that says "illumination" then you don't have to worry about it.

But, most Car Stereos do have an illumination wire. This is because most car stereo's have an illuminated readout for Radio Broadcast Channels, and to let you know which option your are using, such as CD/Aux/Bluetooth/Radio.
The illumination wire will allow you turn reduce/increase the intensity of the illumination on your radio, based on your headlight knob that you turn to effect the interior lights at night. I think that knob works whether or not you have your headlights on.
Yes, there were No orange wires coming off the kenwood plug. So I wrapped up the orange wires on the harness side and shrink wrapped them. I did find out however in the functions of the kenwood there is a dimmer that's works well, Not controlled by your lights/dimmer.
Mtber7828 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-29-2013, 10:54 AM   #35
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 5
I searched around and this thread seemed like a logical place to ask a speaker question...

2001 TJ. I took out the factory front 4x6 speakers. There was a 2-connection plug for each, as I expected.

And 2 inches down there was another smaller 2 wire plug. It was unused. I don't know what it's for.

I'm upgrading to 2-way speakers. Do I need to use those wires to the second (mini) plug, or is that something else?

Thanks for any experience or pointers.
Rustface is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-29-2013, 11:35 AM   #36
Jeeper
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 469
Send a message via MSN to Tiburon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustface View Post
I searched around and this thread seemed like a logical place to ask a speaker question...

2001 TJ. I took out the factory front 4x6 speakers. There was a 2-connection plug for each, as I expected.

And 2 inches down there was another smaller 2 wire plug. It was unused. I don't know what it's for.

I'm upgrading to 2-way speakers. Do I need to use those wires to the second (mini) plug, or is that something else?

Thanks for any experience or pointers.
Don't need the second wire. Your 2 ways have all that built in. Just wire the factory speaker wire to your new speakers. Make sure you pay attention to polarity (+&-). If you are going to cut the wire i'd suggest not to. Instead strip some insulation off a few inches back from the plug. That way if you need to your factory speakers can be reinstalled.
__________________
06 Yellow SE, Stock for now.
Tiburon is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-29-2013, 01:16 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
LukeEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 616
Hi jacking thread a little bit sorry! I'm trying to disconnect the POs system. I took out subwoofers there's a crossover amp and capacitor left. Currently the only sound I have is coming to my sound bar. I'm not familiar with the way they all are linked. Does the head unit have separate connections for the sound bar and amp? Or is it all connected to the amp which runs to my head unit? So if I took the amp I'll have to rewire sound bar to HU? There are row tweeters in my front console but they don't work. And I would like to add working speakers in the front. Any insight is greatly appreciated at this point I'm just chasing wires!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1130489622.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	225.9 KB
ID:	552386  
LukeEC is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #38
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiburon View Post
Don't need the second wire. Your 2 ways have all that built in. Just wire the factory speaker wire to your new speakers. Make sure you pay attention to polarity (+&-). If you are going to cut the wire i'd suggest not to. Instead strip some insulation off a few inches back from the plug. That way if you need to your factory speakers can be reinstalled.
Good tips. I'm going to do it the way you suggest. Thank you.

But that extra tiny plug connector... Hm. Wish I could have listened in on the electrical planning meetings 13 years ago.
Rustface is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-08-2014, 09:58 AM   #39
Jeeper
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 469
Send a message via MSN to Tiburon
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeEC View Post
Hi jacking thread a little bit sorry! I'm trying to disconnect the POs system. I took out subwoofers there's a crossover amp and capacitor left. Currently the only sound I have is coming to my sound bar. I'm not familiar with the way they all are linked. Does the head unit have separate connections for the sound bar and amp? Or is it all connected to the amp which runs to my head unit? So if I took the amp I'll have to rewire sound bar to HU? There are row tweeters in my front console but they don't work. And I would like to add working speakers in the front. Any insight is greatly appreciated at this point I'm just chasing wires!
Looks like the amp and the crossover were used for the subs only based on the picture provided. To disconnect everything first remove the fuse on the main power wire that runs from the battery to the capacitor. Now you'll need to discharge the capacitor, the easiest way is to use a small light like a mini Christmas bulb and touch the + & - ends on the cap. The light will turn on, and progressively dim until it goes out. Be careful to not allow the points to arc as you may get a big spark. You can now remove all the wires safely. I'd recommend removing the power wire all the way to the battery so it isn't accidentally hooked back up without being connected to anything.
As for your tweeters you'll need to see if there is a passive crossover, before they are attached to a speaker wire. Without seeing how its attached its difficult to make a recommendation. Good luck.
__________________
06 Yellow SE, Stock for now.
Tiburon is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-08-2014, 01:25 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
LukeEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiburon View Post
Looks like the amp and the crossover were used for the subs only based on the picture provided. To disconnect everything first remove the fuse on the main power wire that runs from the battery to the capacitor. Now you'll need to discharge the capacitor, the easiest way is to use a small light like a mini Christmas bulb and touch the + & - ends on the cap. The light will turn on, and progressively dim until it goes out. Be careful to not allow the points to arc as you may get a big spark. You can now remove all the wires safely. I'd recommend removing the power wire all the way to the battery so it isn't accidentally hooked back up without being connected to anything.
As for your tweeters you'll need to see if there is a passive crossover, before they are attached to a speaker wire. Without seeing how its attached its difficult to make a recommendation. Good luck.
Thanks for the reply I spent the last month learning about sound systems to figure that out...it's a mono channel amp for the sub. Did all the disconnections. Couldn't figure out any info on the tweeters I just pulled the bezel off and saw they were run to the HU. Sound bar has HF and LF wires. Just gonna rewire from scratch. Bummer!

LukeEC is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC