Sye - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-21-2009, 12:37 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
danieldlg_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,012
Send a message via MSN to danieldlg_13 Send a message via Yahoo to danieldlg_13
Sye

I have a 2002 TJ with a 2" BB and 31" tires. I am looking to lift my jeep in the near future but I don't want to buy it all at once. Little by little I'll purchase certain items and then when I have it all together I'll install them. I know going higher will require me to install a SYE, but I wanted to know if I can just install it now so that way I can already have it when I throw on the lift? I had one in mind, RE1811 - SYE KIT, HEAVY DUTY NP231 ONLY - Rubicon Express but any other recommendations will be appreciated. Anything else that I'll need? The type of lift I'm thinking about getting is an OME.

danieldlg_13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 12:55 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
danieldlg_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,012
Send a message via MSN to danieldlg_13 Send a message via Yahoo to danieldlg_13

danieldlg_13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 01:20 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
twopolarbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 31
You need to look up under your drivers side, and get the numbers off the tag on the transfer case.... but you probably have an NP231 or NV231 unless it's a Rubicon model. If it is indeed the NP231, you'll want the RE1811 Kit... call RE and ask them.... they are pretty good about getting you what you need. Or you can try northridge4x4, alljeep, DPGoffroad, 4wd, Quadratec. 4xshaft.com is a good one.
__________________
02 TJ Sahara - 5spd - Stock (for now)
Ultra Nomad Wheels 15x10 with Goodyear Wrangler DuraTracs 33x12.5
Soon to be lifted in the Air by RE Superflex(click)
twopolarbears is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 06:03 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
danieldlg_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,012
Send a message via MSN to danieldlg_13 Send a message via Yahoo to danieldlg_13
So what it better a SYE kit or a fixed yoke output and a CV driveshaft ?
danieldlg_13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 06:09 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
I went Mega shortie from rugged ridge best price I could find also gives the longest driveline. A CV shaft is the best way to go also.
__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 06:09 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
A SYE is a fixed yoke output.
With 2.5" OME springs I didn´t need a SYE and I had no vibes and TJ drop.

With 5.5" lift and a 3.5" higher TC skid I didn´t need a SS SYE.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2009, 11:18 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jeepzcb09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: springfield,OH
Posts: 714
A good friend of mine has a 4in lift and no SYE and its fine ,he runs the shit out of it and it hold up excellent! But my other friend with also a 4inlift and a SYE and who BTW treats his jeep like a god had his drive shast fall out while driving home from work! WTF ??????? So when i get my 4in lift in the near futer i probubly will not get a SYE, just because i feel its unnnecessary with a 4in lift and under
__________________
1998 Tj Sport: Rough Country,MetalCloak,GoodYear,Alpine,Crager,AtoZ

Check out my band:AfterTatse2010.webs
Jeepzcb09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:13 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
with 4" you need a 1" TC drop to avoid driveline vibes.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:16 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
Nicolas a longer driveline has never hurt anybody. I figured for the extra 40 bucks I might as well get the longest possible shaft in there.
__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:22 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
I heard of problems with the speedo gears with a SS SYE. That´s why I bought a normal SYE. But you´re right. The longer the driveshaft the better.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:23 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
I will give input on that tm. I am going to wire mine up. (has to be hard wired).
__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:26 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
You have to wire it up? Do you need a second speedo then?
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 01:43 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
No the plug on my truck to the new speed sensor are different. I have to hard wire them so it works. It is just 3 wires no biggy. Later model TJ's don't have to worry about the tone ring issue like I do. Nicolas for as much as I know it should of worked in your truck.
__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 10:17 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
danieldlg_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,012
Send a message via MSN to danieldlg_13 Send a message via Yahoo to danieldlg_13
But its ok to go ahead and put one on now without the lift? This way it'll be ready when the lift goes on.
danieldlg_13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-22-2009, 10:24 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
I would not put it in before the lift because you really want to roll the axle back after the lift. So if you measure for your driveshaft without the axle in the correct place with the lift the numbers might not add up. I would buy and hold onto it. When you do the lift do the SYE at the same time.

__________________
Know nothing SPEAK on everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccain View Post
Isn't the JK just a rebodied PT Cruiser?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj
Just a few more inches Red. You can take it.


If you haven't gotten more out of the insurance company than you deserve, then you haven't screwed them nearly as much as they have been screwing you for the past xx years.
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC