SYE, Driveshaft, 4" inch suspension lift - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-20-2013, 01:32 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
TJTim316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
SYE, Driveshaft, 4" inch suspension lift

Just a quick question for you guys, looking at getting a SYE Kit it the near future and was wondering, would I have to get a new shaft or will the stock one be ok? Pre 4" lift? Post 4" lift? Thanks in advance

TJTim316 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:46 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Dextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 3,546
Images: 1
Assuming your currently have a a slip yoke, you will need to replace the oem driveshaft with a CV type when you install a SYE.




The driveline has to be able to move in/out (see the blue area).

__________________
'99 Chilli Pepper TJ Wrangler "Mistress"
33x12.5 DuraTracs
Zone 4.25"
Dextreme is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:47 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,221
You need a to get a DC (double cardan) shaft after installing an SYE; the SYE, ie slip-yoke eliminator, does just that. It eliminates the slip yoke from the t-case, and moves it to the drive shaft. Thus the connection point is different, resulting in a new shaft.

You will most likely need a different length shaft after the 4" lift. I'd wait until you have the lift installed to get your shaft if possible.
geiman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:49 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
TJTim316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
thanks, yeah I realized how dumb the question was as soon as I submitted it. thanks for the pics though man. one thing though, if I put the sye and shaft in, would it be compatible with a 4" suspension lift or would the shaft need to be changed?
TJTim316 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:51 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
TJTim316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I appreciate the info fellas, thanks alot, looking to build her up a little and have some fun with it!
TJTim316 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:52 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,803
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTim316 View Post
thanks, yeah I realized how dumb the question was as soon as I submitted it. thanks for the pics though man. one thing though, if I put the sye and shaft in, would it be compatible with a 4" suspension lift or would the shaft need to be changed?
You need an aftermarket CV (aka Constant Velocity, aka double-Cardin) driveshaft when you install a SYE kit. The proper length of that CV driveshaft depends on your Jeep's height & t-case output shaft length so you will need to pre-measure what length CV driveshaft you'll need to order.
__________________
Remember that having a different opinion doesn't also require one to be a jerk when expressing it.

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 02:45 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTim316 View Post
one thing though, if I put the sye and shaft in, would it be compatible with a 4" suspension lift or would the shaft need to be changed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by geiman View Post
You will most likely need a different length shaft after the 4" lift. I'd wait until you have the lift installed to get your shaft if possible.
The shaft will most likely have enough slip that it will sort of work, but it won't be the "proper" fit. Tom Wood would say you want your shaft to fit like a glove, and to do so you'll need to measure after the lift is installed.
geiman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 07:54 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
DutchmansLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Del Mar, CA
Posts: 186
Try tom woods they got good prices and they knew once i told them what lift i was putting in the length of the driveshaft i would need with out me having to measure it out so got everthing in at same time, give them a ring.
__________________
06 Wrangler Unlimited 4.5in RE SF kit AEV tummy tucker BFG KM2 35s MB72s Tomwoods SYE & CV shaft PSC trail stinger custom rear tire swingaway bumper warn9500ti
DutchmansLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 07:51 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
stumpbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ct
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
You need an aftermarket CV (aka Constant Velocity, aka double-Cardin) driveshaft when you install a SYE kit. The proper length of that CV driveshaft depends on your Jeep's height & t-case output shaft length so you will need to pre-measure what length CV driveshaft you'll need to order.
is this totally true though?
would he NEED the shaft
i agree it would be the way to go, although not sure if absolutely needed
in case he had the money for sye and had to save the extra 400 for the shaft or whatevr
__________________
......_____
......\o____o
../----L- []IIIII[]-
...............====
()_) ()_)=o==)_)..
RUBICON ON 37'S
stumpbuster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 07:56 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpbuster View Post
is this totally true though?
would he NEED the shaft
You can't install an SYE and use your stock shaft; it won't bolt up, period. From above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by geiman View Post
You need a to get a DC (double cardan) shaft after installing an SYE; the SYE, ie slip-yoke eliminator, does just that. It eliminates the slip yoke from the t-case, and moves it to the drive shaft. Thus the connection point is different, resulting in a new shaft.

You will most likely need a different length shaft after the 4" lift. I'd wait until you have the lift installed to get your shaft if possible.
Look at the pictures in Dextreme's post above; look specifically at how the drive shaft connects to the t-case. The SYE essentially gives you a fixed output on your t-case, at which point there is no slip shaft for the stock drive shaft to attach to.

That being said, if you need to spread it out a bit you can drive temporarilly in front wheel drive if need be. Typically people install the SYE and measure for the shaft, then order it and wait for it to come in. It's the best way to make sure your shaft is the proper length. In the meantime, it's perfectly fine to drive in front wheel drive (shift t-case into 4-HI) until the shaft comes in. I did that for about two weeks while I waited on mine to be shortened/rebuilt a few months ago.
geiman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 08:07 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
UnlimitedLJ04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,315
__________________
Suggested Tech Readings
UnlimitedLJ04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 11:27 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
stumpbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ct
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by geiman View Post
You can't install an SYE and use your stock shaft; it won't bolt up, period.
ok, i was just wondering how they do it with the rubicons in that case
__________________
......_____
......\o____o
../----L- []IIIII[]-
...............====
()_) ()_)=o==)_)..
RUBICON ON 37'S
stumpbuster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 11:36 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpbuster View Post
ok, i was just wondering how they do it with the rubicons in that case
Rubicons use an NP 241 t-case, which already has a fixed output. Thus there is no Slip-Yoke Eliminator (SYE) kit needed since there is no slip-yoke to eliminate.

All other TJs use the NP 231 t-case, which does not have a fixed output shaft by default.
geiman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2013, 12:17 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
stumpbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ct
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by geiman View Post
Rubicons use an NP 241 t-case, which already has a fixed output. Thus there is no Slip-Yoke Eliminator (SYE) kit needed since there is no slip-yoke to eliminate.

All other TJs use the NP 231 t-case, which does not have a fixed output shaft by default.
gotcha thanks for info

__________________
......_____
......\o____o
../----L- []IIIII[]-
...............====
()_) ()_)=o==)_)..
RUBICON ON 37'S
stumpbuster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC