tansmission temp gauge.. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-09-2011, 06:27 PM   #1
Jeep Ninja

WF Supporting Member
 
scgeek12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,827
Question tansmission temp gauge..

i am looking at adding a trans temp gauge to my 99 tj with a 4.0L and ax15 5spd, ive added a trans temp gauge before to my S10 but it was an auto and i just pulled the pan and put it in there, anyone got any good ways of putting one on a manual transmission? i dont mind putting it in the lines if thats the only way to do it but dont know what size T fitting to get?

__________________
"if it aint broke, fix it till' it is!"
my build- http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/scge...ad-117592.html
scgeek12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:39 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by scgeek12 View Post
i am looking at adding a trans temp gauge to my 99 tj with a 4.0L and ax15 5spd, ive added a trans temp gauge before to my S10 but it was an auto and i just pulled the pan and put it in there, anyone got any good ways of putting one on a manual transmission? i dont mind putting it in the lines if thats the only way to do it but dont know what size T fitting to get?
What lines?
A manual tranny doesn't have a cooling system like an auto. It has no need because it doesn't have the wasted energy to burn off like an auto does.

__________________
Scoob
Scoob is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:42 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
DKarge87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 249
Send a message via AIM to DKarge87
Where would you put it in an auto and where would you put the gauge? Pics would be great
DKarge87 is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:43 PM   #4
Jeep Ninja

WF Supporting Member
 
scgeek12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
What lines?
A manual tranny doesn't have a cooling system like an auto. It has no need because it doesn't have the wasted energy to burn off like an auto does.
well than that solves that lol, guess i could have looked at it first (this is my first manual vehicle) if it doesnt need a cooling system is there even any use for a temp gauge then? ive seen a few people who have them , just not sure how they hooked them up
__________________
"if it aint broke, fix it till' it is!"
my build- http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/scge...ad-117592.html
scgeek12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:45 PM   #5
Jeep Ninja

WF Supporting Member
 
scgeek12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKarge87 View Post
Where would you put it in an auto and where would you put the gauge? Pics would be great
i had one in my S10 that i put in the dash but i just took the transmission pan down to a muffler shop and had them weld in a helicoil type insert for it to go into, but for my TJ which is a 5spd i was looking at putting it in something like this- 15219 - Gauge Works Center Gauge Pod for 97-06 Jeep® Wrangler TJ & Unlimited - Quadratec
__________________
"if it aint broke, fix it till' it is!"
my build- http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/scge...ad-117592.html
scgeek12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by scgeek12 View Post
well than that solves that lol, guess i could have looked at it first (this is my first manual vehicle) if it doesnt need a cooling system is there even any use for a temp gauge then? ive seen a few people who have them , just not sure how they hooked them up
Yeh there is really no need for a temp gauge on a manual tranny. Unless you were pulling a heavy trailer all the time. Since there is no pan you would pretty much have to tap and drill the tranny case to mount the sending unit.
__________________
Scoob
Scoob is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:30 PM   #7
Jeep Ninja

WF Supporting Member
 
scgeek12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
Yeh there is really no need for a temp gauge on a manual tranny. Unless you were pulling a heavy trailer all the time. Since there is no pan you would pretty much have to tap and drill the tranny case to mount the sending unit.
thats all i needed to know, thanks doesnt seem like it would be worth it at all, i dont tow anything at all

__________________
"if it aint broke, fix it till' it is!"
my build- http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/scge...ad-117592.html
scgeek12 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Gauge almeida944s2 YJ Tech Forum 0 03-22-2011 12:03 PM
Fuel gauge and temp gauge not working? BrandonG TJ General Discussion Forum 4 12-10-2010 09:44 PM
temp gauge not working wrangler44 YJ Tech Forum 6 06-03-2009 05:54 AM
Auto Tranny Oil Temp Gauge ???s nicolas-eric TJ Tech Forum 20 02-15-2008 12:47 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC