throttle position sensor - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-25-2012, 06:08 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
throttle position sensor

I Changed the tps and plugs,wires and distr cap and rotor. Still runs like poo and the c e light is still on. Anyone have suggestions?

jamesmacias56 is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 06:23 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,016
What's the code/s

__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:20 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,767
Images: 2
More info... what year TJ and what codes? Do you know how to display the codes that are stored? The only years you can't display your own codes are '98-'00.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:52 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Its a 99 sahara 4.o manual. P1023 tps/ pedal position sensor curcuit A is what the computer reads.Ive put 2 new tps and new wires plugs and dist cap + rotor. I checked every wire all is good checked every connector and clock springs all is good. Can someone help me out?
jamesmacias56 is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:54 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,016
If you are buying the TPS switches from a local auto parts store, made in china, you should return them for your money back and and get one from the dealer. China parts are very unreliable.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:54 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Ive also unhooked the battery and the c e light is still on also.
jamesmacias56 is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:56 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Its a carquest part made in mexico. Dealership is gonna be made in some foreign country too. Probably china too. Or close to it.
jamesmacias56 is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:58 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,767
Images: 2
Did you buy your TPS's from the dealer or an auto parts store like Autozone? Sensors sold by retailers like Autozone are usually cheap Chinese imports which commonly cause problems. My son's oil pressure sender went bad on a Sunday so I was forced to go to my local Autozone. It wasn't until I got the 3rd replacement sensor installed that Sunday did the gauge finally start working properly. One of the 3 Autozone oil pressure sensors even caused the oil pressure gauge to work backwards... high indicated pressure at idle and low pressure at cruising rpms.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:00 PM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Its a carquest part. Had autozone on there and returned it.
jamesmacias56 is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:14 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 996
Jeeps don't like non OEM electronics. I had to replace my TPS 4 times. The last one was from the dealer and it fixed my problem. Only thing is cant get the CEL to go off. Any suggestions? Not trying to hijack your thread BTW.
BigGreenMachine is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:17 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,016
Did you hook up a code reader to clear the codes. I have 4 grown kids and many cars to look after so I picked up a code reader for my self years ago. Very handy and not very expensive.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:10 AM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,767
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGreenMachine View Post
Jeeps don't like non OEM electronics. I had to replace my TPS 4 times. The last one was from the dealer and it fixed my problem. Only thing is cant get the CEL to go off. Any suggestions?
Disconnect the PCM's driver's side connector for 2 minutes, then reconnect it and the code will be cleared. There are three connectors on the PCM, just disconnect the one closest to the driver's side. You could also disconnect the battery's negative lead for two minutes but that will also reset your clock and radio stations.

Note that while the code and CEL will be cleared after doing the above, it'll just come back if the root cause of the code and CEL hasn't been fixed.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC