Trektop Question - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-01-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
MUDRUNNER AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SIERRA VISTA AZ
Posts: 554
Trektop Question

Hey all,
I am thinking of getting the bestop trektop nx next weekend. my question is for those who may have one already. if you have other than factory front cage bars do the door surrounds fit right or do you have to come up with a way to make them work? I call bestop and all they could tell me was they have not heard of an issue with fitment on most aftermarket cages. I have the orfab sport cage. I have read some that it is tight and hard to get on and off. As this is a top and a safari top in one i dont see a need to remove it multiple times a year. Thanks for any help or insight.

MUDRUNNER AZ is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
TXST8tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to TXST8tj
I am well versed in the Trektop NX. The door surrounds it comes with are identical to OEM surrounds other than the added quick release pin for the sunrider feature.

If your factory surrounds fit with the Or-Fab cage, these will.

__________________
- Patrick
TXST8tj is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
4wheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 514
Having just looked at the orfab for the first time, here's my thoughts.

Based on the pics I have seen, there are no holes in the roll bar directly above where the door meets the frame.

http://www.jeep4x4center.com/sport-c...ish-82086.html

Assuming you are okay with measuring and drilling holes through the bar on both sides, I agree that the door surrounds should meet flush with the door and support the trektop NX.

Watch this video at about the second minute to see why you need these holes to attach the door surrounds.



Hope this helps!
__________________
One day, you will be just a memory for some people. Do your best to be the good one.

4wheelin is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:52 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
MUDRUNNER AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SIERRA VISTA AZ
Posts: 554
Thx for the info i do not have door surrounds now as i have the supertop with full doors and they are not needed for this top and i never had them as i am not the first owner. I have looked at a few and it did look like i needed to drill holes and i can handle that. It is just nice to check with someone who may have already crossed that bridge.
Thx again.
MUDRUNNER AZ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC