Waterproofing switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-17-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
ubengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Buffalo & Long Island NY
Posts: 175
Waterproofing switches

So i want to add more switches to my jeep but im having trouble finding a spot to put them. Although Wired HDH controller is water proof i kinda like the feel of a switch. If i go with spod my fear is that if i go wheeling with no top it will get water inside the switches. . Also if i leave my jeep open in the rain same thing will happen. I know its never good to leave the top down in the rain but it happens sometimes but using the factory switch locations at least majority of it is protected. I know you cant always have whate you want or have your cake and eat it too but im hopping someone will have some suggestion.

ubengineer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 01:20 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Shelby427's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL and Hooversville PA
Posts: 2,131
Might want to look at Corrosion X. It's used for moisture/ corrosion protection and is a dielectric product. Great stuff!

Not so sure how you would get it into the switches though. It will find it's way into places as it's also used as a penetrate, so possibly dunking the switches then letting them drip dry would work.

__________________
97 Sahara, 74 Renegade, 72 CJ5, 55 Willy's (the Beast) Boss 302, 6:34 gearing, Bose 901 speakers.
God I miss that Jeep. Forgot the kinda Jeep, 80 SX4.
Shelby427 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
ubengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Buffalo & Long Island NY
Posts: 175
Will do.
ubengineer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 09:29 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubengineer View Post
Will do.

Unless you plan on submerging them in salt water, they can get wet. The spod windshield mount is nice, if you're super paranoid just drill a drain hole at the lowest point. Worse case scenario is that your accessory would turn on (highly unlikely) but it would also turn off once the connection is lost, because it goes through a relay.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 08:59 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
ubengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Buffalo & Long Island NY
Posts: 175
I wouldn’t be worried about the switches working more like water travelling through the wires corroding them from under the insulation and having to replace them all
ubengineer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubengineer View Post
I wouldn’t be worried about the switches working more like water travelling through the wires corroding them from under the insulation and having to replace them all
Simply not gonna happen with casual water intrusion due to rain.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 05:19 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
ubengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Buffalo & Long Island NY
Posts: 175
Do u like your spod?
ubengineer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 05:39 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubengineer View Post
Do u like your spod?
I don't have any serious complaints and it's definitely well constructed, so yes. It went in easy too. The only part I didn't do was the hole in my firewall, drove to an audio shop and had them drill it for a few bucks.

There are some cheaper alternatives, but this came with everything in a tight package. My opinion as an electrical engineer is that the electrical setup itself is first rate. A slightly higher rating (it's 50A) would have been nice, but most things constantly drawing a significant amount of juice (e.g., a winch, stereo amplifier, etc) should merely be triggered through the system. Each switched connection is also fused, which is good, and there is diode protection. The gauge cluster itself is pretty slick and looks almost OEM, with the exception that it doesn't meet up with the edges of the plastic window panels. The visors cover that and it's not painful to look at either.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 06:24 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
03Ruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 696
Just out of curiosity... what would you possibly need that many switches for in a spod? I could see a few lights but what about the rest? I have a distribution block mounted on my battery that has 6 outlets and I'm only using 4 and only 1 aftermarket switch in the stock location for my rear auxiliary light.
__________________
03' Freedom edition, 4.0, 5 speed, 4" zone lift, D30, Superior D35 with detroit locker, 4:56 gears, 33x12.5 bigfoot xt, 15x8 eagle alloys

God created all men equal, then a few of us became firefighters
03Ruth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 06:35 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Ruth View Post
Just out of curiosity... what would you possibly need that many switches for in a spod? I could see a few lights but what about the rest? I have a distribution block mounted on my battery that has 6 outlets and I'm only using 4 and only 1 aftermarket switch in the stock location for my rear auxiliary light.

Fogs, Driving, Front Locker, Rear Locker, Radio, Winch

Is that 6? Pretty easy for some depending on what kind of control you want.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 06:41 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
03Ruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 696
Yep that's 6! I guess it all depends on your setup. My fogs are on the turn signal and I have a Detroit in the rearend. Maybe a locker in the front one day! The spod setup does look nice though.
__________________
03' Freedom edition, 4.0, 5 speed, 4" zone lift, D30, Superior D35 with detroit locker, 4:56 gears, 33x12.5 bigfoot xt, 15x8 eagle alloys

God created all men equal, then a few of us became firefighters
03Ruth is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 06:49 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern VT // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Ruth View Post
Yep that's 6! I guess it all depends on your setup. My fogs are on the turn signal and I have a Detroit in the rearend. Maybe a locker in the front one day! The spod setup does look nice though.

It's hard to fill without the lockers. I'm in the process of linking my fogs into the OEM stalk, but I also wanted them to have their own switch.

A lot of the people getting this have ARB lockers where you control the compressor and f/r lockers, which knocks out 3 right there. I'm keeping the stock rubicon ones for the time being, but I wanted to be able to use independently so I'm modifying the OEM switch to act as enable (if under 10mph) for then independent F/R switches.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-19-2013, 08:13 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
GoodLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Navarre, Florida
Posts: 180
It rains salt water here in Florida. I buy marine grade products for anything that I know is going to get wet. Try somewhere like West Marine for your switches. My sister has been doing that with her CJ and it has been working great for her for the last 28 years.
__________________
It was the Law of the Sea, they said. Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -Hunter S. Thompson
GoodLife is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 02:24 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
ubengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Buffalo & Long Island NY
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Ruth View Post
Just out of curiosity... what would you possibly need that many switches for in a spod? I could see a few lights but what about the rest? I have a distribution block mounted on my battery that has 6 outlets and I'm only using 4 and only 1 aftermarket switch in the stock location for my rear auxiliary light.
I have both manual both front and rear lockers so I wouldn't need switches for that. I have currently in the stock locations 3 switches for lights. I want to add a winch switch, camera switch, rear defroster switch, rear wiper switch.

ubengineer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC