Wiring Aux Lights help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-21-2008, 10:02 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
chesterspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smoking in the Garage
Posts: 162
Send a message via Yahoo to chesterspl
Exclamation Wiring Aux Lights help

By the way thanks for all the help I have been givin' by everyone on here and a big thanks to Bert (47MTP) for the Rubicon parts and all the help. I have been working on my little cousins JEEP while he is over seas and getting it ready for him when he comes home. I have a new question for the pros here. I put 4 55W auxiliary light on the front bumper which looks great. I am going to hard wire these to a switch. All on at once. First do I need to have a relay or something b/c I am going to have 220W and also can a standard switch (little red ones that came with the old HELLA kit) work. Also if I need to I have the old relays and items that came with that HELLA kit. Can something send me a link on a how to or give me a quick step by step. Usually I can do these things but tonight I am having a brain fart. Thanks for any help

chesterspl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-21-2008, 10:26 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
yes you will need a relay and the hella relay will work just fine along with the switch. im not sure about your hella wire kit by my one already came pre-wired and marked as to where each wire goes. from what i remember there is a black wire that goes to the lights, a red one that goes to the battery with a fuse, a ground wire, and then there is a blue wire that gets spliced into the headlight power wire and run to the switch and then a yellow going from the switch to the relay.

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-21-2008, 11:18 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
dont mean to the thread but i have 4 100w lights (no name brand) that i wired and after i turned the lights on for about 15-20 minutes the toggle was pretty damn warm.
The wiring was a hot wire to the battery... a ground for the lights and then a ground for the switch.... no relays....

I plan on hooking 4 more up top but want to make sure i do it right... dont want to hurt my jeep.. i dont know if she would forgive me...lol

Thanks
Sorry for the highjack... just reminded me as i read your question..
KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2008, 01:06 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
Kelly. Stop. Do not pass go. Rip the wiring out and start again. The toggle switched aren't rated to handle the load of 100w lights let alone 3 of them. You need the relay. The toggle turns the relay on and off and it in turn handles the light load. You end up with one hot wire through the toggle and relay yo ground and another from the hot source (batt) to the relay and on to the lights.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2008, 09:03 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
Ok... so what kind of relay do i need and do i need once for each set?
I would like to run the grill lights with one toggle and the top lights with a different one.
KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2008, 10:12 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
Any of the light manufacturers sell kits that have the right parts. But yes one relay for each set you're running. You've got to remember that at 12V, a 400 watt load can be pulling something like 30 amps.

400W/12V = Amps
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2008, 05:56 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
Well i bought the two pair of lights and each pair came with just the wires and a toggle.... so i wanted to make sure i got the right relay.. that can handle the load.
Can i come off of two or more seperate relays onto one toggle
KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2008, 06:24 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
JCS05Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: central md
Posts: 2,748
If you need a relay, go to your local Radio Shak or something similar and get a 4 pin relay and a relay holder. You CANNOT wire aux lights without a relay, otherwise you are sending the current necessary to run 100 watts of lights through a thiny little plastic switch in your dash. You will end up with a fire. What the relay does, is send a SMALL amount of current to the switch. When the switch is flipped, it completes the circuit, trips the relay, and the RELAY sends the current necessary to the lights, not the switch.

Do a google search for AUX lighting schematics and you should get a good idea of how to run them really quick. I used radio shak relays/holders for my lights and just zip tied the relay holders to the engine bay brace. After awhile I ended up buy a sPOD. If you have the money, the sPOD is DEFINITELY the way to go. I lucked out and was given a used one (the old model, the person upgraded to the new model) for basically nothing. Even though it is the old model, I am still blown away by the product.

__________________
Dad's Blog! http://justkeepliving.blog.com/
T-Shirts for Dad, based on his "Just Keep Living" philosophy. http://www.cafepress.com/justkeepliving


1997 Wrangler Sport - 5 spd. Retired
2005 Wrangler Rubicon - 6spd|KC 55watt fogs, IPF H4s with fatboys,Uniden CB radio/Teraflex mount
http://www.4x4s-pod.com/
JCS05Rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where Do u run the wiring? Windshield Lights hokie822 TJ Tech Forum 6 12-27-2009 10:28 PM
good wiring diagram, fog light's and intereor lights punkafi888 General Jeep Discussion 0 12-25-2008 10:32 PM
wiring driving lights Darton General Jeep Discussion 13 01-20-2008 10:19 PM
Installed My Backup Lights YellowRubiU TJ General Discussion Forum 11 12-07-2006 10:11 PM
wiring lights tans20 TJ Tech Forum 3 03-14-2006 11:27 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.



Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC