blocks... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-11-2011, 05:41 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
blocks...

Quick question for the gang. I was looking into lifts and many of you were very helpfull in getting me good information, but a question i was wondering was is it possible to do leafspring blocks in the front and rear? i had the jeep up on the lift yesterday and i see i would probably need a steering drop down and i cant remember what else i saw, but has anyone ever experimented with this or know anything about trying somthing like that?

firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
If you look at the YJ, we run spring-under-axle so blocks wouldn't do anything for it as you'd be limited by the leaf-pack. The minute you do the Spring-over-axle (SOA) you gain the 3-4 inches of the axle. Never seen anyone do anything with blocks on a YJ.

__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2011, 07:57 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
POS YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 281
If your suspension is stock with the leaf springs under the axle, then adding the blocks will LOWER your Jeep, probably not what you want. Lift blocks can be used in the rear of sprung over vehicle only, NEVER on the front. You can use lift shackles to do a quick and cheap lift. For every 1" of lift that you want you need shackles that are 2" longer than stock. You will not be able to get 4" of lift just from shackles if that's what you were thinking.
POS YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2011, 09:36 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
nah im just looking for 2 or 3 inches. so if i do do a shackle kit what all components will i need? new struts? and new steering drop down? im not to fond of the SOA kits just because i always get nervous when welding new brakets on axels just for the fact of doing an internal weld which has happend to me before...
firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 01:26 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
billytheyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elko, NV
Posts: 1,320
i wouldnt reccomend doing anything over 1" lift on shackles just cuz going more than that it changes how your springs are affected by bumps and such, basically it causes excessive wear on the springs and can have them go flat prematurely.
go 1" shackle lift then go 1"bl for the cheapest route. that way you have nothin else to mess with. you can find shacles like that for anywhere from 60-100 bucks a pair and a bl like that for a couple hundred. do you currently already have a lift or are your running stock?
__________________
OHHHH BOOOO!!!!!!!!
billytheyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 09:45 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
no im am currently stock, so im trying to just achieve a couple more inches for a better ride height. not to found of bl. and not to fond of SOA, what about 2"body lift? would i still have to trip around the shifter so it goes into gear? or am i just better off saven up a bit and buyen the 3inch suspension lift for around 450?
firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 01:07 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
billytheyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elko, NV
Posts: 1,320
I don't know about what it would do to your shifter but I like what you said with savin up for a 3" lift. I know it sucks to have to wait but I think that is your best bet!
__________________
OHHHH BOOOO!!!!!!!!
billytheyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 07:42 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
Yeah i think after weighing out my options and everything i do believe im going to just wait. Id rather do it right the first time and have it be good then have to redone a bunch of things later.
firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 08:44 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
billytheyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elko, NV
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by firstresponder
Yeah i think after weighing out my options and everything i do believe im going to just wait. Id rather do it right the first time and have it be good then have to redone a bunch of things later.
That's the best choice! I have spent countless full days trying to catch up on all the stupid crap I did in high school to my jeep. And about 12 hours in the last two days working on putting in a new carb and redoing a lot of vacuum lines.
__________________
OHHHH BOOOO!!!!!!!!
billytheyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 09:29 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
oh sweet what style and size carb you throwen on it?
firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 09:37 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
billytheyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elko, NV
Posts: 1,320
A motorcraft 2150 with manual choke. I had a 38dgas weber and wasn't that impressed. I am already more happy with the motorcraft, but have now realized I need a new egr valve and do enough hwy with that jeep to get to jeep'n areas to justify putting a new one in rather than just disconnecting and blocking it off... plus I need to mess with the timing and countless other stuff but its getting closer to being able to take it out again!
__________________
OHHHH BOOOO!!!!!!!!
billytheyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 09:53 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
firstresponder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 403
nice, yeah im just now getten into the whole jeep scene but i hold alot of mechanical experiance and ive always just done egr deletes on any of my other vehicles. its always the route i go. I cant wait till i can start playen around under the hood on mine. but lifts first

firstresponder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4.0 blocks 2broke2gofast TJ General Discussion Forum 1 03-07-2011 07:45 PM
rubber blocks? chara42 TJ Tech Forum 1 10-24-2010 03:35 PM
Cutting body lift blocks??? omgwtfbbqcopter TJ Tech Forum 4 11-27-2009 02:40 PM
Another lift question. this time blocks, or frame itsmyjeep YJ Tech Forum 4 12-22-2006 02:04 PM
1998 new jeep owner jessball01 TJ General Discussion Forum 11 02-13-2006 07:26 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC