Gas guage working not working? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-26-2010, 08:46 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jeep of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 73
Jeep of Spades is on a distinguished road
Gas guage working not working?

I have 91YJ 2.5
When I bought it, gas gauge was stuck on full. I was filling up when I reached 150 miles on the trip odometer. I drive about 25 miles a day. I recently went to remove the gas tank shield, it seemed the gas tank was coming down with the shield, so I stopped until I get better knowledge on if it should. The gas gauge now is on 3/4 and I'm at 150 on the trip odometer. I'm now wondering is the gauge working? How many miles should I get out of a full tank? Do I need get gas!

Any thoughts?
Jeep of Spades is offline   Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:55 AM   #2
Deaky

WF Supporting Member
 
Fweaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 2,229
Fweaky is on a distinguished road
Get some gas ....Now!

__________________
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
Fweaky is offline   Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:00 AM   #3
Deaky

WF Supporting Member
 
Fweaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 2,229
Fweaky is on a distinguished road
A good diagram and write up...
yj - tank removal
__________________
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
Fweaky is offline   Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:05 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jeep of Spades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 73
Jeep of Spades is on a distinguished road
Thanks!
Jeep of Spades is offline   Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 10:45 AM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Mryan0014 is on a distinguished road
Mine did the same exact thing... Yes you
Need gas in a bad way! I found the hard way!
The problem with mine was the sending unit... Had a short in it. I didn't have to get a new one just had to solder some wires coming off the float.... Works like a charm now!
Mryan0014 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Sahara Radio not working PDB Communications and Electronics 3 09-08-2010 06:56 PM
Help!!! Temp guage stopped working. austin1869 YJ Tech Forum 6 06-23-2010 03:26 PM
Temp guage quit working ashevilleyjmike YJ Tech Forum 2 01-29-2010 07:17 PM
How do you check to see if the temp guage is working properly????? Sahara97 TJ Tech Forum 4 06-23-2007 03:35 AM
guage pannel not working bubthechub WF New Member Check In 1 02-21-2007 11:04 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC